We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting local hotel”
Review of SG Premium Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SG Premium Resort
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Arusha
London England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Interesting local hotel”
Reviewed 19 March 2011

I love the faded splendour of these post-colonial hotels with their large rooms, high ceilings and architectural embellishments. The bathroom had its eccentricities to be sure -- dolphin shaped towel holders and leaky plumbing -- but since this hotel is being rebuilt, due for completion June, I imagine the owners are slow to fix anything they can get away with in the meantime. The hotel and rooms were spotlessly clean and the service was more than impeccable -- in fact I was fair tripping over staff in their neat uniforms. Food varied from inedible (generally, European a la carte and the room service on the first night) to excellent -- breakfasts and buffets & I recommend the African food -- the chef was even willing to cook to order: delicious bean stew with chapattis & rice. The best thing about the hotel is the polished wood and the remarkable collection of Tanzanian blackwood sculptures. Can't comment on the value as I didn't pay -- was there for work -- but something will be lost if old rooms are torn down rather than renovated.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GustafsonV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    31
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
11
22
6
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

I stayed in this hotel at either end of a hiking/safari trip with a group of friends; it was booked by our travel agent as part of an overall package.

The pros:
* It's secluded from the busy (overwhelming?) streets of Arusha
* Free bottled water in the rooms
* Buffet breakfast with choice of cereal, toast, eggs, fry-up
* Food Dinner was good - but took over an hour for the starters (soup) to arrive on both occasions
* Seated garden area is shaded and comfortable
* Beers are reasonably priced (3500 TSh)
* Kettle and fridge in the rooms
* Hot water for showers was readily available

The Cons:
* Rooms are really crappy. The decor is awful - there's nothing more depressing to me than a BROWN hotel room, gross!
The first room (Toppi) was really cramped, although the bathroom was huge. The storage space was tiny, which meant we were tripping over our luggage while trying to move around. The bathroom was huge (separate shower and bath), but the shower door didn't close properly (1" gap) which caused the floor to get flooded.

The second room I stayed in was Elephant, which was much more spacious. The bed's headboard/sidetable set wasn't attached to the bed, and kept clanking off the wall whenever I moved. The wardrobe door knobs were broken. There's a small terrace off this room, but the wall isn't finished and you get the impression you're sitting out on a building site. The bathroom in this room is really small, no extractor fan or heater which gives the place a damp stink. Again, the door on the shower unit didn't close properly (and the knobs were broken off).

Neither room had a safe for valuables. There was also no mosquito net, despite the room having quite a few mozzies. There was also no shampoo provided, small thing, I know, but after a week on the mountains, I really wanted to wash my hair! Generally, the rooms were shabby, with lots of small things broken. A lick of paint and a tool box would work wonders.

* Staff were pretty attentive, although it took forever for the dinner to get served. We were over an hour waiting for soup to arrive - surely it's just a matter of scooping out whatever's in the pot! I was fit to eat the table by the time it arrived - I would have preferred that the staff had let us know we needed to order an hour ahead of time (as happened in other hotels I stayed in in Tanzania).

* The TV in the dining room was constantly blaring football matches that no-one was watching. Recommend shutting it off.

Overall, this hotel is dingy and appears to be poorly maintained (despite the courtyard building work that was going on - would prefer to see this effort direct to the bedrooms!). It's located in a nice site, with a lovely outdoor area, but it really needed to be renovated to be considered value for money and to the standard I expect for international safari packages.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueensGael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Where do I start?!
The hotel was booked for me, and I agreed due to the reviews here...
The hotel is very old, there was no generator at nights so all night is pitch black... There is no AC on the rooms, only fan, which works only if there is enough power to the hotel..
The breakfast is fair, in the evening 50% of the menu is not in stock...
The rooms stincks from anti-mosquito spray, and still there are a few..
There was a problem in my room with the mixi g of the water cold and hot (when there was hot water). No one fixed it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hadassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arusha hotels

dar es salaam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

my initial reaction was that this place was kitschly furnished and i wasn't too impressed with the stuffed animal trophies but the service was excellent, the place was v clean, and the food was v good too, and it came very quickly. and a bonus it has free wireless internet (or with a cable) and satellite tv! would definitely recommend it to others

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yetihunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

This place is kind of far from central Arusha action--a 10000 TZS taxi ride away. On the google satellite photo, look for the big T intersection to the northwest along the Nairobi Rd. The BP Gas Station next door has a really good mini market to get snacks and drinks. Weekend nights can get very loud with the Triple A club next door. Room service food is the same price as the restaurant, which is quite excellent and seems to be provided in enormous quantities. We would have done just fine by ordering a single dinner to our room and splitting the plate. The kitchen puts exemplary efforts into food preperation and service. We were kind of sick and ordered just a plate of rice one night. It was garnished professionally. Plain white rice has never tasted so outstanding for some reason.
Most rooms like Gazelle, Leopard & Zebra are on the first floor and uselessly tiny. The Elephant Room on the second floor, however, is excellent for cleaning up after a Kilimanjaro climb. With the expansive outdoor deck with porch overhang, all your gear can air out. If it's raining, there's still plenty of room under that porch overhang. The Elephant room itself is plenty huge with coffee table, couch and cozy chair. The staff is outstanding and friendly. If you can catch them in the morning when they're washing the driveway and grounds, they'll even hose down your gear for you.
Internet connection in the main lobby is pretty good. It gets bogs down really slow very easily though.

  • Liked — Elephant room is big and nice with excellent porch for airing out climbing gear. Food and staff are great.
  • Disliked — Some rooms look like prison cells lacking drapes. Next door club is noisy on weekends. A bit far from town.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DarthAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster Groves, Missouri
Level Contributor
142 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2008

Wow. What a great place to rest before or after your safari.

Nice setting in a gated compound.

Our rooms were spacious, clean and air conditioned. We had bi-level rooms with a bed on the lower level and additional beds upstairs. Spacious bathroom with separate bathtub and shower. Clean modern amenities and superb service from the staff!

Restaurant personnel were attentive and professional. Food was good.

Lobby area attractive with a separate unit for those who wish to use internet. Also able to connect to internet with laptop in rooms via cable (not wireless).

Our daughter left a stuffed animal here before safari and when we returned 11 days later, they had saved it and, much to her joy, retrieved it from housekeeping!

Stay here when in Arusha!

  • Liked — Attentive, Professional Staff
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Tuxmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
2.0 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
550 reviews
2.0 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
909 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#5 of 41 in Arusha
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 41 in Arusha
60 reviews
6.9 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 41 in Arusha
133 reviews
13.1 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SG Premium Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SG Premium Resort

Property: SG Premium Resort
Address: P.O. Box 15824, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SG Premium Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your SG Premium Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing