We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap & Acceptable Hotel”
Review of Hotel Lo Fu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Lo Fu
Ranked #142 of 263 Hotels in Taichung
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cheap & Acceptable Hotel”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is my first time spending a night at Taichung. After arriving from the Taoyuan Airport, it was a long journey (About 4 to 5 hours) to Taichung by coach.

I booked my room using Agoda web. A room for per night was about less than $50 (Singapore dollar). It was really cheap to me. The room was clean and tidy. Overall, it was really a comfortable room for me. The staffs at the counter were very friendly and they did provide lot of information about Taichung too when we asked them.

The hotel is located very near to Taichung Railway station. It is about less than 10 minutes walk.
I will recommend this hotel if you are looking for a cheap & budget hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JasmineHin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    10
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
3
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

NT850-1150 per night (call them to make verbal reservation. No deposit required). I stayed there for 3 nights. Renovation is simple, but the room was comfortable and the service staff gave decent service. Note that no travel adaptors are provided by this hotel, but you can get one at a department store nearby (ask the staff for directions).

Hotel is located near Taichung train station, which was very convenient for me on the day I arrived in Taichung via High Speed Rail. However, it turned out to be a bad decision for me as I visited Fengjia night market every night and the last bus from Fengjia back to the train station was at 10pm. There was nothing much to do near the hotel at night, so that is a minus.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HL_Chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

After travelling to Cingjing and Sun Moon Lake in Nantou, the local tour dropped me off in Taichung city and I decided to stay at Taichung for one night before heading to Taipei in the next day.

This hotel may be the worst hotel I have stayed over my 7-day visit in Taiwan. However, if you are looking for a low-cost option with great location, I would still recommend you to choose this hotel. I booked a room for less than US$30 (incl tax). The room is decorated with broken (a bit) carpet and wet floor inside the bathroom. I was a bit shocked when I saw the wet floor (and wet toilet paper too!). The bed is still comfortable. A TV hung on the top and fast speed wifi provide some sort of entertainment if you are bored at Taichung.

No doubt the hotel is very close to Taichung railway station, where it is just around 5-10 min walk from the hotel. I took a train in Taichung station (TW$15) to arrive Xinwuri station to take the high speed railway to Taipei. Xinwuri is just 3 stations (around 20 mins) from Taichung station and the train is departed almost every 10-20 mins so you do not need to buy a train ticket in advance if you are also going to take the high speed railway.

Opposite to the Taichung station, you can also take a bus to go to other cities in Taiwan or local bus to other parts of Taichung. If you are going to visit Fengjia night market where it is the most famous night market in Taichung and one of the most famous markets in Taiwan (comparable to Shilin in Taipei and Liuhe in Kaohsiung), you can take bus number 35 (NT$25) from Taichung station (right next to the station) to get to the market. The journey is a bit long and it takes around 40-50 mins to get to the night market. If you want to come back to the hotel, you can just the same bus at MacDonald's at Fengjia market and will return to the opposite side of the station where you took the bus to Fengjia.

Some reviews say the hotel is not easy to find but I disagree. Although the hotel is not seen on the main street, it is not far from it. If you get to the right intersection and turn right (assume you walk from Taichung station), you will see the hotel within 5 seconds in an alley. The best way for you is to use Google map to look at the buildings around in order to save you some time to recognize the location.

No breakfast is served in this hotel so I can't comment on the breakfast quality. As I spoke Mandarin with the hotel staff, I am also unable to comment on their English ability.

Overall, if you are looking for a budget hotel with great location and just staying for a night or two, this hotel is still a good option for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zenki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Placid, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

The place was tricky to find from the Taichung train station. You have to follow the numbers down to 89 and then look down the alley and you will see it. The front desk lady was nice and spoke limited English. The room is bare with basics (uh, which happens to also include a condom and lube). The bathroom is pretty shabby and the toilet was dirty. Free wi-fi works well in room. I have slept in worse but this place is bare bones.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank cperigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
113 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

This is a couple of blocks south of Taichung Rail Station, ask the tourist info office in the station how to get there. This is not the high speed station which is further out from town but the old train station which is a good hub with which to explore the region by local trains/bus. I went to Lugang, Changhua, Sun Moon Lake, Puli.
The hotel staff speak very little english but will try to help or you can just go back to the tourist info in the station who are fluent. The room was fine, flat screen tv with three porn channels and lots of english and chinese channels. There were some ants so make sure everything is sealed. Bed was comfortable and bathroom was ok to use. They give towels and toiletries.
Lots of cheap food in the stalls by the U-Bus terminal. The U-Bus from Taipei also lets you off here so it was easy to get to from Taipei Main Station. The hotel is ok if you need a base to do day trips and not too fussy about the interior being a bit dated.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonE7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Got a twin-bed room and it's a good size for an old-styled hotel like this. Looks old on the outside, but very acceptable in terms of cleanliness and sleep quality. Might be a little hard to find at first, but look out for the bakery at the corner of the building, then turn left into the small lane. For those who know chinese, 'le fu' will resonate better with the chinese characters.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taichung hotels
0.2 mi away
Chance Hotel
Chance Hotel
#38 of 263 in Taichung
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ease Single Inn
Ease Single Inn
#49 of 263 in Taichung
39 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moon Lake Hotel
Moon Lake Hotel
#138 of 263 in Taichung
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SSBHotel-Shin Sei Bashi
SSBHotel-Shin Sei Bashi
#34 of 263 in Taichung
108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mi Casa
Hotel Mi Casa
#113 of 263 in Taichung
31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Hotel
Plaza Hotel
#29 of 263 in Taichung
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lo Fu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lo Fu

Property: Hotel Lo Fu
Address: 5F-1, No.89 Jianguo Road, Central District, Taichung 400, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taichung
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 263 Hotels in Taichung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lo Fu 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Lo Fu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing