We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Low-Cost Hotel”
Review of Outpost Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Outpost Lodge
Ranked #7 of 104 Arusha B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Low-Cost Hotel”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed at the Outpost Lodge for one night before our Kilimanjaro Trek and for three nights afterwards and found it to be an excellent low-cost hotel.

Rooms – Both rooms we stayed in were clean and had comfortable beds with enough blankets for the chilly nights. We didn’t experience any problems with power or water while we were there. Both rooms had good mosquito nets.

The bathrooms offered toilet paper, soap, shower gel and shampoo along with towels and a bath mat. The towels were thinner than you’d find in a smarter European hotel, but they were still perfectly good for drying six-foot-tall men.

Café/Bar/Restaurant – Café Mambo is two open-air, roofed spaces adjacent to the pool where food and drink can be had throughout the day. The food and drink are reasonably priced, the staff friendly and the space clean and comfortable. The breakfast menu was the same each morning though which got a bit repetitive.

There is also free Wi-Fi coverage which was good when it worked, but the antenna covering the café seemed to have occasional problems. When it was down you had to go to the computer room to get signal. The computer room had two aging machines which were pretty slow as web-browsers. The café and restaurant areas are well supplied with mains outlets (UK, 3-pin-style) and there wasn’t a problem with people plugging in their laptops and phones.

Pool – the pool area isn’t huge but has a few sun loungers alongside the tables and chairs if you want to sunbathe. The pool was out of action when we arrived – it looked like a purification plant issue – but was sparkling and clean again by the time we left. Can’t say whether this was a one-off issue or a regular problem.

Reception – The reception (and staff generally) were all friendly and helpful.

Location – The location is 15-20mins walk from the town centre. Taxis are readily available, but will overcharge if you let them. We were initially quoted 10,000 Tanzanian Shillings for a trip to the Njiro Centre (local ex-pat shopping & hangout) but we’d read that no journey in town should cost more than TS8,000 so we walked away and were later quoted TS5,000 (about £2/$3) for the same trip.

Room Tip: K2 (front garden) was a little cramped, with little space between the beds and the wall to allow pas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    199
    80
    19
    7
See reviews for
54
145
39
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed here after our safari and had tried to have 2 nights, but due to some email confusion (not the guesthouse's fault) we ended up with just one. It was too bad, because we found the rooms clean and spacious, the shower to be hot (after having it explained to us how to get the hot water going), and the common areas to be well maintained and relaxing. Everything you need after some days out in the bush.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed here twice - one night before our Safari and one night after our Safari. Rooms are spacious and clean, showers are hot, beds are comfortable and the atmosphere is friendly and safe. The location is central and we enjoyed staying there. Recommended as a good value for money base for Safaris from Arusha, e.g. to Ngorongoro and Serengeti.

Only downside: Food at the restaurant is not recommended, it's overpriced and not very good.

The staff was very friendly and also helped us with getting tickets for a shuttle bus to Nairobi, Kenya.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We used the company Focus in Africa for both our Kilimanjaro climb and our 3 day safari. This was the homebase they used to house their clients. The place is not too big and not too small and with breakfast included it was a good place to meet others doing the same thing as you. The rooms vary because they are currently remodeling and we had 3 different rooms throughout our stay. The restaurant offers good food at reasonable prices and the staff is really nice and helpful. It can get pretty noisy with other groups getting up early to leave for their treks and dogs tend to bark a lot throughout the night. The hot water runs out at about 15 minutes so consider your roommate when using the shower.

Room Tip: If there are two of you, ask for either A3 or A4. They are newly remodeled and very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbgirl-forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Clean rooms. We ran out of water (hot and cold) every day. Breakfast included. Free internet with 2 computers available for use. Tiny pool and bar for hanging out.

In a safer area of Arusha but still close to main road. Good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

This place is pretty good for a short stay in Arusha. Rooms are fairly basic, but nothing offensive about them. Perhaps a little noisy at night but not a deal breaker. We were so tired from travelling we slept fine anyway. There's a little pool, which is nice. Few loungers if you want to catch some sun. But probably you are there before or after a safari or trek. We stayed before our safari and after. The meals are excellent and a reasonable price. Waiting staff very helpful and efficient. The location isn't right in town, but you can walk in daytime within ten minutes and a cab ride is cheap. Being out of town is actually a good thing, more peaceful in what is a hustle and bustle kind of place. If you have booked a safari with Roy Safaris it is also a great location because they are literally just down the street, under a minute by car. The only negative I can say is that one of the receptionists over charged us when booking a taxi. It should have been about $4 she quoted $10. We knew she was up to no good, but it is hard to challenge. Luckily her boss appeared and took over, so we got the $4 fare. I guess she was planning to pay the cab driver and keep the rest, who knows. I understand though, they see people from developed countries throwing $ around like nobody's business. Some of them are lucky to be making $150 a year. Tip these guys where you can and where it is deserved - even if you are on a budget, you are not on their budget, so don't be tight.
Good place. book it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Intheknow30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
248 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed at the lodge in August.It was arranged by our trv.agent as part of the one week trek to Kilimanjaro.The lodge is quite simple but we had all we needed.It has a nice reception excellent open air(only roofed)restaurant a small swimming pool and free internet.We stayed here the night before the trek and two more nights after the successful trek.Getting to the lodge or leaving it is best done by taxi.The taxi in Arusha is just a car of a friend of anybody you ask.In a second they call on the mobile and the "taxi" arrives.
The price includes breakfast:coffee tea milk hot chocolate omlette cheese some vegetables always fresh fruits.A small pot of jam and butter are served as standard on the table.Very pleasant and tasty.
The restaurant is open till 10pm and they have a very good variety of menus.Prices were quite cheap.They have a bar and twice a week a short entertaiment program with African acrobats.
If you have time you can enjoy the nice garden.
The laundry is perfect and cheap.We sent all out cloths after the trek and the same day in the evening everything came back nicely folded.
Before you leave for the trek you can leave your luggage and valuables with the hotel.Valuables are checked and counted and registered and locked in a big safe.Perfectly safe!
The room a big enough so is the bathroom.They give you a shampoo and shower gel and soap.Of course towels as well.The atmosphere is a friendly one and the reception personel will help you as much as possible.
Is good that the place was kind of modest because is easier this way to make the transition to the harsh conditions of living in a cold tent for the next seven days.
But the most important thing I want to mention and to thank the hotel is the fact that the day we left the hotel I left in the room(intentionaly as a donation) my pair of new boots and a warm sweater.We already left the town when they called the driver on mobile and asked to talk to me telling that we forgot some items.Excellent gesture.We said that we donate the boots to one of the poor porters who was with us on the mountain, a donation quite usual to do .

Room Tip: Ask for a room with separate bathroom !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kertesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.3 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
3.2 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.0 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#5 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
11.5 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outpost Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outpost Lodge

Property: Outpost Lodge
Address: 37A Serengeti Road | P O Box 11520, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Outpost Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unpretentious, and truly 'value for money'. Clean and safe, beautiful tropical surroundings with quiet relaxed atmosphere... bar, restaurant, cafe, free wifi, laundry service, and free safe bagage store while on safari. A home away from home in true East African style. 20 minute walk from the downtown, satellite TV, genuine cafe and friendly helpful staff... welcome - Karibu sana! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Outpost Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outpost Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing