We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seriously?”
Review of Din Tai Fung

Din Tai Fung
Ranked #11 of 4,262 Restaurants in Taichung
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Taiwanese, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Taichung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Seriously?”
Reviewed 16 January 2013

You come all the way to the home of soup dumplings (Taiwan) and you go to the branch that is everywhere. You can find dumplings as good or better all throughout the city in little mom and pop places. Not to mention for a fraction of the price and wait time.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank uwscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    78
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“famous taiwan eatery”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

famous for its dripping shiao long bao. after you bite into it, there is liquid inside. nice soup. it seems that everywhere i turn. there is another din tai fun

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HV G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome Food! Come Hungry. Experience what these coveted dumplings SHOULD taste like!!”
Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

Ironic system of ordering but the process is more streamlined to get customers in and out quickly. Put your name on the list. Grab a menu with pictures and fill out your order sheet while you wait for your table.
I don't speak or read Chinese so the pictures on the menu correspond to the numbers on the order form.
I ordered a variety of food for some picky eaters....but they LOVED this place since everything was bite sized and they got to try so many things. Among our favorites: hot and sour soup, Sui Mai, sautéed green beans, dumplings (pork/ shrimp/ vegetable), shrimp fried rice, sautéed Chinese greens....everything was fantastic. We loved it and even went back to the Din Tai Fun in Taipei 101. Excellent food and very reasonably priced. As soon as we were seated, our menu was verified and within a few minutes, our selected dishes began to arrive at our table. This is a must do if in Taichung. There's generally a wait so bring patience. It's worth the wait!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sadie2240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taichung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“just brilliant”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Best time to go is mid afternoon to avoid waiting, you just want to eat everything on the menu and take home some of their chilli oil, its to die for

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank proliteguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“If you eat in one place in taiwan - it must be here”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

The dumplings are the best ever! (you also get more per order in Taichung than their Taipei branches) They do great soup, side dishes and fried dumplings but the steamed Pork ones are the best in the world!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonMatt75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Din Tai Fung also viewed

 

Been to Din Tai Fung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing