We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SG Premium Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
SG Premium Resort
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Arusha
Leon, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Definitely worth it. The hotel is not too far away from city centre. A taxi was about 5000 shillings. Big rooms, big bathrooms, good food in the restaurant. The staff was really excellent. It was a pleasure.
Great hotel, great staff...¡encantadores!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartaFVCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    31
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
11
22
6
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nairobi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Stayed there with my family over Christmas and the place is just lovely...classy clean rooms that have been done magnificently, friendly staff, good food. The hotel has just been recently refurbished and construction part of the construction is still ongoing but it's still very lovely. But they need to include kids friendly channels in the TV programming.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanjiku k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

the hotel has been rennovated, the rooms are amaizing, there is internet in the room, safes for valuables the service is great. Just alot has been done. I stayed there around late June this year and even the noice from the neighbouring club has been taken care of.
the place is just Wow. Infact i think it is among the best hotels in Arusha

Room Tip: the rooms in the new building are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

this lovely spot was the perfect setting for a group of 19 to sleep shower and have breakfast in between a work crew project with Young Life and the Kili climb- Clean and comfy beds and great showers and tub- It was above african standard I had prepared myself for- no expectations allowed me to to totally pleased-staff helpful and kind- power issued some at night but TIA- this is africa

Room Tip: the hotel is being totally remodeled so ask for new room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ladybirdlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

I've stayed at the SG Resort the last night of my round trip before I was lead to the airport. Good hotel for an acceptable price. I had dinner at the restaurant, fair prices and good assortment. The rooms ( tv, climate control) are clean even the furniture is a bit older. For one night absolute okay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepdivepit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed here for a couple of days while on honeymoon, it was a shambles. The rooms were OK but the showers were something else altogether. In one room the door didnt close properly and in the other room there was no door at all which meant that all the water would flow out of the shower into the room.
All the bathroom fittings seemed very old or second hand. They were either broken, scratched or rusted.
We were then moved to a third room and there was cooker switch- IN THE BATHROOM. Talk of health and safety lapses...I mean HONESTLY.
Then there was the TV which was always blaring in the dining room. When I asked then to turn it down the manager had the audacity to try and give me the evils. Not only was I in the right, I was the customer!!!!
On the positive they had good food and the service was also goofd. Wouldnt go back there again though.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyhenagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arusha hotels

London England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

I love the faded splendour of these post-colonial hotels with their large rooms, high ceilings and architectural embellishments. The bathroom had its eccentricities to be sure -- dolphin shaped towel holders and leaky plumbing -- but since this hotel is being rebuilt, due for completion June, I imagine the owners are slow to fix anything they can get away with in the meantime. The hotel and rooms were spotlessly clean and the service was more than impeccable -- in fact I was fair tripping over staff in their neat uniforms. Food varied from inedible (generally, European a la carte and the room service on the first night) to excellent -- breakfasts and buffets & I recommend the African food -- the chef was even willing to cook to order: delicious bean stew with chapattis & rice. The best thing about the hotel is the polished wood and the remarkable collection of Tanzanian blackwood sculptures. Can't comment on the value as I didn't pay -- was there for work -- but something will be lost if old rooms are torn down rather than renovated.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GustafsonV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
1.9 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
5.2 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
2.0 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#6 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SG Premium Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SG Premium Resort

Property: SG Premium Resort
Address: P.O. Box 15824, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SG Premium Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your SG Premium Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing