We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Ujamaa Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ujamaa Hostel
Ranked #18 of 170 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hostel at the beginning and end of our five day safari. We predominantly chose this location because we were trying to save some money and the reviews seemed pretty good. Its not really a couples oriented environment (so keep that in mind) but we didn't mind at all. Everyone that was there was super friendly and we really enjoyed ourselves. Plus it includes food and laundry. The "mamas" that did the cooking were as fantastic as their food. Internet was also very cheap. I would recommend.
**One thing - we were the only one there not staying long term to do some volunteer work. Everyone was really surprised that we were only staying one night at a time. This didn't affect our stay but I mention it because I think it helps describe the type of place it is.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    16
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
11
55
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Ujamaa Hostel is very welcoming, whether you're there to volunteer or just traveling. It is well worth the price, which includes breakfast and dinner, as well as laundry. There is a nice shopping complex which is a short walk away. Town is a quick dala dala ride away, and the location feels very safe. Highly recommended, especially for younger travelers and people who are interested in volunteering.

Room Tip: Dorms are spacious; nice bunk beds with mosquito nets, closets and drawers to lock valuables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed in Ujamaa when I went to Arusha for work. It is without a doubt the best hostel I ever stayed. The rooms were clean, the compound felt safe, the food is amazing and the staff is very helpful. Thanks to the friendly atmosphere it felt like staying over at a friends' house. After staying there for nine days I was sad to leave.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

It was a wonderful place to stay. Very clean. It was in a very safe neighborhood. I would surely love to stay in the hostel when I go back.

Also everyone were very friendly. The best thing I loved about the place was turtles roaming around the backyard :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I stayed at Ujamaa on my first ever adventure in Africa back in 2008. I was lucky enough to be one of the first guests there and have only fantastic things to say about it! the accommodation was clean, comfortable, safe and homely. the food was fabulous and tasty, even catering to vegetarian guests and all the staff incredibly lovely and friendly! As for the volunteering experience with a local orphanage, this was life-changing and just seeing the smiles on those children's faces was truly amazing! I will forever have Ujamaa and the children in my heart and cannot recommend the place enough!! It's really a must for anyone wishing to have an authentic and rewarding experience in Tanzania! So what are you waiting for??? Book your trip NOW!!! :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NattyS23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This was my first visit to Africa and the accommodations we had prior to this stay were a bit tough to deal with. No running water, dirty facilities, etc. But coming here was awesome!! An incredible value and the facilities are so tidy and well kept. They serve breakfast and dinner, which is always delicious, and they have laundry and partnerships with several orphanages and the like around the area so you know that staying here helps the community. Apart from that, Gasper, the owner, is one of the nicest guys you could ever meet! He knows all the fun places to go and is a character! Everyone at the hostel is so warm and welcoming. I definitely recommend this place!! Leaving was the hardest thing to do! I'd grown so attached. I still keep in contact. They definitely made my experience so much better!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farabghani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

If you are looking into volunteering in Africa, more specifically in Arusha, I would highly recommend Ujaama! I was there for about a month. The price you pay is fair for what you get. You get two meals a day (which btw are DELICIOUS) and very fulling, there is always plenty of food for everyone, and that even cook for #vegetarian people, they try their best to please everyone. They also clean your room, make your beds, and of you laundry!? Seriously this is huge when traveling, you get so spoiled! There is hot water and power, yes it is Africa and the power might go out every now and then, but there is a generator (for the basics!) The atmosphere is nice calm and very friendly, I left with many new amazing friendships! And on top of everything it offers you a variety of "volunteering programs" for you to choose from! You get to choose where you want to go everyday! Plus there always something happening in Arusha, you get to work hard and play hard (if you want!) there are nice places to go out to and enjoy a good dance, have a beer and relax with great company!

Room Tip: If you are a couple traveling, there is at the moment only one double room, maybe you can ask for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnaGomezO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
3.4 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#8 of 42 in Arusha
94 reviews
2.6 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
433 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Arusha Coffee Lodge
#1 of 170 in Arusha
741 reviews
1.7 mi away
White House of Tanzania
White House of Tanzania
#1 of 121 in Arusha
92 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ujamaa Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ujamaa Hostel

Property: Ujamaa Hostel
Address: Njiro Block A, Plot 24, Arusha 1661, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 170 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ujamaa Hostel is for volunteers and travellers and is located in Arusha, Tanzania. We provide fun, safe, affordable accommodation where you can meet like-minded people, check out the Tanzanian culture and spend time volunteering in the local community if you want to. We welcome short-term visitors and travellers to the hostel for 1 night or more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Ujamaa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ujamaa Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing