We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall good, except....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of THE Tango Taichung

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
THE Tango Taichung
Ranked #52 of 262 Hotels in Taichung
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
176 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Overall good, except....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

It is a 4 star hotel with good location, right next to Carrefour supermaket. A few good restaurants are nearby. Its lobby looks nice but small. The room size is spacious. Overall it's up to 4 star standard, except that the housekeeping is poor and the air condition is bad. The staff is nice and helpful. The breakfast variety is good enough considering that it's only a 4 star hotel. It has free shuttle bus running daily to High Speed Train station, but I hadn't used it so I couldn't tell how good it is. Anyway, it's not a bad choice even thoiugh it's not really good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CChanHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    92
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
20
7
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
152 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Room is spacious & functional.
Can find various good restaurants in proximity.
The lobby is a bit old fashion to me. Room deco is better. It's clean & tidy.
Breakfast is fairly Taiwanese flavour. So the western items are only so-so.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ambambamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

The tango hotel is a good and in the prime location in Taichung city. The hotel is pretty decent and nice. The rooms are spacious and even the bath room, which has a Jacuzzi bath tub. The breakfast is complimentary and nice. they also offer wifi complimentary in the room which is really good for business people

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TIRUMAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

I spent 5 days in Taichung for business in Nov, 2012. The Tango was selected for me by the company I was visiting and I couldn't have been happier with their choice. From the rooms to the service to the free breakfast spreads there is nothing negative that I can say.

My room (#1211) had a huge bathroom and jetted tub for a nice relaxing soak (they even provide bathsuds). They provide every toiletry you may need, free water/coffee/tea with the room (no minibar or snacks but I didn't care).

They seem to have a nice gym but long work hours and jet lag prevented me from having the time to use it.

The service is great even when I was waiting in the lounge for my ride in the morning they would come by, give me a glass of water and ask if I needed anything.

All positive, no negative make this a 5-star (er, circle) review!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

This a Very very good hotel for the price, central location, big room, comfy bed, big bathroom with big bathtub (i had a deluxe double bed room) and all the toiletries you need, even a hot spring powder, great helpful staff and 2 free bottles of water everyday. i totally recommend it and i would choose this hotel again if i go to taichung again :)

only - things are: rooms might need more lighting, and hot spring in basement should be open for women as well, although i enjoyed my big bathtub :)

extra :
it seems some say it is very difficult to walk around in Taichung, in some way is true, but if you are used to asian city, it's actually not that bad now, for me it's not that hard to walk around. and it's fun to see small streets or big. however, the bus system sucks a bit... but taxi is cheap and loads of them. and i happened to met a very nice taxi drive during my trip, we booked him to drive us around Taichung, to places 1-2 hrs drive from city center, if anyone is interested, you are welcome to contact me :) (not sure he speaks much english cos we spoke mandarin to him.)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eat0utal0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

Hotel is located in a good neighbourhood.
Watson, Carrefour, 7-eleven and many stores are in walking distances for any everyday supplies and quick snacks. One of the newest foot massage place just opened couple blocks up the street, which helped to keep me relaxed.

Hotel room is spacious and clean. Free wi-fi was provided. We got a really good rate through our supplier, online rate was pretty competitive as well.

The only complaint I have will be the hotel breakfast. Food selection was pretty small compare to other Taiwan hotels. Several items were extremely overcooked.

Overall, a good business hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hleeluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Nice big rooms and free parking. Neighborhood not the best as there aren't many shops close by - I felt this hotel is probably targeted at business travelers. Gym is not open in the morning though you can make a special request. There is a park a few blocks away which is great for morning jogs.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank underock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taichung hotels
3.1 mi away
Maison de Chine Hotel Taichung
0.6 mi away
Hotel Day Plus Taichung
Hotel Day Plus Taichung
#21 of 262 in Taichung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
1.4 mi away
Royal Seasons Hotel Taichung Zhongkang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tempus Hotel Taichung
Tempus Hotel Taichung
#33 of 262 in Taichung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.8 mi away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#27 of 262 in Taichung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.8 mi away
Airline Inn Green Park Way
Airline Inn Green Park Way
#16 of 262 in Taichung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THE Tango Taichung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE Tango Taichung

Property: THE Tango Taichung
Address: No.525 Da Duen Road, Taichung 40866, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taichung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Taichung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — THE Tango Taichung 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your THE Tango Taichung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tango Taichung Hotel Taichung
Tango Hotel Taichung
The Tango Hotel Taichung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing