We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mei Hsiao Yuen Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Pretty Room!”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Booked a Tiffany theme room and it was really beautiful! Room is clean, bed is comfy & basic toiletries is given. However, it would be better to change the wooden closets & table to give a better overall image.

The staff is a really nice person. Came really fast after i called up & all smiles. Gave me a quick intro of the room & really clear directions to the nearby Feng Jia Night Market (together with a map)

Location wise is pretty convenient. About 5-10min walk to the Feng Jia Night Market. However, it gets really dark at night as it is located along some quiet dark alley. I won't really recommend it to solo girl or even a bunch of them. Just don't give me a really good feeling.

As I'm from Singapore, I booked via email & transferred the money via paypal. The information on their facebook page is more updated & shows the pictures of the diff room. The english name was Feng Cha Beauty on most of the websites.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jas_yeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
逢甲美學院, 客服人員 at Mei Hsiao Yuen Hostel, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Google Translation
Dear jas_yeo,

感謝您的建議與支持哦~

希望下次有機會再餵您服務囉!^^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    18
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Mei Hsiao Yuen was essentially a hostel serving students of the nearby Fengjia University. For the asking price, it provided spare but clean and very comfortable accommodation that was a stone's throw away from the famous Fengjia Night Market. Because of its location, it also gave us more than a tourist's idea of what living in Taichung was like.

The mixers in the shower could have been better but it was not something that spoiled our enjoyment of the hostel or Taichung.

One quirk about the hostel was its name, which did cause some confusion. In English, the hostel is listed as 'Mei Hsiao Yuen' (a romanization of 美校园 which meant 'beautiful campus') but its name in Chinese characters was '美学院' ('Mei Xue Yuan' or roughly, 'beautiful college'). This caused me to wonder if I were dealing with two different places when I was doing my research.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YewMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
逢甲美學院, 客服人員 at Mei Hsiao Yuen Hostel, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Google Translation
Dear Htolas

感謝您的支持與建議,

希望下次有機會再為您服務哦~^^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

It is also located near to the night market. But sharing a small size 4-person room is not at all convenient.

There are two kings size beds with one is of lower height. The bed cushion is not fit to the bed and my two teenage children slept unwell throughout the night. The electric heater could not continue to be used. 4 of us needed to wait for 5-10 mins before the next one took bath. While booking through the website, the hostel information contains that there are DVD player and computer offered in the room but those were found unavailable.

Room Tip: I will book for two rooms if I know the hiccup of the electric water heater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank augustbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
逢甲美學院, 客服人員 at Mei Hsiao Yuen Hostel, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Google Translation
Dear augustbee

感謝您的建議與支持,

目前美學院床型已有做改善囉!

熱水器因為使用較安全的電熱水器,

所以才需在使用上稍作間隔等待!

造成不變,敬請見諒!

感謝您的建議!

希望下次有機會再為您服務囉^^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taichung hotels
0.3 mi away
La Vida Hotel
La Vida Hotel
#4 of 262 in Taichung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#27 of 262 in Taichung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Taichung Fengjia Green Hotel
Taichung Fengjia Green Hotel
#11 of 262 in Taichung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kun Hotel
Kun Hotel
#6 of 262 in Taichung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
3.8 mi away
Backpacker 41 Hostel-Taichung
0.7 mi away
Unicorn Taichung Hostel
Unicorn Taichung Hostel
#4 of 91 in Taichung
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mei Hsiao Yuen Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mei Hsiao Yuen Hostel

Property: Mei Hsiao Yuen Hostel
Address: No.35 Lane 12, Alley 297-8, Section 2, Xitun Road, Xitun District, Taichung 407, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Region: Taiwan > Taichung
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 91 Speciality Lodging in Taichung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mei Hsiao Yuen Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Feng-Chia Beauty Hostel ❤ 5-10 mins to famous Feng-Chia Night Market.❤ Bus stop nearby. Free parking place.❤ Free wifi, mineral water and snacks. ❤ Customized car with guide service.❤ Staffs speak in Chinese,English and Japanese. Thanks for coming! It's our honor to have you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mei Hsiao Yuen Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing