We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stay fit for a princess”
Review of 85 Sky Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
85 Sky Tower Hotel
Ranked #26 of 325 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed here with my foreign exchange students family while they were showing me their lovely Taiwan. This hotel far exceeded any place I have ever stayed. The hotel was clean, the room was quiet and the amenities were plentiful. The breakfast buffet was amazing and we relished in the meal. I was amazed at the view I had not only from my room but from the dining room as well. What an adventure; thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hipsfiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

It's all about the view! Our room was a little outdated but still clean with huge windows for an outstanding view of the city. The bed was extremely hard which we were told is normal in Taiwan but we learned too late that we should have requested a "double" mattress. Oh well. Some of the rugs in the hallways could use a good cleaning but as I said, the room we had was clean. This hotel is conveniently located to most everything - coffee shops, restaurants, shopping, transit... and is not very expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank DanandJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

nice & convenient place to stay. near by MRT station, departmental stores, night market. Rooms are large and the housekeeping is at its best. nice view of the city. This is the tallest building in Kaohsiung with 85 floors.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svalmiki35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

From a western perspective, Kaohsiung can be a hard city to love and the same applies to this hotel. It is dated, service is average and at first one feels disappointed but after a few days you realise it is actually quite a comfortable place to stay. The beds are as hard as concrete - really very, very hard but if you ask for a soft over-matteress they will install one quickly and the bed is then comfortable. By now means is this one of the greats hotels of the world and it is far short of hotel standards in nearby Hong Kong, but a reasonable choice in this city.

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

85 Sky Tower is a pretty average hotel in terms of the rooms and in room amenities.
Rooms are large and suites include a living area, decor is beige and dated but views from the rooms are exceptional.
The Piano Bar is a good place to have a snack or a drink, but the best thing about the hotel are the location and the views.

Room Tip: Ocean facing corner suites offer great views of the harbour and the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonny_D_UXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed 4D/3N at the Executive Floor. Initially booked for City View, but was given Harbour View instead. Very nice! Room was well equipped with toiletries & toothbrushes. Complimentary soft drinks, coffee, tea and about 5 bottles of drinking water daily. Including daily fruit bowl!
Executive Lounge use, but drinks & food limited.
Staff were friendly and even had a packed breakfast box for the early check-out. Salad, sandwiches, fruit, danish & juice!
8 minutes walk from Sanduo Shopping District MRT. Quite convenient and the hotel provides free shuttle between the MRT, but the first bus starts from 10am.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melcheah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed on the 60th floor with a spectacular view of the harbour. The room was pretty basic but the bathroom was large and clean. The hotel is very impersonal and bland. The gym on the other hand is large and well equipped. The service is correct and fast. They have a huge breakfast buffet with both Asian and Western food.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel Kaohsiung
#23 of 325 in Kaohsiung
753 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
#32 of 325 in Kaohsiung
426 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Kaohsiung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Kaohsiung Central Park
1.0 mi away
Fullon Hotel Kaohsiung
Fullon Hotel Kaohsiung
#57 of 325 in Kaohsiung
113 reviews
0.9 mi away
Han Hsien International
Han Hsien International
#40 of 325 in Kaohsiung
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 85 Sky Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 85 Sky Tower Hotel

Address: 37-85F, No.1 Ziqiang Third Road, Kaohsiung 802, Taiwan (Formerly The Splendor Hotel Kaohsiung)
Region: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kaohsiung
#3 Business Hotel in Kaohsiung
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kaohsiung
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kaohsiung
#10 Family Hotel in Kaohsiung
Price Range: £86 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 85 Sky Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendor Kaohsiung Hotel, located in the landmark of Kaohsiung Tuntex Sky Tower, has been certified by the Taiwan Tourism Bureau as the highest five-star hotel in Taiwan. With huge support from Earntex Group, owner of Splendor Kaohsiung Hotel, the hotel upholds the intimate, elegant, and the unique style differs from the old thinking and limitations. The Splendor Kaohsiung Hotel is pleased to announce that its new name has been officially changed to Singfornee Hotel Corporation, 85 Sky Tower Hotel. The name change will be affective as of July 1st, 2013. This new brand sets sail forward as it includes the intention to deliver our objectives and ideals to furthermore serve every guest with enthusiasm and comfort. Hence it is planning to install new facilities to honor the commitment given from guests. 85 Sky Tower Hotel, formerly known as The Splendor Kaohsiung, was specified by the 2009 World Games as its appointed hotel. It is known and appreciates to be as one of the top choices by political leaders, orchestras, artists, and celebrities. After renewing its steps and developments, 85 Sky Tower Hotel continues to persist and to commit with the idea of keeping excellence with world-class five-star hotel standards. With more than a dozen Chinese, Western, and Japanese restaurants located in the hotel, 85 Sky Tower Hotel is using lean materials, unique workmanship to provide the top quality cuisine. It is also a regular contender in Cuisine of the Year contest. In order to continue fulfilling the expectations from both old and new customers, 85 Sky Tower Hotel will comprehensively enhance the dish quality with new Michelin chefs to provide exquisite dining experience. It is planning to become the leading brand in southern Taiwan and is committed to work towards the goal in the near future. 85 Sky Tower Hotel is Committed to promote the spirit of its brand and to vigorously work with the Kaohsiung City Government therefore to improve Kaohsiung tourism image. In addition to enhance the “delicate” and “professional” travel services, 85 Sky Tower Hotel is offering various travel products from the perspective of local cultural to help developing the beauty of Kaohsiung as the Marine Capital City. It strives to lead the travelers on to an experience of rediscovering Kaohsiung and to make 85 Sky Tower Hotel as the home of the travelers when they visit Kaohsiung. We will always uphold the highest principles of being customer-oriented regarding to dining and room services with continuous effort to reach perfection. Once again, thank you for your support! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your 85 Sky Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaohsiung Splendor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing