We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Civilized!”
Review of Hotel Flamingo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Flamingo
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Arusha
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Civilized!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed here before and after my Mt. Kili trek, the Flamingo was such a perfect respite! Fabulous bed, got shower and absurdly friendly staff. The breakfast is fresh and personalized, the BBQ place nearby is a great and easy convenience and the night market not a far walk. Pure love!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEM42965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    44
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
27
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenora, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I spent one night here. Extremely clean, simple, bed nets, good breakfast. It was the staff that really made it a nice stay. They were all smiles, very helpful, answered all my questions, and stored all my valuables with no issue. There was a problem with my door and within 10 minutes they had a maintenance guy in to fix it for me. The laundry service was a tad expensive but convenient and timely (I paid 5000 tsh to launder 5 larger items). The internet is extremely slow (but speeds up when everyone is at mosque!) and very cheap to use. Breakfast was included and good - hot coffee with warm milk was a highlight (I got used to, and now enjoy instant africafe). Oh, and the hot shower was a luxury. It's sticking out of the wall in the bathroom so things tend to get a little wet.

The location is central, close to bbq's and supermarkets. I didn't feel comfortable leaving the area alone at night because there are few/no street lights, but during the day I walked all over the place. The mosques are loud! Louuuud!!! And they are going full volume at midnight as well as 5am. So, bring some earplugs if you're a light sleeper.

Good quality, clean budget hotel.

Room Tip: Maybe try to get a room higher up. Book early if you can because it's often full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damnablewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Not the fanciest place you'll ever stay in, but if you're just looking for something simple and clean, you won't go wrong here. It's absolutely no frills but very evident that the employees care about the hotel and they care about you. Recommended if you're not looking for pampering and just want a home. Yes the mosques were loud but I found that I slept through the prayer calls okay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qasr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed only one night here. But found the experience magical. Rooms are well presented & breakfast was great, loved the tea. But the staff just made it. They were friendly and very helpful Recommend to any travellers on a budget

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worldwide
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

Just spent 2 nights here, staff are excellent, vfm is great, hot shower and en suite is brill. My single room is a good size, mozzie net and tv. Breakfast is good. Location is easy to find, next to stadium, and a short walk to Arusha attractions.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pearlkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Thanks to your information we stayed at the Hotel Flamingo in Arusha Tanzania. It was everything the reviewers stated. The location was fine and the rate almost unbelievably inexpensive. Ian the owner is very accommodating and will help in any way he can. It is "barebones" but clean. The mosque is with ear shot but not enough to make the stay unpleasant.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerrySchroeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
249 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

3 of us spent 3 nights here, nice location, clean. Friendly English speaking staff. Close to market, internet cafe, bus station. Modest prices/night included breakfast.Be aware of the 5am wakeup call by the chanting over the loudspeakers from nearby mosques! Recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garywing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.2 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.0 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Meru House Inn
Meru House Inn
#16 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
4.2 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
12.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flamingo

Property: Hotel Flamingo
Address: Kikuyu St., Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Arusha
Number of rooms: 29

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing