We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time Machine.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung
Ranked #23 of 331 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I stayed at Grand Hi-Lai Hotel in Kaohsiung for 1 night in May 2014. The hotel is old-fashioned in design and decor -- like Taiwan of the 1970's/1980's. There is an archaic TV in the bathroom that still seems to work fine. As with most of Taiwan, the service is very good and the Facility was kept clean and in good condition. The Hotel represented fair value at about 4,200 NTD (or about US$140) per night. I enjoyed Hotel Dua much more (see other review). There is an excellent pool on the 11th floor, however, we found the closure at 12PM to 1PM to be a bit strange for maintenance, as this was prime time for some (Europeans) to access the pool. It's a shallow pool that allow for lane swimming. Lots of rooms on high floors -- we stayed on the 37th floor where needless to say, there were excellent views of Kaohsiung for sunrise and sunsets. The Hotel is above a mall where there is convenient access to luxury goods, groceries, and food court. Overall, the stay was fine, but the facilities are older like going back in time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bentobox007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 255 of 790 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Upscale hotel, lots of business meetings held here. We had a corner room which had views on two sides of the building, however we were placed behind the elevators and we could hear the wind howling as the elevator raced up and down.

Room was clean, bathroom was not the biggest when compared with other rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travpr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The room itself was great. It was clean with great views but I would have preferred a smaller property. The hotel is huge with restaurants up on the 43 or 44th floors. Values in the restaurant weren't that great but there's not much in the neighborhood and the city is kind of dump.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fromnyctofll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The last days I was for business in Kaohsiung, Taiwan, where I stayed at the Grand Hi-Lai Hotel.All thougg the hotel is very bussy and big, there is a relative relaxing vibe in the place. The room is clean and offers enough room for a comfortable stay for a number of days. The Hotel has some excellent restaurants, where the Steakhouse on the 45 floor is a recommandation! It has been a very long time since I haver enjoyed a steak so tasty. Worthwhile mentioning is the direct avialability of Taxi's at the hotel, which is not always as simple in other places. When in Kaohsiung I will visit the Grand Hi Lai. The hotel is close to the airport (15-20) minutes.

Room Tip: As for a room on the top floors as this will give you a great view over the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanhattumGuido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed here with family while on vacation. Everything was excellent - great room (spacious, well-appointed, great view, daily complementary plate of fresh fruit), the staff & courteous service, and the included buffet breakfast were all top-notch, world class (lots of foreigners stay here for conferences). But of all the hotels, hostels, and B & Bs we stayed in Taiwan over the last two weeks, this is the only one that charge for WIFI. It would have otherwise been a 5-star rating. Pretty curious.....

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

First trip to Kaohsiung on business. This place was very nice by my American Standards. Everything was clean and comfortable as expected. Staff was friendly and helpful, most had a basic grip on english, lucky for me, as i have no clue on local language. Stayed on 41st floor, Was very nice with a great view of the harbor. This place is "on top" of a large retail mall with lots of designer shops. Bottom floor of mall is a "food court" with plenty of tiny restaurants. We also ate at the "large" hotel restaurants on top floor. Room service was available till 1:30am. Lobby area has a big lounge area, and they also serve food there.Fitness area and pool were both very nice. I would definitely return to this hotel on my next trip. If this review helps with your planning, please leave me a helpful vote.....ENJOY

Room Tip: High floor, far from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slayridez06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is my hotel of choice even there are many other newer hotels in Kaohsiung. Simple reason, you get the legendary Japanese service in this hotel, staff are well trained and always willing to help and everything works.

Also love their hot spring which I will go daily whenever I stay here. Breakfast spread is great and the other restaurants are all great too. The view from the higher floors are great.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing Kaohsiung Port, take a look at my photos here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PiiJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
0.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
#33 of 331 in Kaohsiung
452 reviews
0.6 mi away
85 Sky Tower Hotel
85 Sky Tower Hotel
#28 of 331 in Kaohsiung
597 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Kaohsiung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Kaohsiung Central Park
0.9 mi away
Hotel Dua
Hotel Dua
#16 of 331 in Kaohsiung
616 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fullon Hotel Kaohsiung
Fullon Hotel Kaohsiung
#69 of 331 in Kaohsiung
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung

Address: No.266 chenggong First Road, Qianjin District, Kaohsiung 801, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kaohsiung
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kaohsiung
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kaohsiung
Price Range: £95 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hi Lai Hotel
Grand Hi Lai Kaohsiung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing