We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location and services”
Review of Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaza Hotel
Ranked #34 of 266 Hotels in Taichung
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Good location which located next to Taichung bus station and train station only few minutes walk. The room is tidy and clean. Hotel staffs were friendly provides helpful and excellent services. I stay 4 nights and happy that they have window in single room. The hotel beds and pillows were comfortable, I slept very well here. Everything is good, only the breakfast taste not good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connielai9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
達欣商務精品飯店, supervisor Daisy Tsai at Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Connielai9

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write this precious review.

We are deeply sorry that our breakfast was not good enough for you, we will definitely improve our breakfast and provide more fresh and tasty breakfast for all the guests.
Most important, we are so happy that your good comments to the staff's service and it is really support them to become better at what them do. We will keep our service quality and do our best to get better.
We look forward to welcoming you anytime to Plaza Hotel and hope to see you soon in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

My husband and I have spent one night with Plaza Hotel before visiting Chingjing in the next day morning. We have booked a Exquisite Suite(one double bed、without window). As we think this is only a short stay so we don't have much expectation. However this room is unexpectedly spacious (at least you can walk around with two luggages opened) and all necessary stuff are provided - including toiletries, fridge, coffee, tea, snacks, etc. The room is tidy and clean. This is really a good value hotel.

Breakfast is a simple one - toast, congee, salad, bun....taste is ok. If you spend few nights here you may choose other restaurants around the hotel. The staff and location of Plaza Hotel are also excellent. This hotel is located next to Taichung Railway Station and bus station and you can go most of the tourist spots in Taichung.

Room Tip: if you only have a short stay here, room without window can also be a good choice because of good va...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Opal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
達欣商務精品飯店, supervisor Daisy Tsai at Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear OpalH

Thank you for writing this very positive review, we are delighted that even though you find the room you stayed in small but you still find the room comfortable.
Most important, we are so happy that your good comments to the staff's service and it is really support them to become better at what them do.
Hope the Plaza Hotel Experience could make the good memories in your Taichung trip.

Thanks to your good comments again and it will assist us in becoming better at what we do.
We look forward to welcoming you anytime to Plaza Hotel and hope to see you soon in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The best thing about Plaza Hotel has to be its location. It is located a very short distance from Taichung Railway Station- about a minute's walk, and it is also located opposite the bus stop where you can board buses to attractions such as Yi Zhong Street and Fengjia Night Market. The hotel provides a brochure with info on the bus services to take to the various attractions in Taichung (english brochures are provided). Do take note that Fengjia Night Market is about 40 minutes to an hour away from the hotel (If you have to choose between the two, Yizhong Street is nearer, but Fengjia, in my personal opinion, is definitely the better choice for its larger variety and endless plethora of night market stalls). Also, note that the last bus back from Fengjia Night Market to the hotel arrives at about 10pm, so try to head to the night market early so that you will have more time to shop (ask the bus driver in advance to check).

I was travelling solo, so I opted for the Single Room Suite. It was spic and span, clean, comfortable, and value-for-money (paid about SGD$60 +++ a night when I was in Taichung for two nights in August 2013). The hotel provides free breakfast buffet, but I opted for Yonghe Dou Jiang instead for a more authentic local breakfast experience, which was located a short distance from the hotel (about ten minutes walk, ask the reception for directions). Receptionists were friendly and obliging, gave recommendations on attractions to visit when I asked and were very helpful.

If you are heading to Cingjing by bus after staying in Taichung (like I was), I would recommend that you pick a hotel close to Taichung Railway Station instead of a hotel/hostel near Taichung HSR (high speed rail). This is because a hotel located near Taichung Railway Station would be much closer to the Nantou Bus Station, where you can take a bus to Cingjing (about 1.5 hr drive). Fee was about NT$200 ++. Note that even though Nantou Bus Station is within walking distance from Plaza Hotel, it would take you roughly 15 minutes- maybe longer if you're deterred by rainy weather. Directions are pretty straightforward though, you can ask the reception for directions to the Nantou bus station. Also make sure to check the bus schedule with the hotel's reception when you're deciding on what time you should leave for cingjing (they have a copy of the the bus arrival schedule).

Of course, as mentioned, if you're simply taking the railway train to your next Taiwan destination, staying at Plaza Hotel would be most ideal too as the Taichung railway station is located within extremely close proximity.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vkoh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
達欣商務精品飯店, supervisor Daisy Tsai at Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear Vkoh22

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel and taking the time to write this comment.
We highly appreciate your feedback and we are delighted that you like our hotel. Hope the Plaza Hotel Experience could make the good memories in your Taichung trip.

Thanks to your good comments again and it will assist us in becoming better at what we do.
We look forward to welcoming you anytime to Plaza Hotel and hope to see you soon in the near future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed in the family room which was spacious and clean. The hotel provided good amenities and a decent enough breakfast. The hotel is right next to Taichung bus station and train station. Shops and restaurants are all within walking distance. The staff were helpful enough but nobody helped us with our luggage. There is free wifi in the hotel and breakfast. Walls were not that sound proof. Could hear the loud footsteps of the people above us. The beds and pillows were comfortable.

Room Tip: - choose a higher floor and no window room if you are sensitive to noise
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkchicken88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
達欣商務精品飯店, supervisor Daisy Tsai at Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear pinkchicken88
Thank you for writing this very positive review, we truly appreciate your comments .
We are very sorry for the discomfort caused by poor soundproofing during your stay. Please be assured that we will do our best to make improvements and satisfy our guests’ expectation. Please kindly accept our apologies.
It was our pleasure to accommodate you. We highly appreciate your feedback and we are very happy that you like our public rest area and the equipment we offered.
We will keep our service quality and do our best to get better.
Hope to serve you in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Feeling tired after the plane ride and walking about. Check in time was 3pm but counter staffs was able to check us in earlier. Great service by the hotel staffs and 2nd floor restuarant staffs.

Room size was good and clean.

Great location. Near Taichung Rail station and 2 - 3 stops away from Taichung HSR. 2 Traffic lights away you can find a Nantou Bus company to take you to Sun Moon lake and Chingjing Farm.

Highly recommanded to stay for anyone going to TaiChung.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YuZhong_Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
達欣商務精品飯店, supervisor Daisy Tsai at Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear YuZhong_Tan
Thanks to your good comments again and it will assist us in becoming better at what we do.
Most important, we are so happy that your good comments to the staff's service and it is really support them to become better at what them do.
We look forward to welcoming you anytime to Plaza Hotel and hope to see you soon in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Booked 2 single beds room for 2 nights. Just one min walk from Taichung train station and bus stop. It's also just right beside the bus terminal station. Stayed at high floor and view was city. Clean place and room's size is a bit small and if you have a 28" and 20" luggage, you may find it difficult to place it. At least the beds are comfortable, I would give it a 6/10 firmness. Comes with wifi and toiletries. Breakfast was decent though variety not a lot. Do drop by at the receptionist for information as they provide a lot of brochures, maps and bus service guides to nearby attractions (as for the bus guides, which sadly, I only discovered on my last night)! Really loves their services and got a refund of NT500 as the hotel was having a promotion for Friday even though I had booked the room before the promotion! But one thing is that unable to control the air-conditioner's temperature as it was centralized, at 21 degree celsius. So it was freezing cold at night since temperature had dropped at Taichung so had to off the air-conditioner. Think the hotel should maybe reconsider letting guests to adjust the temperature since not all guests are comfortable with coldness especially my old-aged dad and we are from a warm climate country. As for visiting around Taichung, taking bus is very convenient for budget travelers. As for Fengchia night market, it'll take around 30 to 45 mins for bus ride, depends on traffic while cab took 25 mins and costs ard NT200 to NT250. Some places are within walking distances and it's nice to explore on foot if you have time.

Room Tip: Do ask for a high level room as it was located just besides the main road, bus terminal and train st...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doraemonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
達欣商務精品飯店, supervisor Daisy Tsai at Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear doraemonger

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel and taking the time to write this comment.
We do deeply apologize for the equipment we offered that made you feel inconvenience. We will improve those problems as soon as possible.
As you point out that our breakfast is too simple,we already inform our chef to make more choices and improve it.
We are appreciate your good comments to the staff's service and it is really support them to become better at what them do. Meanwhile, we are happy that we could offer the city information to help your tour.
We hope you will re-visit Taichung again, and look forward to welcoming you back to Plaza Hotel.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The location of the hotel is fantastic as it was only 1 min walk from Taichung MRT.

We got a room without window but is still very cosy and comfortable.

The staff was polite and helpful but the breakfast was extremely disappointing. Few selection for so many guests and took a long time for them to replenish. :(

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Aileen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
達欣商務精品飯店, supervisor Daisy Tsai at Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear Aillen Y

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel and taking the time to write this comment.
We are deeply sorry that our breakfast was not good enough for you, we will definitely improve our breakfast and provide more fresh and tasty breakfast for all the guests.
Meanwhile, we are appreciate your good comments to the staff's service and it is really support them to become better at what them do.
We will keep our service quality and do our best to get better. Hope to serve you in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taichung hotels
0.1 mi away
CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch
0.1 mi away
53 Hotel
53 Hotel
#17 of 266 in Taichung
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
SSBHotel-Shin Sei Bashi
SSBHotel-Shin Sei Bashi
#28 of 266 in Taichung
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park City Hotel-Central Taichung
0.3 mi away
Kiwi Express Hotel – Chenggong Rd
0.1 mi away
Chance Hotel
Chance Hotel
#37 of 266 in Taichung
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel

Address: No.180 Jianguo Road, Central District, Taichung 400, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taichung
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 266 Hotels in Taichung
Price Range: £33 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing