We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-star stay in the nature”
Review of Fuyam Tourist Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fuyam Tourist Home
Ranked #1 of 55 Taoyuan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Cleanliness - It is spotless! Coming from a clean freak like me, you can be assured of this.
Serenity - If you're sick of your city life, this is a great place to take a break. I suggest taking an extra day up (ie. 4D3N instead of the package of 3D2N) to go a forest nearby the tourist home with a waterfall--which is 10 mins away by walking--on the last day.
Food - Everything is home made. They ensure their food are fresh. Including going down to the foothill or nearby town (which is at least an hr drive down from the tourist home) to get you fresh milk/meats. Absolutely healthy living!
Service - They're very intuitive. They leave you alone if they think you wish to be so. But should you be someone who prefers a human touch, this is absolutely the place to be cuz all you need to do is to reach out to the owners (family of 3) and they'll talk to you like friends. In fact we had made frens with them. We chatted with the son (Brian) till quite late one of the evenings at our patio. On the drive back to airport, Brian had gone beyond the call of his duty to help my friend. So it's a very sweet gesture.
Scenery - To be fair, this is my first time going to such a scenic place. So I can't vouch it's the best. But if you're someone who grew up in the city, this is certainly a breath of fresh air (literally and figuratively). There're tons of mountains, waterfall, forests which is quite clear-cut to walk without getting lost. And you can practise your photography skills while on the way in the forests, or late at night when the skies are clear to star gaze.
Connectivity - They drive you to their tourist home and the journey was safe. While it might seem scary to some people, it's not at all (i've phobia for heights but I'm ok for the most part of the journey). They also have (English) cable TV channels to ensure you are aware of what's going on outside the mountain:)

Room Tip: Don't choose the room facing the stream if you're a light sleeper (as the waters rolling dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

It was our first time staying in the mountainous area and it was an unforgettable one. We stayed there for 3 days 2 nights.

Everyday, without fail, they will serve us home cooked food. Basically most of the dishes are made from what they have harvested from their farm. They even brought us to their farm to harvest a few vegetables for our dinner. It's quite an interesting experience. The vegetables were really fresh and tasty too. They also brought us to a fish farm and bought us a live fish to cook for our dinner. The meals they served were really good and we still miss it a lot when we are back in Singapore. And guess what, the chef is none other than the owner of Fuyam. From this, you can see that they are sincere in hosting their customers.

As our stay was in January, the weather was really cold. The lowest temperature was 8 degree celcius. But fret not, Fuyam has got the most comfortable and warmest bed. The rooms were spacious and clean. Don't worry, the toilets are very clean too. We really liked both the exterior and interior of Fuyam. Thanks to their good hospitality, we felt as though we were at home. Thank you Brian (owner of Fuyam), for giving us such a good experience staying in a 民宿! We will visit you and your parents again! :)

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adeline512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Anyone who has stayed at Fu-Yam would have wished to have stayed a few more days at this beautiful, peaceful and relaxing place. Plus the warm and sincere reception from Chung pa, Chung ma and Peng shu, it feels like home. I even miss having Kilo following and searching for me everywhere I go. Thank you to Brian and his family. (Ai Ling from Singapore)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taling2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We have an enjoyable three days two night stay at Fuyam. Both Mr Zhong and Mrs Zhong are friendly and staying at the place is like staying at our home. The mountain and river scenery are beautiful. Last but not least, Mrs Zhong cook very nice Hakka food and the portion is always a lot.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chong M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

When we arrived in Fu Yam Tourist Home, we can’t help but marvelled at how beautiful the place is. The landscape and the architecture are wonderfully designed and carefully thought out. With many trees dotting the property. You could hear the rustling of the leaves when the wind blew. It is so peaceful and relaxing a setting. We received the warm and most kind hospitality of Alan, Chung Ma-ma, Bryan, Umi and A-go-go, Armani & Kilo, the 3 dogs that made our stay at their property most special and will be talked about for many years to come. I can’t praise enough the cooking of Chung Ma-ma who cooked with a special ingredient of love in her yummy Hakka dishes and each meal filled us very well.

The room was clean and well-maintained and the fittings and furnishing modern.

It was our 21st wedding anniversary and Bryan went a step further by surprising us with a bottle of red wine and a cake. Thank you Bryan and not forgetting Mary. Thank you Mary.

Thank you Fu Yam for allowing us into your Home.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DotLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My family of 7 have been staying in Fuyam for the last three nights. We will be leaving for home tomorrow.

During our stay in Fuyam, we had enjoyed the clean and spacious comfortable Oufong rooms, delicious home-cooked food by Chung ma, relaxing land tours by experienced guide cum driver, Mr Wu and especially, Brian and his parents' great hospitality in this wonderful place.

They are the nicest minsu hosts we had met in our 12-day Taipei trip although we also stayed in several other popular minsus.

We found all the reviews posted on Fuyam were true!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The trip to fuyam is not a" smooth sailing" one as we did not expect the mountaineous road to be so winding and dangerous. Driver is quite good ,guess he is used to driving on these roads. When we arrived we were the first family and were warmly welcomed by Mr Zhong. Mrs Zhong cooks wonderful meals and the portion is so much we felt embarass not to finish. So we tried and finished all except one dish. Love the taste which does not leave your mouth feeling thirsty like those with added msg. I will miss the freshness of the cabbage, black bean sprout, and so many more.... The altitude is 800 plus above sea level so slightly more chilly. The room for us is BIG with 2 king size beds and thermal blankets. We had a good rest and the kids enjoyed their soak in the big bathtub too, tho it was quite cold by late afternoon. Thank you Mr and Mrs Zhong for hosting and your warmth and hospitality surely made this "winding" trip worth it.

Room Tip: I guess they will allocate the right room with the number of people. Loved the room we were in it lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chng P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taoyuan hotels
21.4 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Taoyuan
22.0 mi away
Hotel Kuva Chateau
Hotel Kuva Chateau
#5 of 144 in Taoyuan
341 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Westin Tashee Resort Taoyuan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cloud Villa
Cloud Villa
#2 of 55 in Taoyuan
12 reviews
0.9 mi away
5.5K Hostel
5.5K Hostel
#8 of 14 in Taoyuan
41 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hedo Hotel Taoyuan
Hedo Hotel Taoyuan
#4 of 55 in Taoyuan
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fuyam Tourist Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuyam Tourist Home

Address: No.180-7 Block 11, Hualing Village, Fuxing Town, Taoyuan, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taoyuan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Taoyuan
Price Range: £55 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fuyam Tourist Home 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We expect all the guests will have a relaxing vacation and recharge the energy in Fu-yam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fuyam Tourist Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fu-Yam Tourist Home Hotel Taoyuan
Fuyam Tourist Home Taiwan/Taoyuan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing