We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fairy land.....in the mountain......to come home to.”
Review of Fuyam Tourist Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fuyam Tourist Home
Ranked #1 of 57 Taoyuan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We wanted a change from the normal city tour, so we tried out Fu Yam homestay. We were not disappointed. We were pleasantly surprise by their warm hospitality. They pick us up from our Taipei Hotel and gave us a tour of the areas around Taoyuen before going up the mountain. Mount Lalah is a beautiful mountain, on the way we visited water falls. When the clouds comes down the mountain looks dreamy like a fairy land.
The homestay is situated halfway down the mountain,among the trees and mountain streams. We were very impress by the way the host Mr. and Mrs Chung and Brian their son took care of the place. We were given VIP treatment. They gave us the best room with a view to the mountain. It felt like home coming. The home cook food was delicious and special. Our 2day 1 nite was too short. I will surely consider coming back again.

Room Tip: During off peak period the best room will be provided. Normally best room comes with the package tou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2011

A very quiet and relaxing place, plus friendly and helpful staff to see to all our traveling needs when we were there. Worth checking this place out for newly weds, families and even singles who wish to have a short getaway trip into the mountains. Be prepared to bear with the forest insects orchestra at night and occasional spider webs around the tourist house. On the whole, a lovely place to stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Addicted_2_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We wanted to stay outside the city for a change and was in for a real pleasant surprise.
I emailed young Brian at Fu-Yam and asked for arrangements to pick us up from Taipei.
Everything was efficiently arranged right from the pick up from a hotel in Taipei till the
end of our lovely 3 day stay at Fu-Yam.

The scenery was spectacular, the room we had (new) was large, spacious, cosy
nothing like what we expected of a min su (family stay).

The most memorable part of this holiday was he lovely home-cooked food done by Mrs Chung the hostess of the place. The service was great and efficient, the family owners of this place were always helpful, warm and happy. It was a real joy to stay at Fu yam and we plan to return during another time of the year like Autumn or Winter when the scenery would be totally different from the summer when we were there.

Also the evening meals outdoor were romantic and lovely athough this may not be possible during Autumn or winter !

Room Tip: Worth the extra money to request for the best room to ensure that the toilets and sheets are in tip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SERENITY21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at Fuyam for two nights in April 2011. Sky, our guide picked us from Taipei.
The minsu is lovely, quiet and views from our room, overlooking the mountain greenery and river is simply tranquil and nice.
The breakfast and meals are really delicious. The tour itinerary is good and quite leisurely paced. We especially enjoyed the day trip to LalaShan, the short trek to the waterfall near the minsu where we gathered forest ferns for a dinner dish, and the local snacks that Sky recommended us during a trip to the old town were simply wonderful.

Allan, the owner and his wife, Cindy, son Brian and Sky were extremely friendly, helpful and hospitable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audrey0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Allan the owner, a former army major enjoys mingling with the visitors, telling his stories about the place and the mountains around it. The conversations with him was most entertaining and enjoyable.
He does everything whilst his wife, Cindy is seen to be the chef who dishes out delicious Chinese Hokkien and Hakka dialects dishes. We enjoyed the traditional Taiwanese porridge breakfasts very much. She whipped them out with the help of an Indonesian staff who had tertiary education and who could speak Mandarin.
I spied books on horticulture and many DIY subjects in Allan's living room This suggests he is constantly improving the environment of the homestay. He showed us his latest chicken breeding project which is still be upgraded to have the birds free range.
Our two nights stay was too short to enjoy the clean jungle air, his collection of wild orchids which was found in rooms and outside in abundance, the trekking all around, more delicious home cooked food and the generally excellent hospitality.
Oh! they have a 9 year old Labrador.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rightquadstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

This homestay dwelling has well-maintained, uniquely designed chalets located in a lushly landscaped niche tucked in the valley beneath Lalashan highlands.

Upon our arrival, we were greeted by the friendly, very hands-on and resourceful owner himself who quickly led us to our respective rooms. For the rest of our 3-day 2-nite stay, our group of six was treated to personalised service and warm hospitality by the husband-and-wife operator. The couple chaperoned us in our second-day outing - to view the protected ancient trees in the uplands - and later hosted lunch at a nearby restaurant which served superb local dishes. In the afternoon, the owner took us downstream to a waterfall followed by a visit to his organic chicken coop and a fish farm where he bought a trout for our dinner. Our meals - 2 breakfast 2 dinner - during our stay comprised fresh vegetables and fish creatively cooked by the owner's wife.

Overall, a great place for stressed city folks with cool mountain air; abundant greenery plus colourful flowering plants and plenty of hiking trails. In addition to the tastefully furnished rooms with vases of real flowers, a surprise bonus are the modern amenities - wide, flat TV with 100+ channels and trendy bathroom c/w rainshower facilities.

My only problem was that I did not sleep well on the first night - due to the cold (7 deg C!) and even with the heater (on the second night), our room was too large to be sufficiently warmed. Anyway, I will be better prepared - with thicker clothings - next time.

Room Tip: Master bedroom - for whole family not singles
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suechuah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We arrived late in the night and were greeted with warmth and kindness at the airport. Sky, the tourist guide, bought us vegetable buns to satisfy our hunger pangs. The journey up to Mt. La La was a bumpy one but we had no problems with it as we put our trust in the superb skill of the driver. We were fed with many interesting stories and experiences from Sky. He even dropped us at one of the 7-11 outlets for fear that we would get hungry.

When we arrived at the homestay, we were greeted by Chung Pa and Chung Ma. They are so cheery that we felt at home immediately. We had a midnight feast with them before we retreated to our room.

The room that we stayed in was a pleasant surprise! It looks even better that those captured in photographs on the site. It's cosy and it's filled with adorable ornaments that brightens up the room in every bit.

Breakfast was a bliss. We got to enjoy superb Hakka delights in an outdoor environment. Their family dog, Kilo, is a darling. He kept us company while we enjoyed our breakfast.

Over the 2 days, we get to experience countryside life as we gathered vegetables, did some wonderful trekking up the hills, enjoyed the scenery at the waterfall,saw many adorable animals/pets, and were introduced to many Taiwanese delights. Sky even took the initiative to be our photographer and gave us a pleasant surprise when he compiled our photos, created a video and burned it into a CD for us.

They do have different activities catered for different age groups so fret not! There will be itineries suited to ur individual needs and preference.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky_Koh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taoyuan hotels
21.4 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Taoyuan
22.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taoyuan
22 mi away
Hotel Kuva Chateau
Hotel Kuva Chateau
#5 of 150 in Taoyuan
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
South Garden Hotels and Resorts
15.6 mi away
Yaward Resort
Yaward Resort
#8 of 150 in Taoyuan
33 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cloud Villa
Cloud Villa
#2 of 57 in Taoyuan
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fuyam Tourist Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuyam Tourist Home

Address: No.180-7 Block 11, Hualing Village, Fuxing Town, Taoyuan, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taoyuan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Taoyuan
Price Range: £55 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fuyam Tourist Home 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We expect all the guests will have a relaxing vacation and recharge the energy in Fu-yam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Fuyam Tourist Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fu-Yam Tourist Home Hotel Taoyuan
Fuyam Tourist Home Taiwan/Taoyuan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing