We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super clean, nice rooms and good value ”
Review of Hotel Flamingo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Flamingo
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Arusha
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Super clean, nice rooms and good value ”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

After checking out a few of the cheaper options around Arusha, I found Flamingo. The rooms are spotless - in fact, floors throughout are so clean they're a bit slippery. My room had a small desk, 2 leather chairs, hot water in the good-size bathroom and a flat screen TV. Add to this the decent location, lovely staff, wifi (communal room area only - just get yourself a local sim with data) and comfy beds, and the best breakfast I've had in East Africa and this is a lovely hotel for the price.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Berenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    44
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
27
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This was the best choice we could have made for the central location we were after in Arusha.
The staff at reception are really friendly and lovely. Breakfast was quite good and the best coffee we had in all our trip around Tanzania.

If you stay there, please dont miss out on a trip to Khan's BBQ as it is just a 1 min walk from the hotel which is also very close to the market - great to buy fresh fruit!

Only two negative points to mention:
-There could be better maps/tips to help with walking around in Arusha.
-More importantly, the warnings already mentioned in other reviews regarding the loudspeakers from the mosque nearby are NOT to be disregarded...bring earplugs or you wont sleep! From 5 to 7pm (almost continuously) and 5am/6 am each for about 5/10 min... you can count on it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helder_rf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in January before our safari. I chose this place because I wanted somewhere close to the market so we could walk around and go to Khans for dinner without having to take a taxi. The area is very busy (which I like), but the hotel is on a quiet street and it was very quiet at night. As others have said, the price is very good ($35/double) and it is very clean. The breakfast is also very good considering the price (fruit, toast, plain omelet, juice, coffee/tea). The mosque is loud at 5 am. I was disappointed that there were several large holes in the mosquito net. There is an overhead fan that is adequate, but it would be better if there were screens on the windows so you could open the window to get a breeze. Our shower drain did not work the first day and almost flooded the bathroom (the shower is not separate from the rest of the bathroom) but they fixed it when we brought it to their attention. I would probably stay here again (you can't beat the price). I just think it would be much more comfortable at night if you could open the window.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2creekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manaus, AM
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Me and my friends stayed two nights at this hotel. Staff was super friendly and helpful. We were going to a safari for 7 days and they let us leave some things behind so we wouldn't carry it all over, no charge. Had no issues what so ever and enjoyed our staying.
Really recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estéfani F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed in Hotel Flamingo for one night. It was absolutely worth of the money we paid ($25 single room & $35 double.). The hotel was very clean and all worked well. Only minus is the mosque next door which wakes you up in the morning. By the way, it wasn't easy to find the way to contact them so just wanted to tell that the email flamingoarusha@yahoo.com works for reservations.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Absolutely lovely hotel. We stayed here for a few days before and after our safari. The price is 35 USD for a double room, but it is very clean, there is a decent bathroom and a working ceiling fan. A nice breakfast with fruits, toast and an omelet is included and there is laundry facility for a small price (although it can take a few days). The staff is very friendly and ready to help with anything.

We really enjoyed our stay here, and happily paid the price. There is also WIFI available for a price (1200 Tsh for half an hour), although it doesn't work very fast. But good enough if you just need to look up something.

I would certainly recommend this hotel. The only downside I could find is that the boiler is shared, so you might not have hot water at certain peak times. And beware of the early morning prayers you'll clearly hear.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We spent a few nights at Hotel Flamingo at the end of our trip. We traveled on a budget, and while relatively inexpensive, the hotel was the cleanest and safest feeling one we stayed in.

I cannot say enough wonderful things about the staff. Their help and suggestions were invaluable during our stay - whether it was booking a safari tour, arranging transportation, or recommending restaurants. One of our companions had an issue with her flights home, and the staff were so helpful and supportive while she untangled the mess with the airline company. Everyone at Hotel Flamingo were genuinely happy to help us (and I noticed this with other guests as well - it wasn't just us!).

I've spent a number of months in Arusha, staying in quite a number of hotels, hostels, etc. and I can easily say our stay at Hotel Flamingo was one of the best!

Room Tip: It is very close to a few mosques so if you go during Ramadan (as we did), prepare for early morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamb0_Bwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.2 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#5 of 41 in Arusha
60 reviews
1.0 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
914 reviews
4.2 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Meru House Inn
Meru House Inn
#16 of 41 in Arusha
38 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 41 in Arusha
87 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flamingo

Property: Hotel Flamingo
Address: Kikuyu St., Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Arusha
Number of rooms: 29

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing