We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and comfortable room”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Arusha Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arusha Crown Hotel
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good service and comfortable room”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed here one night on two separate occasions while in transit in Arusha. We found that two of the three staff we dealt with were helpful and friendly beyond expectation. The man at the front desk when we arrived comforted us after we had been ripped off by either the shuttle operator or some taxi drivers (or possibly both in cahoots) and then arranged for someone to go and buy our onward bus ticket for us so we wouldn't get ripped off.

On our second stay, the young woman at the front desk rang around people she knew for information about safari operators so we could get an idea of what was around for a short safari or day trip. We didn't end up booking through any of them but appreciated the effort. The third member of staff we dealt with (night duty on the first trip) was less friendly but still helpful enough to serve us breakfast at 5am so we could catch an early bus!

The rooms we had were both clean and comfortable. On our first stay, we were upgraded to one of the corner rooms with a view of Mt Meru and the stadium. One the second stay we had a more basic room but it was still fine. The showers were excellent! As others have said, there aren't enough powerpoints to be able to charge multiple devices. We didn't care about watching TV so were both able to charge one phone each, but no more than that.

The location around the corner from the main bus station was ideal for us as we were in transit. On the first stay, we had to catch a 6am bus the next morning so the hotel arranged for someone to escort us to the bus station. He carried our luggage for us (on his head, of course, although it was suitcase with wheels!) and waited until we were safely on the bus. He didn't seem to expect any payment.

We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant one night and the food was quite ok. On our second stay we didn't have to leave early in the morning so we were able to take full advantage of the breakfast buffet, and that was quite good too. They cooked our eggs to order so they were fresh.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrUrbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    24
    18
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
19
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

My friend and I stayed here in October just before catching a safari from Arusha.

The hotel was deserted when we stayed here, we were the only people in the dining room both days, for breakfast and dinner!

The room itself was good, nice comfortable beds, and nice and clean. There was always hot water for the shower.

When we stayed here, there seemed to be rolling blackouts for some reason, and we got caught in one just as a film was finishing on TV!!

All in all, a nice comfortable, easy stay in Arusha. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Stayed here for 1 night on business. Rooms compact but quite OK, desk you can work on, no a/c but not a problem at least in November. Not enough electrical sockets in the room to let you watch TV at night whilst your phone & laptop are charging. Staff friendly, very central location, convenient for Big Bite restaurant. Definitely halal so don't expect to be able to get a beer in the restaurant or bacon for breakfast. Mosque somewhere very close and went on a bit at dusk, but strangely I didn't notice the morning call to prayer. Very close to the stadium and I guess that the area would become busy & noisy if there was match on.

Recommended

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the3rdParty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stayed at the Arusha Crown a total of three times (one night each) while in Tanzania. It was a great base of operations for me. The rooms are solid, good beds, hot showers, modern amenities. I found it comparable to a Best Western type hotel in the US. I was annoyed by the morning call to prayer but the Hotel has nothing to do with that. Breakfast comprised fresh fruits, breads, eggs, sausages (hot dogs) and drinks. Hearty enough to begin my safari.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. When the hotel didn't have enough shillings to exchange money, they sent someone to a bureau de change for me. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrBellowz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
81 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I stayed here one night before going on a safari. It's a fairly new hotel, only 4 years old. It's right across from the stadium and surrounded by hardware stores. The rooms were nice for an average hotel. No air conditioning, but a fan seemed to be sufficient.

As other reviewers mentioned, the mosque nearby is quite loud. The windows on even the 4th floor windows seemed quite thin. You can even hear people down below talking. If not for the loudness of the rooms, I would probably rate it higher. Otherwise, it had good cable television and a nice lobby restaurant.

Two large grocery stores are across the street and a block to the right if you need to shop for your safari.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank globetrekker728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyeri, Kenya
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Located in a busy section of town, it wasnt really my kind of place but I checked in out of conveniency because the others werent accepting VISA cards. The first time I was disappointed because I was charged non- resident fee which should'nt be the case for any East African resident but the second time I visited (I liked the place despite the discrimination) they had suddely done away with the system.
Crown has superb rooms and one of the best buffet breakfast you can ever find in Arusha. The service is exemplary. I love this place!

Room Tip: Choose the much quiter rooms facing east if you intend to wake up late
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wamae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slovakia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

This hotel surprised us. In a positive way.
We liked the location - in downtown, from which you can easily walk wherever is in Arusha something tourist important or just to walk around. You don’t need to take taxi every time you want to go to buy something or just to see the city around. From the first point of view downtown and hotel location could seem dirtier and not safe comparing the parts of Arusha, which are outside the city centre and where many hotels are located; we were scary at the beginning, but then we realized that this is true city life and it just seems to be not safe.
The hotel is very modern. If you take the corner rooms (take these if I can advise and you won’t be unsatisfied), which are very spacious, light and airy, you will get the highest hotel standard room for the very good and lowest price, if I comparing hotels outside the city centre, often with lower standards and more expensive. The room was often clean, no smells inside, A/C, all time hot water, free mineral water in the room and free internet on the reception’s lap-top (just ask), with the hotel flip-flops on the entrance to the shower (As I wrote this hotel gives you standards for which you will pay, in the other parts of Arusha – e.g. road from Kilimanjaro airport, twice a more. We were checked one best known hotel from trip advisor’s reviews and we decided not to change Arusha Crown hotel.). Just don’t be scared by the location and people living there, they are not danger to you even they stare at you as you are not use to at home and even they contacting you by offering you a safari. Breakfasts were OK, tastier then e.g. in Nairobi, no complains at all.
I especially liked the pre-conversation with this hotel when I booked the room. They always replied promptly to my emails and did not ask for any advanced payment.
If I went to Arusha for safari again, I would definitely choose this hotel for what it offers.

Room Tip: take the corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SepsiSlovakia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.6 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#7 of 42 in Arusha
55 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
540 reviews
0.8 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 42 in Arusha
87 reviews
11.9 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
411 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#6 of 42 in Arusha
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arusha Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arusha Crown Hotel

Property: Arusha Crown Hotel
Address: Makongoro Road, P. O. Box 854, Arusha, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arusha Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de so you can book your Arusha Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing