We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit of a Mixed Bag but Good Value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colobus Mountain Lodge & Campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colobus Mountain Lodge & Campsite
Ranked #86 of 148 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Shropshire
Level Contributor
150 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Bit of a Mixed Bag but Good Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

It is a bit hard to describe the Colobus Lodge, when we arrived my heart sank, the reception was gloomy, the receptionist didn't have a pen, and the whole place looked like a 1960's motel. Once we got to our room however my spirits improved, the cottages are a good size, everything works (the shower was especially good) and the gardens OK.

We stayed two nights and we were the only customers. The waitresses were friendly, the chef seemed pleased to have someone to cook for and the food was fine.

So don't go their if you want to impress your partner but if all you need is somewhere to sleep and a bit of food this is a reasonable option and a lot cheaper than the other Arusha Hotels.

We also stayed in Rivertrees and Arusha Coffee Lodge, Colobus was $100 full board, the others were $300+ B&B. There is nothing wrong with Colobus just it is not impressive.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShropshireOldfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    4
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed at the campsite as we were on a budget – the campsite is basically the garden of the lodge, and we had the only tent there. We could use all the facilities of the lodge, such as bathroom, seating area in the evening, and recharge our camera and camcorder batteries. The lodge is very close to the Arusha national park. However if you are thinking to go to the lodge, it seemed ok, but not luxurious if someone is looking for that. The campsite was ok for us.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VenturiniFrancesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2008

You will probably stay in the Colobus lodge if you book your safari with Shidolya. The lodge is very close to the Arusha national park and the road towards is similar to all other road in Tanzania except the highways.

Rooms are large with two double beds, a couch and large bathroom. The setting is romantic with an evening sunset view on mount meru.

The lodge arranged us a tour around the villages and a forrest with the Colubus Monkeys for free (only small tips).

Food is nothing special but not bad either. Service is rather slow.

A good place to stay before or after your safari. Don't expect top luxuary but a decent and nice place to stay.

  • Liked — The quietness and nice rooms/beds
  • Disliked — Service of the staff
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Tansep08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest USA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2008

Not bad looking from the outside, but don't go here unless you are looking for a very low budget, very low class place to stay. The road up to this lodge was perhaps the worst road in Tanzania, unpaved and severely rocky for several miles - taxi drivers even said it was probably the worst road in Tanzania! While the rooms were liveable, there was significant disrepair (broken cabinet doors, etc.), food was terrible, and service was totally sub par (when existent at all). Supposed bar has almost nothing to serve, and the lodge ran out of bottled drinking water while we were there. Hot water for showers in your room is turned on only in the early evenings and takes about 10 minutes to turn hot (if you get hot water at all). Facilities overall were in marginal shape. Location next to Arusha National Park is great, but do yourself a favor and stay somwhere else!

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank midwesterner58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arusha hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.0 mi away
Meru Mbega Lodge
Meru Mbega Lodge
#31 of 148 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.0 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Arusha Coffee Lodge
#1 of 148 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colobus Mountain Lodge & Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colobus Mountain Lodge & Campsite

Property: Colobus Mountain Lodge & Campsite
Address: P.O. Box 1436, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 148 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing