We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanest hostel I have ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Backpacker 41 Kaohsiung
Xiamen, China
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cleanest hostel I have ever stayed in”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Take the red line and get off at san duo stop, exit 1. The hostel is literally round the corner from a metro stop, so easy to find. There is a big shopping complex near by, and a very famous, popular hot pot restaurant. It is safe, clean, with enough social space to hang out in. Free access to the computers, and tea and coffee saved us a few times. Kitchen is well equipped and can easily make your own meals if so inclined. Bedrooms lovely with very comfy bedding lockers big enough to fit my suitcase in. Clean bathrooms, never without toilet paper. Showers have shelves for your clothes and toiletries and hooks for your towel. You are provided with slippers to use inside and lockers for your shoes. The fifth floor is for laundry: sink, buckets, soap provided and nice open area to dry clothes in. Friendly people.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melimei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    13
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
1
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Tucked away in a lane just a few steps from Sanduo Shopping station in a really centric location with sightseens, transportation, shopping and food markets all around! It is clean, safe, nicely decorated and comfortable. Free wifi, no breakfast, towels included. Joanna manages the place splendidly, but the star there is her mom, a friendly woman, for whom english is not a barrier to welcome you in! Highly recommendable, if I go back I would certainly stay there again. The only inconvenience during my stay was the noise and disturbance brought by school children who packed the place over the weekend, once they left calm regained!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed one night here. The host is nice and interesting. It is the house which you will like at first glance, especilly girls. The decoration is very cute and make people feel warm here.
The room is simple but clean, also the bathroom. At night you can make conversations with travellers in the lodge downstairs. WIFI convers the whole house, but not very good in the 4th floor.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shruye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

backpacker 41 is simply awesome. the common area makes u feel like home and the dorms are perfect, very big bed, nice linen, even with a balcony. bathroom and dorms are always neat and clean and it is located close to the MRT. there is a lovely breakfast place just in front of the hostel, go outside the door and turn left and then u can already see it. and you have to go for the chicken tomato sauce pasta at the night market. it is only 50 NTD and it is sooo delicious. what can i say? i love taiwan, i love kaohsiung, i love backpacker 41. you have to go! :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steffiklar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mermaid Beach, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I loved this place! Spotlessly clean and modern but tastefully and artistically decorated with a true homely touch. Downstairs has a real apartment feel to it with a small kitchenette with free tea and coffee, a dining area, couch, tv and computers free for use. I stayed for 2 nights in the female dorm room. It was simple and clean with comfortable beds and a powerpoint for each bed. Perfect for the budget traveller. There are also lockers just outside the dorm room for your valuables and a shared bathroom, which was always clean. The hostel is located in a great spot, just a very short walk from MRT Station R8. The directions they give you to get there are really easy to follow. Also worth mentioning, there is a small night market street, just around the corner opposite the 7eleven. Keep your eye out for the lady with the pasta stand. It's awesome and was just $50NT. All in all this hostel was the nicest one I stayed at in the whole of Taiwan. I felt so at home here and do not hesitate to give it 5 stars. Well done to the owners!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milmalibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taoyuan, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I stayed at the hostel for a night in a four beds dorm .
The location is in the central of kaoshiung city and is very near to two luxious department stores. The hostel is newly built with comfortable atmosphere. In the first floor they offered 5 PC for people to use. Free wifi internet access was also avaliable, but the signal is weaker in bedroom. They also provide free coffee or tea for us.
The bedroom is clean and comfortable with a window and every bed had its own electirc socket.
The bathroom is also clean with hot water, and they also provide shampoo, body wash and hair-dryer. And the most important, the price is really affordable for college students like me. Overall it's a good experience to stay and I shall will stay there again if I went to kaoshiung again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yichingchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Stayed in the dorm here for 3 nights. Location wise, it is located in the city area of Kaohsiung, and is just a 3 minutes walk from the MRT, making it very convenient for tourists.

The place is very clean and well kept, and looks almost brand new despite having operating for 2 years already. There is wifi provided, but it can only be received on the first level. The communal bathrooms are very clean and well equipped too. For its price and location, it is awesome.
Apparently business is very good here, as they are expanding the hostel to twice its current size. So it might be wise to make early reservations.
The owners are very friendly and helpful and treated me to breakfast as well. They will be more than willing to help with your itinerary as well. Would highly recommend Backpackers 41!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freeloadx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
0.2 mi away
D'well Hostel
D'well Hostel
#1 of 98 in Kaohsiung
365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pathways Hostel
Pathways Hostel
#2 of 98 in Kaohsiung
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Inn Kaohsiung
Backpackers Inn Kaohsiung
#5 of 98 in Kaohsiung
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Paper Plane Hostel
Paper Plane Hostel
#3 of 98 in Kaohsiung
115 reviews
0.6 mi away
With Inn Hostel
With Inn Hostel
#4 of 98 in Kaohsiung
145 reviews
1.1 mi away
Light Hostel Kaohsiung
Light Hostel Kaohsiung
#7 of 98 in Kaohsiung
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpacker 41 Kaohsiung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpacker 41 Kaohsiung

Property: Backpacker 41 Kaohsiung
Address: NO. 39 Siwei 3rd Rd., Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 98 Speciality Lodging in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Backpacker 41 Kaohsiung 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Backpacker 41 Kaohsiung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing