We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for your small budget”
Review of Outpost Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Outpost Lodge
Ranked #9 of 140 Arusha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This medium size lodge is just perfect for the price that you pay. The rooms are decent, they have laundry, an internet room, a small swimming pool, a nice cafe, and excellent coffee that is quite cheap.

It is popular with a number of mountain operators, so, if you're here part of your Kilimanjaro climb, it's a good place to make new friends with other climbers. Some people stayed there before the climb, so you might see them on your way up the mountain. Some people just completed their trek and it's a good opportunity to ask them latest news from Kili.

They offer a breakfast buffet every morning, it's nothing fantastic but its adequate. We tend to order omelet and eggs from the restaurant on top of the buffet food.

It's near to Arusha town but I don't recommend you walking there. Either get your safari / mountain operator to arrange transport or go in a taxi with 2-3 friends.

Room Tip: If in group of 3 or 4s, ask for the big room on the 1st floor of the main building. It has a nice vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imran_jaafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2011

The rooms are spacious and the bathroom too, and clean. The bed is confortable. The pool is rather small, but clean.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shougie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights in between climbing Kilimanjaro and going on Safari and it was a great way to relax and prepare.

Food was pretty good, beer is reasonably priced, and the pool looked great (although we didn't have time to try it). It's a perfect walking distance from downtown, close to a few other restaurants, and a few blocks from somewhat of a track that I did some running on (although across a busy street). The rooms are clean, staff were very friendly. Even managed to pickup a free wifi signal (although computer stations are paid).

We returned a week later for another few days and they were kind enough to lock up our bags in the meantime.

I would definitely stay here if ever in Arusha again - Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We haved lived and worked in Serengeti, Tanzania for nearly 8 years, so Arusha is our main supply town. Due to time constraints as its work, not hols, town is a huge chore for us , with lots to get done in very few days.
Supplies, repairs, garage visits, doctors, dentist, chemist, stores.... a massive list.
The Outpost has become a friendly home from home for us, that makes this necessary town trip much more do-able. This is because of years of great, friendly and helpful assistance from the owners and all the staff, who greet us like old friends. As indeed we have become.....

For anyone in our position, living in the bush with Arusha as their main supply town, it is an ideal place to stay. Not just because of such obliging and helpful, laid back staff, but its central location is ideal, and quick to and easy to get to when you need to drop off gathering supplies or take a short break. (Especially while shops close for mosque, lunch etc and you have to go back and forth umpteen times!!)
Taxis are always available, which means cumbersome 4 wheel drive security risk vehicle can stay securely parked.

The garden is fabulous and is a cool haven of green in the middle of a dirty and hectic town, and I am sure this plays a big part in the survival of the birds whose calls are so typify time in town, the golden orioles, silvery cheeked hornbills, and the smaller common garden birds.
We also have seen mongooses, hedgehogs etc, which are also thankfully still finding much needed refuge in shrinking suburbs like this.
Living life out here in such a remote place would be all the more difficult, without this very much appreciated place. The staff, past and some long serving present, really do look after us.

Thank you.

Room Tip: All are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bushkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Recently stayed here for the first time in a few years, loved the place. Staff were full of smiles and cold not be more helpful or friendly. Was like an oasis is arusha - my bed was comfortabke and my room was clean, the garden is absoultely stunning and to be honest i was sad to leave. Value for money? Definately.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Outpost Lodge was a good place and friendly staff but the room was ok but inexpensive. The room and bathroom were ok but comfortable bed. We liked the place and the staff and we enjoyed the food there..

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMstravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed here for the entire month of May while supervising a Study Abroad trip for a university. The staff were MOST attentive to our needs (even made a "welcome home" cake for us after we returned from safari). Can't say enough good things about the whole experience, from breakfast to laundry to sleeping accommodations.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
1.1 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#6 of 45 in Arusha
630 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 45 in Arusha
472 reviews
0.3 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 45 in Arusha
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 45 in Arusha
108 reviews
1 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#7 of 45 in Arusha
103 reviews
0.8 mi away
Green Mountain Hotel
Green Mountain Hotel
#2 of 140 in Arusha
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outpost Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outpost Lodge

Address: 37A Serengeti Road | P O Box 11520, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range: £61 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Outpost Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unpretentious, and truly 'value for money'. Clean and safe, beautiful tropical surroundings with quiet relaxed atmosphere... bar, restaurant, cafe, free wifi, laundry service, and free safe bagage store while on safari. A home away from home in true East African style. 20 minute walk from the downtown, satellite TV, genuine cafe and friendly helpful staff... welcome - Karibu sana! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Outpost Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outpost Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing