We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spacious beautiful rooms and excellent customer service”
Review of 53 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
53 Hotel
Ranked #13 of 264 Hotels in Taichung
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“spacious beautiful rooms and excellent customer service”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

arrived at TaiChung by high speed rail, and took a local train to Taichung train station and it was about 5 mins walk to the hotel. we arrived at 11am and were greeted promptly and they offered to keep our luggage while we went out for sightseeing. the rooms were spacious with beautiful design. took a cab to fengjia night market; the driver was so nice too drew us a map how to get most out of the market. nice ice cream shop across the hotel they open from 10am to 10pm!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole_Hoihoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    118
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
106
71
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

In opposite of hotel is a famous historical building and dessert restaurant! And very close to Taichung train station, therefore, we can take train toTaichung HSR station within 15 minutes!
Although hotel do not provide breakfast but it is very easy to have a cheap and delicious brunch in Taichung city! And it is free to take any bus within 8km if you have a easy card!

The room has enough space and comfortable and clean! Hotel staff are also very friendly!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 小艾愛
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed in the 53 Hotel with my family (wife and 2 kids) in January.

The service there is excellent. The staff was extremely kind and helpful. They even upgraded my room without any request!

The room was very big and the the bed comfortable.

The only problem was related to the bedroom. The shower and the lavatory were separated (including between them) of the room only by a glass door that doens't reach the ceiling. So you can hear the shower noise from your bed. Besides, the sink is inside the room (they are not separates by any door). When you have small kids traveling with you, any sound can be harmful to their sleep...

The location is also good. It is very close to: the Taichung Station (train) and bus stop; department stores, the Taichung Park and the National Taiwan Museum of Fine Arts.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magicianlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

It is a small hotel. We stayed in a double bedroom. The room is small but well designed and fully equipped.
Front desk staff are young guys but polite and say hello everytime you see them. The floor service staff is nice too.
Studying areas on the first floor and basement are so elegant designed that you want to stay there longer.

The hotel is situated opposite Taichung railway station. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for good 6 nites from 19 to 25th. First location is excellent. Beside the famous icecream shop in whole of Taiwan. Taxi plentiful when asked counter to call.bus alot to various place but for my convenient cab is prefered.
Second we dun have bkf but the hotel convenient located with many eateries n 711 near.
Yes I would label it as 3.5 star hotel. No amenities that a 5 stars give but way enough for the amount u paid. Book earlier its cheaper. Hotel nearly fully book on everyday I was there.
Lastly room is small but clean n whatever you need is all there cleaned! !. Was ard 12 degreee that nite, we requested a heater n that was sent to us . Bedsheet is clean n my ger enjoy the bed well .
Definitely stayed there again if I visit.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank littleJun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This is a very typical budget 3 star hotel for group tourists and this is the first hotel that I gave negative feedback in Tripadvisor.

First of all, this hotel is totally catered for tour groups so please do check with your local travel agent if you really want to stay here. I travelled together with a group of 8 friends but as I decided to join them last minute, I booked through booking.com and end up paying 30% more. I paid USD100 and i felt this hotel did not justify the price.

Hotel is located in a rundown area where there there are a 7-11 supermarket and an ice cream shop close by and that's about it. The hotel has no money exchange service and there is no ATM machine close by. I was asked to go to the Mode mall to change my money and it was a good 15 minutes unpleasant walk. I had to walk towards the old train station and went through an underground passage way which was inhabited by 5- 6 street sleepers. This was not an easy 10 mins walk as described by the hotel staff.

Staff speak little or no English and hardly have any smile on their face.

The night when I stayed in this hotel, the outside temperature was 10C. Ridiculously, the hotel room has only air con and no heating system. Since I had to turn off the air con , the room had a mouldy sewage smell due to the humidity inside.

The bathroom shower has only a 2 feet glass partition next to the shower head and a complete open end which guarantee a total wet bathroom floor after a 3 min shower.

Bath towels are of low quality and looked as if they had been used for quite some years. They are rough but are good for exfoliating.

Room window has an old window blind which could block out 70% of light from the back alley outside.

Breakfast was awful and no replenishment of fresh fruit when I started breakfast at 9am.

At 11:59am the front desk already made phone calls to guest urging them to check out. I have never stayed in a hotel which called the client to ensure they check out on time.

For the pros, there is free wifi provided and speed is ok. Quilt blanket is comfortable.

Personally I will not stay in this hotel again .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hkhappygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night with my family. The hotel is nicely renovated and appointed, new and clean. As far as hotels go, this one is of course decent and comfortable.

The one thing that lets it down is its location. I think most would think that the hotel is in a central location by virtue of it being very close to the Taichung railway station (this is not the same station as the high speed rail from Taipei) and just opposite the Old Optician - where people queue like mad for the ice cream, which I have to say is rather yummy. However, other than that, there is nothing within walking distance of the hotel. Popular spots such as the Feng Chia night market is quite a taxi ride away. Plus, the area just behind the hotel is peppered with foreign workers so venturing out at night could be an issue for some.

Will I return to stay? Probably not as there is virtually nothing to do around the hotel area.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthertbc0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taichung hotels
0.2 mi away
CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch
1.1 mi away
Royal Seasons Hotel Taichung Zhongkang
3.6 mi away
La Vida Hotel
La Vida Hotel
#3 of 264 in Taichung
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Kun Hotel
Kun Hotel
#6 of 264 in Taichung
848 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park
0.7 mi away
RedDot hotel
RedDot hotel
#5 of 264 in Taichung
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 53 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 53 Hotel

Property: 53 Hotel
Address: No.27 Zhongshan Road, Central Distrcit, Taichung 400, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taichung
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 264 Hotels in Taichung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 53 Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Taichung City Center, 53 Hotel is an ideal spot from which to discover Taichung. Just 3 minutes walking from Hotel to Taichung Railway station. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. Visitors to the hotel can take pleasure in touring the city's top attractions: First Square Shopping Building, Taichung Railway Station, TADA Center. 53 Hotel also offers many facilities to enrich your stay in Taichung. For the comfort and convenience of guests, the hotel offers business center, safety deposit boxes, laundry service/dry cleaning, coffee shop, elevator. All guest accommodations feature thoughtful amenities to ensure an unparalleled sense of comfort. The hotel's recreational facilities, which include fitness center are designed for escape and relaxation. When you are looking for comfortable and convenient accommodations in Taichung, make 53 Hotel your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your 53 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing