We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels Like Staying in Someone Else's Home”
Review of Ujamaa Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ujamaa Hostel
Ranked #19 of 176 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A good place to stay for a jumping off point to Serengeti. The hostel includes a decent breakfast and dinner in the room cost. Free wifi, some tortoises and a dog roam around the lawn. The house itself is separated into guest and non guest parts(such as the living room) which makes it feel like you are renting a room from someone instead of the usual hostel atmosphere. A little far to walk anywhere so you will have to rely on local transport or taxis to get to town. Not bad, just meh.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank InternationalNomad77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Ujamaa Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

When I arrived at Ujamaa late at night and exhausted, I thought it would be far from the City and planned to leave after my first night. A good nights sleep later, sitting at the communal breakfast table, I immediately changed my opinion. We had pancakes that day (it differs every morning) and people offered to take me to the city and show me around. I had never been on a daladala before, but its quick and easy, so don't let the location stop you from going to Ujamaa hostel. It's a 5 minute walk to the complex (Supermarket, restaurants, shops, cinema) and everything you can't find there, Gasper will take care of.
The beds are very comfortable with good mosquito-nets. The hostel offers breakfast and dinner as well as laundry-service (all included), they have a book exchange as well as about a hundred DVDs, a friendly dog and three tourtoises.
Thank you, Gasper and everybody!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jess P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hostel at the beginning and end of our five day safari. We predominantly chose this location because we were trying to save some money and the reviews seemed pretty good. Its not really a couples oriented environment (so keep that in mind) but we didn't mind at all. Everyone that was there was super friendly and we really enjoyed ourselves. Plus it includes food and laundry. The "mamas" that did the cooking were as fantastic as their food. Internet was also very cheap. I would recommend.
**One thing - we were the only one there not staying long term to do some volunteer work. Everyone was really surprised that we were only staying one night at a time. This didn't affect our stay but I mention it because I think it helps describe the type of place it is.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Ujamaa Hostel is very welcoming, whether you're there to volunteer or just traveling. It is well worth the price, which includes breakfast and dinner, as well as laundry. There is a nice shopping complex which is a short walk away. Town is a quick dala dala ride away, and the location feels very safe. Highly recommended, especially for younger travelers and people who are interested in volunteering.

Room Tip: Dorms are spacious; nice bunk beds with mosquito nets, closets and drawers to lock valuables.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed in Ujamaa when I went to Arusha for work. It is without a doubt the best hostel I ever stayed. The rooms were clean, the compound felt safe, the food is amazing and the staff is very helpful. Thanks to the friendly atmosphere it felt like staying over at a friends' house. After staying there for nine days I was sad to leave.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

It was a wonderful place to stay. Very clean. It was in a very safe neighborhood. I would surely love to stay in the hostel when I go back.

Also everyone were very friendly. The best thing I loved about the place was turtles roaming around the backyard :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I stayed at Ujamaa on my first ever adventure in Africa back in 2008. I was lucky enough to be one of the first guests there and have only fantastic things to say about it! the accommodation was clean, comfortable, safe and homely. the food was fabulous and tasty, even catering to vegetarian guests and all the staff incredibly lovely and friendly! As for the volunteering experience with a local orphanage, this was life-changing and just seeing the smiles on those children's faces was truly amazing! I will forever have Ujamaa and the children in my heart and cannot recommend the place enough!! It's really a must for anyone wishing to have an authentic and rewarding experience in Tanzania! So what are you waiting for??? Book your trip NOW!!! :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NattyS23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
2.6 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
451 reviews
2.8 mi away
Meru House Inn
Meru House Inn
#16 of 43 in Arusha
42 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 43 in Arusha
137 reviews
4.7 mi away
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Arusha Coffee Lodge
#1 of 176 in Arusha
757 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Vijiji Center Lodge & Safari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ujamaa Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ujamaa Hostel

Address: Njiro Block A, Plot 24, Arusha 1661, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 176 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Price Range: £31 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ujamaa Hostel is for volunteers and travellers and is located in Arusha, Tanzania. We provide fun, safe, affordable accommodation where you can meet like-minded people, check out the Tanzanian culture and spend time volunteering in the local community if you want to. We welcome short-term visitors and travellers to the hostel for 1 night or more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Ujamaa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ujamaa Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing