We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Splendor Hotel Taichung
Ranked #63 of 262 Hotels in Taichung
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A nice hotel”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

There is nothing wrong with the hotel - the welcome is great, rooms are good, restaurants and bars are fine. However it is not a great hotel. The rooms feel ever so slightly dated and have the most frustrating system for controlling the a/c and all the lights - it must have sounded like a fantastic system to install but it is a faff to use - especially in the dark. The lift signage could also be clearer - lobby is on 12th floor and it was not easy remembering which button to press.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    152
    41
    3
    7
See reviews for
84
41
24
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

One of few 5 star hotels in Taichung. Swimming pool is renovated new. Sauna area with one hot water pool and 1 cool water pool. Seems guests seldom use sauna and swimming pool. Went there in Spring and Summer. No others. I got the whole pool.SUPERB. Bar is okay, more elegant than others in Taichung. (except Sky bar in another hotel is also recommended.)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snowli2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calamba, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

When you visit Taichung, Taiwan. There are couple of hotels at the the heart of the city, there are expensive ones, and there are value for the money.

The Splendor Hotel is one of my favorite Value for the Money.

Always booked on this hotel every month, or at least twice a month for 10 months now. I love the place, and the people are very warm and accomodating. Most of the people here speaks english. Morning breakfast buffet is what I enjoyed much! there are lots of options to choose from. Korean, to Japanese, to Western and European breakfast, Asian meal is also available. There are three Starbucks coffe shops nearby the hotel, there is a big mall across the street (Sogo Hotel, and what I love most are the Steak Restaurant Shops.

Room Tip: The rooms between 19th floor and 21st floor are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnold U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed for four nights in April. Overall, the hotel is in a great location, right in the center of actions. My room was on the 22nd floor, which was pretty decent, with good mountain views. The hotel is clean, well kept throughout, from room, fitness center, to restaurant. The ground floor has a small lobby. The real hotel lobby is on the 12th floor, which is somewhat unusual, but I have stayed in such hotels before, all are more upscaled, e.g., Conrad in Tokyo. The 12th floor lobby is wide open. When I was there, there were very few guests in and out. The restaurants and bars are mostly empty. I had a beer at the bar and the price was quite reasonable. Three of us shared a 750ml bottle of Taiwanese beer for $7, with peanuts.

The room was very new and modern, very clean, with a big screen HDTV. The hotel provides everything you need from combs, toothbrushes and toothpaste, big bottles of shampoos, conditioners, lotion, etc. Wired and wireless internet access was fast. The breakfast buffet at the 12th floor is one of the best that I have ever had. It has too many to choose from Western, Taiwanese, and Chinese, including an area that served Taiwanese style noodle soup and freshly boiled leafy greens. The same restaurant also served dinner buffet, which was also one of the best with high quality sashimi, roast beef, steak, crabs, many different seafood and meat selections, plus a great collections of vegetables, greens. Beer and drinks are included. The service is fast and efficient. As soon as you were done, the dirty plates and cups were taken away. The price is quite reasonable. For one lunch, we tried out the Chinese restaurant on the 15th floor, on the same floor as the fitness center. To our surprise, dim sum is also on the menu. We tried some chinese dishes and some dim sum. Overall, the food is very authentic and of good quality. And the best part is, the price is very reasonable, comparable to many smaller places that we tried outside the hotel.

Overall, the stay is a very good one. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor, facing south or the main street. You will be amazed by the view on a clear day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TCDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in Taichung. Although the location is good but I will not choose this hotel again for my next visit to Taichung. The service & food are just average as a five star hotel, you can tell from the details like deco, food ingredients and the products. Basically, five star rate with four star quality!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Splendor hotel in Taichung have 2 wings , one is specially for business travelers , quite economical according to Taiwan inflation . Located in hart of city opposite to SOGO departmental store , Near by surrounded with a lot of Indian for international cousins.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry3020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
912 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Before making a reservation with the Splendor Garden Restaurant at the hotel I decided to check out the place and ended up discussing the menu for three with the chef that afternoon.The Peking Duck menu ended up being superb and the service attentive and charming. The bill ended up very reasonable after receiving a discount for being an attractive person.Where do you get treated this way these days?

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T-Bird1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taichung hotels
0.5 mi away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#26 of 262 in Taichung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tempus Hotel Taichung
Tempus Hotel Taichung
#37 of 262 in Taichung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel One Taichung
Hotel One Taichung
#8 of 262 in Taichung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Taichung
Millennium Hotel Taichung
#10 of 262 in Taichung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Seasons Hotel Taichung Zhongkang
2.5 mi away
Maison de Chine Hotel Taichung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Splendor Hotel Taichung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Splendor Hotel Taichung

Property: The Splendor Hotel Taichung
Address: No.1049 Jianxing Road, West District, Taichung 403, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taichung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taichung
#5 Business Hotel in Taichung
#6 Family Hotel in Taichung
#15 Luxury Hotel in Taichung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Splendor Hotel Taichung 4.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendor Hotel—Taichung is located in the hub of Taichung’s most prosperous commercial district. No matter where you come from, please allow us to provide you with our excellent services to help you enjoy your stay in Taichung, a city filled with creativity and cultural attractions!With 222 refined and comfortable guest rooms, 4 international gourmet restaurants, a coffee shop, a cigar bar, a multistoried large banquet hall, an eastern club that cost tens of millions of dollars to build and an outdoor, temperature-controlled sky pool, the Splendor provides you with the carefree comfort of being at home as well as all kinds of fine services to create an unforgettably happy living and dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Splendor Hotel Taichung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendor Hotel Taichung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing