We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great clean and simple hotel in the center of arusha”
Review of Hotel Flamingo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Flamingo
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Arusha
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We have been at the flamingo hotel before and also after our safari.
The hotel is clean and perfectly located in the center of arusha if you want to visit the center. Rooms are simple but nice and clean.
The managers are also nice and help us quickly when we needed.
To summarize, it is a great hotel if you want something clean and to be in the center and dont want to pay to much. The breakfast is also ok (tee /coffee, bread, jam, eggs, fruits...).
Yes, there is the mosquee juste near: noice between 5.30 am and around 6 am but for us it was ok.

I recommend this hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Zouz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Flamingo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Great hotel. Immaculately clean. Staff are amazing, patient & helpful. Ian is a kind gentleman. As a female traveling alone I would highly recommend this place. Beds are super comfortable. Yes you hear the call to prayer at 5am but that is part of the experience. I'm not Muslim but found it quite soothing actually.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Ton1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

After checking out a few of the cheaper options around Arusha, I found Flamingo. The rooms are spotless - in fact, floors throughout are so clean they're a bit slippery. My room had a small desk, 2 leather chairs, hot water in the good-size bathroom and a flat screen TV. Add to this the decent location, lovely staff, wifi (communal room area only - just get yourself a local sim with data) and comfy beds, and the best breakfast I've had in East Africa and this is a lovely hotel for the price.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Berenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This was the best choice we could have made for the central location we were after in Arusha.
The staff at reception are really friendly and lovely. Breakfast was quite good and the best coffee we had in all our trip around Tanzania.

If you stay there, please dont miss out on a trip to Khan's BBQ as it is just a 1 min walk from the hotel which is also very close to the market - great to buy fresh fruit!

Only two negative points to mention:
-There could be better maps/tips to help with walking around in Arusha.
-More importantly, the warnings already mentioned in other reviews regarding the loudspeakers from the mosque nearby are NOT to be disregarded...bring earplugs or you wont sleep! From 5 to 7pm (almost continuously) and 5am/6 am each for about 5/10 min... you can count on it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helder_rf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in January before our safari. I chose this place because I wanted somewhere close to the market so we could walk around and go to Khans for dinner without having to take a taxi. The area is very busy (which I like), but the hotel is on a quiet street and it was very quiet at night. As others have said, the price is very good ($35/double) and it is very clean. The breakfast is also very good considering the price (fruit, toast, plain omelet, juice, coffee/tea). The mosque is loud at 5 am. I was disappointed that there were several large holes in the mosquito net. There is an overhead fan that is adequate, but it would be better if there were screens on the windows so you could open the window to get a breeze. Our shower drain did not work the first day and almost flooded the bathroom (the shower is not separate from the rest of the bathroom) but they fixed it when we brought it to their attention. I would probably stay here again (you can't beat the price). I just think it would be much more comfortable at night if you could open the window.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2creekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Me and my friends stayed two nights at this hotel. Staff was super friendly and helpful. We were going to a safari for 7 days and they let us leave some things behind so we wouldn't carry it all over, no charge. Had no issues what so ever and enjoyed our staying.
Really recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Estéfani F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed in Hotel Flamingo for one night. It was absolutely worth of the money we paid ($25 single room & $35 double.). The hotel was very clean and all worked well. Only minus is the mosque next door which wakes you up in the morning. By the way, it wasn't easy to find the way to contact them so just wanted to tell that the email flamingoarusha@yahoo.com works for reservations.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.2 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#5 of 43 in Arusha
85 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 43 in Arusha
96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meru House Inn
Meru House Inn
#16 of 43 in Arusha
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
591 reviews
1.0 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
983 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Arusha Hotel
The Arusha Hotel
#10 of 43 in Arusha
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flamingo

Address: Kikuyu St., Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Arusha
Number of rooms: 29

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing