We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place, but not a great place either”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pingtung County
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Surf Shack Hostel
Ranked #65 of 107 Hotels in Pingtung County
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Not a bad place, but not a great place either”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I stayed one night at this place that has a central location not too far away from the bus station.

I can't really recommend this place since the total experience below average of the ho(s)tels I've stayed at in Taiwan (as well as worldwide).

When I arrived in the morning in heavy rain to check in (leave luggage) there was nobody there which was unexpected. Thank God, I had printed my booking confirmation from Hostelworld with the phone numbers. I got in touch with the staff that were somewhere else and was gonna turn up after lunch. Fortunately I could leave my luggage at the nearby place I stayed the previous night.

When I checked in later the same day there was only Chinese speaking staff but I luckily found someone on the street that could translate. Later on the managers were there and they spoke excellent English and answered my questions.

The room didn't have a window and its walls of didn't reach all the way to the ceiling, thus impairing privacy in/outgoing noise. There were no cooking or storing facilities at all which is unusual for a hostel/huesthouse. WiFi in the room was on/off all the time. There was however a public computer in the bottom floor.

I rate this place 2 out of 5 on account of the above. But it's still allright to stay at. And, after all, it's cheap, centrally located and has a noon checkout.

Room Tip: If you need privacy avoid the room with "incomplete walls"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bengt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kassel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012 via mobile

The surfshack is a good alternative if you don't want to go to kenting directly with all it's hustle and bustle, especially at night. The town is still in a good distance to the whole kenting area with it's beaches and parks. You can rent a scooter just next door and explore the area on your own.

The surfshack has its own little bar and diner where they provide breakfast and burgers etc., but there are enough shops and cookshops if you want to taste something characteristic for Taiwan or just get some snacks/beverages. The rooms may not win a designaward but they were clean enough and provide all you need so far.
Since we were the only guests during the offseason the staff was present only sporadic, but they were friendly and helpfull whenever we encountered.
We really enjoyed our time in Kenting and even extended our stay at the surfshack hostel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zigeunerblut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed three nights in december (Off-Season) and were the only guests.
But therefor the staff was very helpful and spent some time with us.
Great english skills.

The restaurant in the ground floor has a decent menu and everything we ordered was great!

We had a good time, rented a scooter and got to all the nice places around Kenting.
But for people who want to stay longer, Hengchun is a bit far away from Kenting city center.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mscmpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Although some distance away from the tourist strip that is Kenting Main Street, the Surf Shack was centrally located near the Hengchun bus station and surrounded by great local eateries which the staff recommended. The beach is a 15 minute ride away by bus, which comes every 20 minutes. Room rates are cheap, and the rooms were decent. I wouldn't recommend the non air-con room, though, as the walls do not go all the way up and it would probably be quite noisy. Terry was a great surf instructor, and we would have gone surfing again if not for the heavy rain.

Room Tip: Get the air con room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whoooosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pingtung County hotels
1.9 mi away
Kenting Masalu Lakeside Hotel
Kenting Masalu Lakeside Hotel
#61 of 107 in Pingtung County
7 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yoyo Villa
Yoyo Villa
#53 of 107 in Pingtung County
1 reviews
0.1 mi away
Una Baby Hotel
Una Baby Hotel
#68 of 107 in Pingtung County
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Riverside Hotel - Hengchun
The Riverside Hotel - Hengchun
#2 of 107 in Pingtung County
644 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kenting 157 Boutique Hotel
Kenting 157 Boutique Hotel
#20 of 107 in Pingtung County
39 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kenting Yoho Landis Beach Club
Kenting Yoho Landis Beach Club
#10 of 107 in Pingtung County
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surf Shack Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surf Shack Hostel

Property: The Surf Shack Hostel
Address: No.224 Hengnan Road, Hengchun Town, Pingtung County 946, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Pingtung County
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 107 Hotels in Pingtung County
Number of rooms: 205
Also Known As:
The Surf Shack Hostel Taiwan/Pingtung County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing