We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“53 a gem hidden”
Review of 53 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
53 Hotel
Ranked #13 of 263 Hotels in Taichung
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“53 a gem hidden”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for good 6 nites from 19 to 25th. First location is excellent. Beside the famous icecream shop in whole of Taiwan. Taxi plentiful when asked counter to call.bus alot to various place but for my convenient cab is prefered.
Second we dun have bkf but the hotel convenient located with many eateries n 711 near.
Yes I would label it as 3.5 star hotel. No amenities that a 5 stars give but way enough for the amount u paid. Book earlier its cheaper. Hotel nearly fully book on everyday I was there.
Lastly room is small but clean n whatever you need is all there cleaned! !. Was ard 12 degreee that nite, we requested a heater n that was sent to us . Bedsheet is clean n my ger enjoy the bed well .
Definitely stayed there again if I visit.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank littleJun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    116
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
103
71
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This is a very typical budget 3 star hotel for group tourists and this is the first hotel that I gave negative feedback in Tripadvisor.

First of all, this hotel is totally catered for tour groups so please do check with your local travel agent if you really want to stay here. I travelled together with a group of 8 friends but as I decided to join them last minute, I booked through booking.com and end up paying 30% more. I paid USD100 and i felt this hotel did not justify the price.

Hotel is located in a rundown area where there there are a 7-11 supermarket and an ice cream shop close by and that's about it. The hotel has no money exchange service and there is no ATM machine close by. I was asked to go to the Mode mall to change my money and it was a good 15 minutes unpleasant walk. I had to walk towards the old train station and went through an underground passage way which was inhabited by 5- 6 street sleepers. This was not an easy 10 mins walk as described by the hotel staff.

Staff speak little or no English and hardly have any smile on their face.

The night when I stayed in this hotel, the outside temperature was 10C. Ridiculously, the hotel room has only air con and no heating system. Since I had to turn off the air con , the room had a mouldy sewage smell due to the humidity inside.

The bathroom shower has only a 2 feet glass partition next to the shower head and a complete open end which guarantee a total wet bathroom floor after a 3 min shower.

Bath towels are of low quality and looked as if they had been used for quite some years. They are rough but are good for exfoliating.

Room window has an old window blind which could block out 70% of light from the back alley outside.

Breakfast was awful and no replenishment of fresh fruit when I started breakfast at 9am.

At 11:59am the front desk already made phone calls to guest urging them to check out. I have never stayed in a hotel which called the client to ensure they check out on time.

For the pros, there is free wifi provided and speed is ok. Quilt blanket is comfortable.

Personally I will not stay in this hotel again .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hkhappygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night with my family. The hotel is nicely renovated and appointed, new and clean. As far as hotels go, this one is of course decent and comfortable.

The one thing that lets it down is its location. I think most would think that the hotel is in a central location by virtue of it being very close to the Taichung railway station (this is not the same station as the high speed rail from Taipei) and just opposite the Old Optician - where people queue like mad for the ice cream, which I have to say is rather yummy. However, other than that, there is nothing within walking distance of the hotel. Popular spots such as the Feng Chia night market is quite a taxi ride away. Plus, the area just behind the hotel is peppered with foreign workers so venturing out at night could be an issue for some.

Will I return to stay? Probably not as there is virtually nothing to do around the hotel area.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthertbc0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is the best among the 4 hotels we stayed during our trip in Taiwan.
Conveniently located next to a convenience store, walking distance to the railway station and a 24hr MacDonald. Although it is quite a driving distance to Feng Jia night market, we are not complaining. Stayed in a family room with 2 double beds for 2 adults and 2 children. Room is very spacious, clean and bright with a modern feel. Toilet is spacious and clean too.
Hotel staff is very helpful, friendly and polite.
Will I stay again? DEFINITELY!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Location wise, it was so-so. We came here from Cingjing so we took a bus to the train station, which was a walking distance to the hotel. Left for Taipei the next day via a short train ride to the HSR station then the HSR itself. It isn't in the most happening part of the city though, but the bus station is near and the night market is a 50-min bus ride away.

While you are here, you might want to check out the popular ice cream store just across the road. We also bought our 太阳饼 from the famous store a few roads away (ask the receptionist for directions).

It's a nice clean hotel, with friendly staff. Not much to complain about and it's incredibly value-for-money.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chunlian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in a family room. The hotel and the room itself were excellent. Central location, very close to the Taichung railway station and lots of restaurants nearby, getting a cab is easy too. The hotel interior and the room itself has a very modern feel to it. There is a huge TV which looks about 42 inches which is larger than that in most hotel rooms. Nice bathroom with an anti slip floor surface. Only minus point about the room is the 2 beds are double beds which are narrower than queen size beds but it was still ok for the four of us. The breakfast was great. Hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful, always willing to offer a smile and whatever help you needed. I would definitely stay here again if I'm visiting Taichung. It is ranked one of the best hotels in Taichung on trip advisor and rightly so.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed in a room for 2 adults and 2 children. The room is clean, new and spacious with modern setting but ony 2 hangers for you to use. The toilet is clean and spacious too. No problem with the sleep.

Staff was helpful, polite and friendly.

Location is good, walking distance to the Taichung train station and the famous Miyahara. Their Ice cream was nice! As for the fengjia night market, it is about 20 min drive from the hotel. The cab cost you around NT$200. Breakfast is average.You can use their laundry facilities for free. Detergent is charged at NT$30.

Overall, is a pleasant hotel to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mizuki9905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taichung hotels
0.2 mi away
CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch
1.1 mi away
Royal Seasons Hotel Taichung Zhongkang
3.6 mi away
La Vida Hotel
La Vida Hotel
#3 of 263 in Taichung
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Maison de Chine Hotel Taichung
0.7 mi away
RedDot hotel
RedDot hotel
#4 of 263 in Taichung
477 reviews
4.0 mi away
Kun Hotel
Kun Hotel
#5 of 263 in Taichung
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 53 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 53 Hotel

Property: 53 Hotel
Address: No.27 Zhongshan Road, Central Distrcit, Taichung 400, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taichung
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 263 Hotels in Taichung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 53 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Taichung City Center, 53 Hotel is an ideal spot from which to discover Taichung. Just 3 minutes walking from Hotel to Taichung Railway station. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. Visitors to the hotel can take pleasure in touring the city's top attractions: First Square Shopping Building, Taichung Railway Station, TADA Center. 53 Hotel also offers many facilities to enrich your stay in Taichung. For the comfort and convenience of guests, the hotel offers business center, safety deposit boxes, laundry service/dry cleaning, coffee shop, elevator. All guest accommodations feature thoughtful amenities to ensure an unparalleled sense of comfort. The hotel's recreational facilities, which include fitness center are designed for escape and relaxation. When you are looking for comfortable and convenient accommodations in Taichung, make 53 Hotel your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your 53 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing