We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dont stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 107 Hotels in Pingtung County
Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“dont stay here”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

the beach wasnt swimmable, sand was brown with lotsa rocks, water not clear, pools not good, rooms outdated and not clean, price is expensive, food wasnt good, over crowded, the hotel is very old and dont smell good

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank applegiovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    115
    58
    12
    14
See reviews for
135
66
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The best part of the hotel is the beach and its close proximity to the town. The room quality have gone down and should be renovated. The restaurant food is average and needs to be improved. Otherwise staff are friendly and overall it is quite clean.

Room Tip: you need to upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

As many reviewers have pointed out, the selling point of this resort is the fact that it is one of the truly ocean-front hotel in Kenting where you have easy access to a good stretch of sandy beach. I've stayed at this hotel a couple of times in the past solely for this reason (with relatively decent experience), but my most recent stay at this resort had me convinced that it was no longer worth it to come back anymore. First, the condition of the rooms have deteriorated over the years and are in need of some serious TLC. There are some simple things that the hotel could have done in this regard -- for example, the wall-mounted lights in our room above the bed were so obviously crooked that they ought to have been fixed long ago.

Second, as some reviewers have observed, (while I had thought differently in the past), this hotel is most definitely NOT meant for anyone seeking some peace and quiet. If you were, like us, looking to enjoy some relaxation by the beach, you would be truly disappointed. Our room was right by one of the restaurants in the resort, and each morning we were awaken at 7 by the music that came out of the restaurant speakers. During the day, there was no way to enjoy our private, ocean-view patio without wearing ear plugs because we would hear not only music coming out of the restaurant but also another competing set of rock music that was being blasted by the swimming pools. This continued to around 9pm... after that, you can still hear children screaming and shouting in the hallway late into the night. Obviously, the soundproofing of the room was not the best.

Third, the dinning experience at the resort was extremely poor. The whole dinning room was super busy and loud. The live singing during dinner time was so atrocious that it killed my appetite instantly instead of creating a nice relaxing ambiance that I suspect the hotel was hoping to achieve. The selection of food was relatively decent, although we found a hair in one of our dishes (stir-fried snap peas, I believe).

To be fair, I guess we were particularly bothered by these abovementioned points and felt disappointed with our stay because we were here to find some much needed relaxation by the beach. If instead you are looking to have a good family vacation by the ocean, I suspect you probably won't be as put off by the noise, etc. However, there is one last thing that I felt compelled to mention which applies to travelers of all types. When we got to the hotel, we saw a list of room prices by the reception desk and, according to this pricing list, we found out that we were being asked to pay a much higher rate for our rooms. After much back-and-forth with the hotel management, we were simply told that the reason for the higher prices that we were paying was because we book the hotel via their English website instead of their domestic Chinese website; we were told that this higher price was due to the fact that they often had to communicate with their international clients via long-distance calls and had to pick them up via airport/train station, none of which happened in relation to our booking, by the way.

In a nutshell, this is surely the last time I will ever come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are looking for quieter rooms, avoid those in the "Provence Hall" as they are the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YYBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The beach and atmosphere was very relaxing.
We just laid down on the beach and the hammock all afternoon,
enjoyed the breeze on the beach.
Also got 3 swimming pools, suits for families & friends.
Service was very good, all the staffs were very friendly.
But the room was old fashioned, the bathroom was too old to be a "resort".
To sum up, I would stay in this resort again for the beautiful beach again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrysieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

We have been this resort in March, we stayed at the Honeymoon Room which was supposed to be the high class room in the Resort. Overall speaking , the resort is quite nice. But the room is not clean enough, the balcony is quite dirty, and the buffet dinner lack choices of food. What disappointed us is the check in check out service ...first we came earlier than the check in time, the receptionist ask us to walk around and will give us a phone call when rooms are available , finally he didn't rang us..and let us wait until we ask them...and the check out day is another ridiculous thing ...we just late for a few minutes ...they then phone us to urge us to leave and the most ridiculous is one woman come to knock our door to urge us! Where is the customers services ? This resort supposed to be the high class resort in that area, and they should provide a better quality of services!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lmGer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We are Americans who were in Taipei for a wedding. One of our friends from Taipei set this up for us. We were the only Americans there and they treated us very well. Someone had an eye on us (in the good way) the entire time making sure we got to the national park, to dinner, and back to our train on time. They gave us very special attention. We didn't speak a lick of Taiwanese but we felt like we were part of the culture being there. We have traveled a lot of places and have never been treated so well

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

i just returned from a 3 day 2 night stay in this hotel March 11th to 13th 2013 with a friend. the hotel will arrange taxi ride for you at NT$2000 but I informed them too late so we seek assistance at the airport information counter who will call your hotel for you but eventually the ladies at the counter said we can hail our own taxi at the taxi stand outside saying we will have to bargain the price with the taxi driver. Since my friend could speak Mandarin we were able to bargain for a NT$1,800 price to our hotel which took 1 hour and half from Kaoshiung aiport.We asked the driver to stop at a beef noodle place for lunch on the way. We decided to book the return trip as well but the hotel said we can also take a bus to and fro the airport outside the hotel which will take 3 and half to 3 hours at less than NT$300 one way. The hotel staff was very efficient and helped arrange for taxi to hot springs half and hour away which they have connection with, we talked to the taxi driver who took us and he agreed that the price of the hot spring visit was cheaper NT$180 than when you buy yourself but we found out there were better ones which you need to google before you go. You need to bring hair caps or they will provide for free, your own towels, shampoo. The hot spring ranges from cold to medium to hot pools and you are adviced not to soak more than 5 mins each time when you need to come up for a rest, it was my first experience there but I was uncomfortable when i saw the water was not crystal clear. Back to the hotel, the buffet breakfast was the highlight of our trip with many local healthy choices, they made me oatmeal when i did not see it as a choice which was very nice. The beaches were nice and not overcrowded, many pools facing the beach as well as gym, You can take a 5 min stroll to the night market for dinner and shopping which was pretty safe. We did not make any calls from the room but just went to the reception who will call anyone for you. There was free wifi everywhere in the hotel. The room was decently clean.

Room Tip: We had a standard room facing the road, we wanted to upgrade to beach facing room but the hotel was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyTan888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pingtung County hotels
0.9 mi away
Caesar Park Hotel Kenting
Caesar Park Hotel Kenting
#4 of 107 in Pingtung County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
1.0 mi away
Howard Beach Resort Kenting
Howard Beach Resort Kenting
#11 of 107 in Pingtung County
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fullon Hotel Kending
Fullon Hotel Kending
#14 of 107 in Pingtung County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Amanda Hotel
Amanda Hotel
#3 of 107 in Pingtung County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.4 mi away
Smokey Joe's Hotel
Smokey Joe's Hotel
#6 of 107 in Pingtung County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
16.5 mi away
H Resort
H Resort
#9 of 107 in Pingtung County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Beach Resort

Property: Chateau Beach Resort
Address: No.451 Kenting Road, Hengchun Town, Pingtung County 946, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Pingtung County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pingtung County
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pingtung County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive 5-star resort set right on the most beautiful beach in Taiwan. Our ocean-view rooms have unspoilt 180 degree ocean views. Ground floor rooms and suites have private outdoor patios that lead right on to the beach. Outdoor heated spa massage pool, fitness center looking out over the ocean, beachside evening BBQ and live music, beach bar, 3 restaurants, tours to local attractions, beach hammocks and recliners, beautiful gardens and surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chateau Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Beach Hotel Pingtung
Chateau Beach Resort Taiwan/Pingtung County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing