We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Arusha”
Review of Ujamaa Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ujamaa Hostel
Ranked #16 of 160 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Arusha”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I would recommend this hostel hands down. I wasn't staying there originally, but all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful to me anyway as I made friends with some of the guests. Therefore I decided to stay for a full weekend in the hostel. It is clean and tidy and the beds are really comfortable. The food served for dinner is absolutely delicious. There is a nice common area with a TV and DVD player, and a great garden with views of Mt Meru at the back. There was a huge mixture of people staying there, from extremely long-term volunteers, to volunteers only there for a few weeks, to couples on a safari holiday, and a mother and son who had just climbed Kili. It feels really safe and the staff are full of advice and good tips on what to do in Arusha. Plus they are extremely helpful if anyone does get in trouble, i.e. gets mugged out in town.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajd87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    16
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
11
53
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Ujamaa in an extraordinary place. It's friendly staff and helpful guests love to share and tell you all about their time here. The food is fantastic, and the hostel is kept clean and tidy. There's a beer fridge, which is a must after a hot day. Best of all it offers free volunteer experiences for those who want to enhance their trip to Africa. The mama's take care of guests as if they are family, and the staff are keen to share any tips and help you organise your time here with plenty of helpful advice on stuff to do. Will keep coming back, this is my home away from home! =o)

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!!! If you want a bit of privacy though, go for a private dorm. =o)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VicDance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Just go there. I would rather stay there than a 'luxury' hotel in Arusha. (First off, you won't find 'luxury', and secondly, what the hell are you in East Africa for?! sitting in some lame hotel or meeting awesome people who are helping out around the Arusha community) I didn't volunteer or anything, I just showed up and drank beer, and it was worth it.

I was traveling solo, but there were couples, young and middle age people, and everyone was enjoying it.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Secure, friendly, clean, well-run, close to town, great value, food is delicious and the mamas are adorable. You'd be demented to stay anywhere else.

As I'm being forced to write 200 characters I suppose I should tell you my life story. My name is Brian, but from an early age everyone called me Steve. When I asked them to stop they said "HAPANA!"

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank algernoncarruthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Some stay a night and some stay for months but everyone is welcome. Ujamaa is like a family and staff will show you around town and projects on your first day and there are always new travellers of all ages and nationalities to chat to and always a beer in the fridge!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ImyFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glengarry, Victoria
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Ujamaa created an amazing experience for my stay in Arusha. I was there primarily to volunteer, and Ujamaa connected me with a local orphanage/school, allowing me to help in an honest and real way. Carley and Gasper and their staff were constantly there to answer any questions and added heaps of fun to my experience in Arusha! The hostel has everything that you need, including breakfast and dinner, and is in a convenient location allowing you to walk into town. Most of all it has a friendly, welcoming and positive atmosphere making it a great place to settle down for however long you intend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieDawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I've been to Tanzania before my most recent trip, and my visit was the best ever largely in part of my experience at Ujamaa! I met some of the most amazing people while staying at this home away from home! The staff is not only helpful and welcoming, but they truly become family by the time you say goodbye. Carley and Gaspar have an efficient system running at this hostel and I couldn't recommend it enough! Plus, Ujamaa gives you the chance of a lifetime to meet some brilliant people from all around the world----you can't beat this place for the price and experience!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bpreuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
3.4 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 41 in Arusha
87 reviews
2.8 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#5 of 41 in Arusha
60 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#6 of 41 in Arusha
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
420 reviews
2.6 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
417 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nyumbani Hostel Arusha
Nyumbani Hostel Arusha
#6 of 160 in Arusha
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ujamaa Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ujamaa Hostel

Property: Ujamaa Hostel
Address: Njiro Block A, Plot 24, Arusha 1661, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 160 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ujamaa Hostel is for volunteers and travellers and is located in Arusha, Tanzania. We provide fun, safe, affordable accommodation where you can meet like-minded people, check out the Tanzanian culture and spend time volunteering in the local community if you want to. We welcome short-term visitors and travellers to the hostel for 1 night or more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Ujamaa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ujamaa Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing