We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rivertrees Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Garden Oasis”
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We decided to stay at Rivertrees during our honeymoon. We loved this comfortable, relaxed, garden oasis resort. The food, wine, service and ambience were excellent however we were a little surprised that it was so far away from Arusha airport (1 hour) and that our transfer fee turned out to be so much when we were initally told it would be a third less.

I wouldn't hesitate in returning if we had more than 1 nights stay & would sign up for both the cooking course & canoe trip.

Thank you especially to Good Luck who was very sweet and considerate, he was always so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fremontSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    138
    26
    10
    0
See reviews for
99
192
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

After climbing Mt. Meru, we spent 3 days in this exceptional place. It's the setting with the own vegetable garden, the very nice staff, the quietness, the large trees, the open kitchen area, the comfortable but not over luxury rooms which make this place special. The quality of sleep is great (though one can hear the road in the far distance). The food is very good, the selection of wines sufficient. Sitting in front of the rooms in the evening beneath on of the large trees and listening to the birds is an exceptional experience. The staff and management are very helpful and arrange daytrips on very short notice.
Only the coffee is poor but management promised to buy a proper machine soon.

Room Tip: use the standard room, they are just great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidHasselhofFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

My wife and I stayed at Rivertrees at the end of our Tanzania safari, we found the tranquility and beautiful setting a wonderfully reviving tonic. The accomodation was 'old Dutch style' single storey very characterful and exceedingly comfortable, all immaculately clean with every possible need catered for in our suite. The restaurant is wonderfull set with extensive views of the mature and beautiful gardens, the food was of a very high standard and service impeccable. From the moment we arrived we were pampered, the couple who manage the hotel personally greeted us and we were given their personal attention to ensure our stay was perfect.
We can recommend this beautiful place too anyone seeking top class service and comfortable accomodation amid peaceful seclusion.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SJA46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

We used this hotel at the beginning and the end of a 7 day Mt Kilimanjaro ascent via the Machame route ie. two nights. The hotel is well outside of Arusha and so not really suitable if you want to see the city sights or go out at night. However for R&R it is excellent with large well tended grounds with mature trees and a stream and it is set well away from the main road so no noise and you feel you are miles from anywhere. There is a nice airy dining area and bar, with very reasonable prices. Dinner is a fixed course menu but lighter menu options are available for lunch or anytime. The hotel is privately owned and service and attention reflects this. Staff are very friendy and helpful, but can be a bit shy. Accommodation is in separate thatched bungalows and has separate patio areas for relaxing and privacy. Both nights, we had tastefully furnished rooms with all usual facilities incl. plenty of hot water and firm comfortable beds and mosquito nets. Unable to think of anything that needed improving and reasonable room rate.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Rivertrees was our first stop when arriving to Arusha and the final two nights after our safari. On both visits, it felt like so very comfortable .... homey, cozy, serene, beautiful, relaxing. Service was fantastic. The gardens beautiful. Food - delicious! A perfect way to start and end our journey in northern Tanzania. Highly recommend an afternoon of relaxation beside the pool.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adlai_n_Ewie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham. NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2010

I visited here after a tiring flight to Tanzania and later after a safari. The inn is located next to a river and in spacious gardens that provide lots of opportunities for gentle walks and sightings of local wildlife. Prior to the safari I stayed in one of the cottages in the gardens and after the safari in one of the rooms in the main house. The rooms are furnished with a wonderful mixture of furniture from various periods. The vases of fresh flowers, colorful fabrics and mosquito netting add to the ambience. The staff members were very welcoming and accommodating. The meals were of excellent quality and variety. In short, a superb experience.

Rivertrees was my favorite of the inns where I stayed during my Tanazian trip. It is definitely on the list of places to be revisited.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RicMor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Rivertrees is an excellent, relaxing base before/after a safari or Kilimanjaro climb. The property is set on a coffee plantation with gorgeous, landscaped grounds -- perfect for wandering with cup of tea in hand. The cottages are charming and clean (with hot water), and the breakfast/lunch/dinner menus are fantastic. Plus, there's FREE wireless Internet for guests bringing a laptop -- a rarity in Tanzania! Note: The inn can arrange transportation for those eager to explore the local area or Arusha, which is about 35 minutes away.

Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AIReMOE2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
11.3 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
909 reviews
8.8 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
416 reviews
11.1 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
6.3 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 41 in Arusha
133 reviews
12.4 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 41 in Arusha
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivertrees Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivertrees Country Inn

Property: Rivertrees Country Inn
Address: Near USA-River Village, Arusha, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Arusha
#4 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once an old coffee estate, Rivertrees is now a charming country inn nestled in abundant foliage with the Usa River flowing by. Set in the foothills of Mt Meru, conveniently close to Kilimanjaro International Airport and a short drive to Arusha, its location proffers a wealth of natural wonders to explore. Comprising the original Farm House, an elegant River House, luxurious River Cottages and several beautifully appointed Garden Rooms, it also serves delicious garden-fresh cuisine in its stunningly set restaurant. The swimming pool and spa are tailored for relaxation, and friendly personalised service ensures a memorable stay, whether for a one-night stopover or much longer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rivertrees Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivertrees Country Hotel Arusha
Arusha Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing