We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Taste Buds Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bystro Restaurant Grill - CLOSED

Bystro Restaurant Grill
Price range: US$9 - US$34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Taste Buds Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

The Bystro is a must if you love delicious food. Chef Patty really knows who to bring out flavors that make you say WOW. Patty has way with his spices and sauces that will make your taste palette smile. Now what a better way to finish off dinner than with delicious desert hand made by Anita. Save room for her pies, they are that good.
I met many people who frequent the Bystro and we all agree that if you have the time try everything on the menu. From a best every tasting burger (chicken or beef), mouth watering pork, pizza or a tremendous Greek salad is just the tip of the menu. Small cozy style, you will go away with a tremendous smile. All my best Patty & Anita, Greg

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrbigg2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Taichung, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“2nd time and yes it is still great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

Went back last wednesday and it seemed even better than last time, the owners are perfect hosts and prices are just great

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pro-Lite B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“a place to relax and enjoy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

went there on a recommendation and it is also one of the few restaurants open on monday
small place but you feel welcome once entering
friendly owners (Canadien who also is the chef and his Taiwanese wife who runs the bar)
normally I am not a big fan of burgers, but the "le demon bleu" (with blue cheese) on delicious home made buns with fries is great !
also the starters are very tasty
Taiwnanese draft beer and a small selection of good and reasonably priced wines
you can easily strike up a conversation with the owners or other guests, especially if you sit close to the bar
if you lucky the owner'swife will draw a caricature of your group, we all got to sign it and maybe next time we are coming back it might be hanging at the wall
went back there already and had the same pleasant experience
try this place

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Riedel208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“You won't be disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

Been there several times in the last few months. Keep meaning to try more things every time I go, but each time I'm in there I keep going back to the fish n' chips, or one of the burgers. While the fries are only slightly above decent, the fish itself is fantastic. Light, fluffy, not overly battered, really nice stuff.
The jalapeño poppers are done in a crispy dumpling wrapper, and make a tasty, cheesy start to your meal.
It's a small place, only 6 tables if I remember correctly, which lends itself to a nice, quiet atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank King S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taichung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of Taichungs better kept secrets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

I have eaten here several times over the last two months. What I really like is the fact they are one of the few places open late. The husband and wife team make you feel very welcome indeed, unlike a lot of places who will make you feel very unwelcome after 8 30 pm. Last night we strolled in at 9 30 pm and stayed until midnight. Instead of just eating and leaving the owners chatted with us and made us very welcome.

We had a selection of starters and then the main courses which to be fair and bigger than your normal main courses so offer excellent value for money for the hungry eater.

Prices are very competitive and offer good value.

27 Lane 50 JingCheng Road, Taichung (台中市精誠路50巷27號)

Phone: 04-23271563

I have added the address in Chinese in case you need to ask a taxi or the hotel to help you get there

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank proliteguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bystro Restaurant Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing