We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and Quiet Hotel in busy Kenting main street”
Review of Smokey Joe's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smokey Joe's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 107 Hotels in Pingtung County
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Convenient and Quiet Hotel in busy Kenting main street”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

A quaint American-style hotel busy Kenting main street. The hotel decor is fun and we stayed in pool-side bed room. Loud music was blasted off the speakers, however the double-glazed door blocked off the noise perfectly. Comes with complimentary fruit platters for two and a basket of snacks with free drinks in fridge as well. Love the toiletries that include sunblock.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcnggc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    39
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
59
39
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Service is great (friendly staff)
Location could not be better (walk out and the night market is at your door step)
Clean rooms
Comfortable
Distance to beach is very close.
Priced very well
Coin Laundry
Good pool
Great decorations
Good breakfast

Went the extra mile and found us a memory foam pillow also!

Worth every dollar, would book again if visiting Kending.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alpharetta, georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Fell in love with Smokey Joes at first sight. We are Americans traveling in Kenting and found a great deal online for a room here a week before Chinese New Year. It was creatively decorated and well appointed with complimentary drinks and fruit cups and overlooked the pool and had a view of the beach. Huge bathroom with shower and a giant round tub that would take an hour to fill (who would waste the water?) Breakfast was well done, great coffee, the best french toast i've ever had! Now if they would only serve syrup with it and not just honey. Hotel clerks were nice and friendly and spoke English quite well. The hotel was along the lines of art deco and 50's American style. Super location.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xctryskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Although the staff are very friendly and the decor is very bright and designed from a USA look. It was sadly let down by the awful breakfast menu. The food was servedon cold plates which affected the food as it was served cold. The eggs were very watered down, there was something not quite right.
Although the location is great but for this price the guest deserves better.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darkbyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is newly renovated with very nice decor! I like it very much!

We booked the balcony double room which is cheapest on the list. We found the room is rather small. If you have a big suitcase, there is no space for you to place your luggage!

No bath tub in this type of room but a nice shower!

Breakfast is made to order. They serve some fruits, a main like noodle or burger or fried egg, etc. It was nice and I like it.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank HappyHitomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

It was my first trip to Kenting in Nov 2013. I like the decor of the hotel with a small swimming pool. The hotel itself is a good spot for photo taking! I like the hardware, location and the ambiance of the hotel. Even if you are not staying in the hotel, come in and enjoy the lounge area for some photos shooting!

I stayed in the balcony double room, which is the cheapest one on the list. The room is actually nicely decorated but is definitely a bit small. We found no space to put our suitcase. The couch can only fit for 1 person. You cannot sit together at the same time.

We tried to ask if we could pay for an upgrade for our next day stay but it was unsuccessful although we were talking about Monday in Nov which is supposed to be low season for Kenting. The front desk is not friendly not enthusiastic to help us on this.

For breakfast, we are a bit confused on the first morning. They didn't gave us the menu and just asked us to order whatever we like. We ordered a full English Breakfast which was marvelous. The second day we were only offered 2 choices beef burger or udon, which were so so.

Overall, It is still a lovely hotel on kenting street and I will come back to this hotel if I come back to Kenting again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I chosen Smokey Joes because it is right at the beginning of the Kenting main street where the night street market is. However, noise from main street is minimum as the rooms are located back inside the small lane. I booked the pool-side room at 1st level but did not try the pool as it was winter time. The room is expensive but the bed is super comfy. Only 2 pillows were provided. Upon arrival, fresh fruits platters were in the fridge, with free drinks as well. Breakfast choice was Western style or Japanese udon. Take the western.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcnggc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pingtung County hotels
0.6 mi away
Caesar Park Hotel Kenting
Caesar Park Hotel Kenting
#4 of 107 in Pingtung County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.7 mi away
Howard Beach Resort Kenting
Howard Beach Resort Kenting
#11 of 107 in Pingtung County
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chateau Beach Resort
Chateau Beach Resort
#8 of 107 in Pingtung County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Amanda Hotel
Amanda Hotel
#3 of 107 in Pingtung County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fullon Hotel Kending
Fullon Hotel Kending
#14 of 107 in Pingtung County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
6.9 mi away
Kenting Yoho Landis Beach Club
Kenting Yoho Landis Beach Club
#7 of 107 in Pingtung County
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smokey Joe's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smokey Joe's Hotel

Property: Smokey Joe's Hotel
Address: No.237, 239, Kending Road, Hengchun Town, Pingtung County 94644, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Pingtung County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Pingtung County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Smokey Joe's Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smokey Joe's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smokey Joe's Hotel Taiwan/Pingtung County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing