We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Flamingo a Great Inexpensive Find”
Review of Hotel Flamingo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Flamingo
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Arusha
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Thanks to your information we stayed at the Hotel Flamingo in Arusha Tanzania. It was everything the reviewers stated. The location was fine and the rate almost unbelievably inexpensive. Ian the owner is very accommodating and will help in any way he can. It is "barebones" but clean. The mosque is with ear shot but not enough to make the stay unpleasant.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerrySchroeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2012

3 of us spent 3 nights here, nice location, clean. Friendly English speaking staff. Close to market, internet cafe, bus station. Modest prices/night included breakfast.Be aware of the 5am wakeup call by the chanting over the loudspeakers from nearby mosques! Recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garywing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We chose this hotel because of the good reviews on Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed. The hotel is close to the main area and we found everything we wanted within walking distance, little supermarket, ATM, local restaurants (give Kharns BBQ a try), fruit market, local shops and airline office. The hotel staff have excellent English and are very keen to help and sort out any travel problems you may have. The rooms are simple with table, chairs, bed with excellent moscuito net, shelves and very comfortable. The bathroom is basic but functional and there is hot water unlike other places we stayed. The doors are secure and big windows provide fresh air. Everywhere in this hotel is spotless with ladies constantly cleaning. Breakfast was good with homemade banana jam for the toast, fruit, egg with tea or coffee. There is a tv room and outdoor sitting area. At $35 a double this has to be a bargain. As other reviews have stated the mosque is loud and it does start early (5am) but if you know it is going to happen I think it is easier to put to the back of your mind and keep sleeping. It didn't worry us. Ian the hotel manager/owner is excellent with a hands on approach. We highly recommend this hotel with its value for money and friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: Our room (15) was upstairs and had a view of mountains in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank busybee57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I chosed this hotel because it was very close to the bus station. I paid $25 for 1 night single room with breakfast included. The room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was very nice. The girl at the reception was very kind and disposed to answer my questions.
The only negative thing I can say about this hotel is the fact that he's situated between 2 mosquees and that they are yelling untill 11PM and start again at 5AM... but if, like me, you just stay for 1 night transfer it doesn't matter ;)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobeTrotter7410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I was looking for a budget/mid-range place to stay in Arusha and did not like those suggested in the guide book. By chance I stumbled on Hotel Flamingo and was very happy with my stay there - simple and clean rooms, very friendly and close to the centre of town - good value for money and recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marco K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

The Flamingo Hotel is in the heart of Arusha, just a couple minutes from the Central Market and the main bus terminal. Arusha itself isn't really much to write home about but pretty much everyone stays in this city before and after their Northern Circuit safaris.

The rooms and the hotel itself are spotless. A small army of staff work constantly to keep this place spic and span. The rooms are lovely, with nice big windows to let in the breeze. Note that the bathrooms do not have a separate shower but have the showerhead right along the toilet and sink so they will get wet if you splash around! The beds are very comfortable with mosquito nets to protect you from the insects' bites.

Ian the manager is very friendly and accommodating. He emailed me after I checked out that I had left a pack of disposable wipes behind and offered to hold onto them for me If I came back! How awesome is that?

As noted in other reviews, the very loud call to prayer can be heard very early in the morning so consider that your alarm clock! Not the fault of the hotel at all but worth mentioning. If you need absolute silence, consider accommodation outside the city centre.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allan0723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

My boyfriend and I spent 2 nights before our safari and one night afterwards at the Flamingo Hotel in Arusha. The hotel is right in the heart of Arusha on a bustling street near the central market and bus station. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and had a mosquito net. We also appreciated that there was hot water (which isn't always the case in budget hotels in Africa). We found the owner (Ian) polite and and provided us with some restaurant recommendations and the rest of his staff were friendly and helpful as well. Breakfast (fruit, eggs, bread & coffee/tea) was basic but good and included in the price.

As others have noted, the proximity to two mosques means loud wake-up calls for non-Muslims but overall we enjoyed the hotel very much and would stay there again if we are back in Arusha.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juststudying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.2 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#7 of 45 in Arusha
105 reviews
4.2 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 45 in Arusha
472 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 45 in Arusha
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#6 of 45 in Arusha
631 reviews
12.2 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 45 in Arusha
510 reviews
5.7 mi away
Christina House
Christina House
#7 of 140 in Arusha
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flamingo

Address: Kikuyu St., Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Arusha
Number of rooms: 29

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing