We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay La!”
Review of Hotel Kingdom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Kingdom
Ranked #72 of 321 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Booked at the last minute. The hotel was okay but the room was not especially inspiring. A real treat was the impromptu CNY fireworks display by the temple next door; fireworks exploding in our window. Seat in room was in fact a bench. Breakfast was average. Service was excellent!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlyShenzhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
華王大飯店, 公關經理 at Hotel Kingdom, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear guest, we would like to thank you for choosing the Kingdom Hotel on your visit to Kaohsiung this past February. We hope you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are always striving to make our guest’s stay as enjoyable and memorable as possible. Please do not hesitate to contact us anytime should you have any questions or further suggestions. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

Clean and tidy hotel very courteous staff variety of options in the buffet food, had quiet and peaceful stay.Very close to the canal where you can go for evening stroll, lots of activities happening around the canal so you can spend quality time there relaxing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Subhashish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Hotel Kingdom Kaohsiung - in our case the rooms were clean, though quite simple. An improvement over another hotel we stayed in while we were in Taichung Taiwan.

If you enjoy evening walks, within 5 minutes you will access to the canal. Ask the concierge desk to steer you in the right direction.

We are giving it a good rating for location, only for the easy access to the canal, which is great when you wish to unwind.

Free WiFi is available, the speed is decent.

The buffet breakfast is acceptable with a wide selection of dishes, juices and coffee.
As for the price - high as is typical of most hotels. In our case it was part of our package.

Would we return: yes

Would we recommend this establishment: yes

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divevoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We booked 4 nights at this hotel, we were supposed to check - in at 3 pm but we arrived at around noon so we tried our luck and luckily our rooms were ready and the staff allowed us to check - in. The process was fast, paid in cash and they isn't any deposits required. After all that the porter carried our luggage up. He was very courteous.

The room was fine to me except the bed which my partner find the mattress hard, toilet was just nice, WiFi is strong (every level has its router), I stayed at the 9th floor. The television shows a number of international channels plus their local variety tv channels.

Breakfast was alright, they served a variety of Asian cuisines like Porridge with condiments such as kimchi, anchovies etc, steamed pau and fried seasonal vegetables etc. They also served cold salads, pastas, cereals, breads, and fruits. Beverages consists of hot and cold such as tea/coffee, soybean milk and fruit juices. Breakfast starts at 6.30 am - 9.45 am.

For those who smoke, there is a smoking place outside at the corner of the hotel.

The nearest KRTC station to the hotel is Yangchenpu Station which is about 10 mins walk.

Go out to the left of the hotel and walk further straight leads you to the Love River. There are a number of cafes along the river, if you feel like having a good cup of coffee in the morning, head down to Mr Taiwan Coffee just beside Ambassador Station (love river boat station).

They is also an Indian Pakistani restaurant near family mart along the river.

Last but not least, I had a pleasant stay at this hotel and don't forget to buy their pineapple cake made by the hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank mdnhalifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The room was generally small but tidy. The bed is comfortable but just small. The flushing in the toilet was not that strong. The wifi was available in the room and the network was ok. The hotel location was great as this was in the heart of the city, and you could easily find restaurant and shopping mall around. However, the breakfast was quite poor as no much choices.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

Very close to Love river.. luxury shopping and dining around.. the room was good.. nothing exceptional.. breakfast was good.. check in was swift..money changer available in the lobby.. wifi signal weak in the room as routers are not installed on every floor.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inakshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

A very impressive foyer, with excellent service from all of the staff.
I did not eat any of the food so cannot comment there.
Once you step into the lift from the gleaming lobby, you think you have been transported into a totally different hotel.
The room was extremely dated and showing signs of hard use with not much upkeep. The windows had manual draft excluders (sellotape all the way round them), scrapes and bashes everywhere, dust on the curtains etc'.
The sleep quality was fine, and there is a decent internet connection.
Maybe if the management spend a little money on the rooms upkeep this could be a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tankerman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
0.0 mi away
Fullon Hotel Kaohsiung
Fullon Hotel Kaohsiung
#57 of 321 in Kaohsiung
111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Garden Hotel
Holiday Garden Hotel
#50 of 321 in Kaohsiung
119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Kaohsiung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Han Hsien International
Han Hsien International
#41 of 321 in Kaohsiung
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
#34 of 321 in Kaohsiung
420 reviews
1.5 mi away
Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung
Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung
#26 of 321 in Kaohsiung
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kingdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kingdom

Address: No.42 Wu-Fu 4th Road, Kaohsiung 803, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Kaohsiung
Price Range: £40 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kingdom 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 15-story Hotel located in shopping & business district near Love River; 15 minutes from train station & 10 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kingdom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingdom Hotel Kaohsiung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing