We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rivertrees Country Inn outside Kilimanjaro, Tanzania”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rivertrees Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Rivertrees Country Inn outside Kilimanjaro, Tanzania”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Very nice rustic hotel 45 minutes drive from Kilimanjaro Airport. Ask for one of the cottages along the river. The sound of rushing water will lull you to sleep. Very nice staff. Wonderful pizzas baked in an outdoor domed oven. 10 acres of secure grounds and landscaping.
Only item to beware of, no hair dryers in the room. You can use one for $5.00 US. A little tacky based on the room cost. Also put all tips in the common tip box. That way everybody shares. Great place to stay overnight if departing on a flight from JRO. To far from Arusha if departing from there. A unique place to stopover.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rayh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    148
    29
    10
    0
See reviews for
113
197
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Guests commonly stay just one night coming from any distant place to have a night rest and leave to a safari, a beach or back home. It is perfect for this purpose. Good installations, friendly staff, good food, a beautiful place full of centennial trees, and a marvelous breakfast in the open air if you want. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FABKIRON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We arrived with 4 hours of delay at 1 AM local time. We had a very nice welcome. The place is wonderful, personnel is excellent, food is very good. The room was spacious and very clean. All amenities were in great conditions.
Thank you ALL!

Room Tip: It is somewhat isolated. If you don't have a car, not much else to do then enjoy the place. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zsebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The perfect place to spend the first (or last) night of a safari trip (or indded longer....). No excitement (definitely not 'the bush') but very relaxing with beautiful gardens. As with every place we've stayed on safaris to 6 different countries over 10 years, Pulse Africa (our superg travel agents) got this one just right!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank furslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We ended up with one more night here than we had originally planned due to plane schedules. I'm glad we did. It was a very relaxing way to ease into the new time zone and get our bearings. We could hear the Usa River right outside all night long. I wish there was a way to have the windows open to hear it better, but with mosquitoes, it wouldn't have been our smartest decision.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was huge and spacious. The shower had plenty of hot water. The property was clean and well maintained and felt secure.

Dinners were good. Not cheap but we only got one dinner included with our stay since we weren't sure what we'd feel like doing after a long plane flight. What we paid for dinner felt about right for a similar quality dinner at home.

The prices are high for rooms here. It seems okay until you hear that the quoted price is per person. If not for our booking agent, we would have chosen somewhere else. Ultimately, I'm glad we stayed here, but if I were doing this again, price might win out over beauty.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dagony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Rivertrees was the perfect place to start our Tanzania trip. After our long flight from the US, we were so happy to first rest up and adjust to the time difference at Rivertrees before heading to our safari in the Serengeti. We stayed at the River House which was an incredibly spacious and beautifully appointed lodge next to the river. It was very peaceful and secluded, yet at the same time the place has a great sense of community conveyed by the amazing staff. The staff were so friendly and attentive, always going out of their way to make sure we were very comfortable and taken care of. The food was terrific (it's so good that even locals come to the restaurant to eat). One of the highlights of our stay was when they prepared a special private dinner for us. They set a table out on a deck by the river so that we could dine by candlelight under the stars - truly magical! Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer, and they even packed us a meal to go when we had to leave for the airport early the next day.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank GetOutExplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We stayed in this lovely, relaxing setting for two nights, before our safari. The grounds were beautiful and well tended. The staff was courteous and attentive to our needs and the food was excellent. It was perfect to stay there after the long airplane flight...just to relax!!

Our room was quiet, large and nicely furnished. The bed, complete with mosquito netting, was very comfortable.

The hotel was about a 45 minute drive from Kilimanjaro airport.

Room Tip: We had a room with a central lobby adjacent to several rooms, that could be used as a gathering plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
11.3 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
959 reviews
11.1 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
571 reviews
8.8 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
6.3 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#9 of 42 in Arusha
137 reviews
12.4 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 42 in Arusha
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivertrees Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivertrees Country Inn

Property: Rivertrees Country Inn
Address: Near USA-River Village, Arusha, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Arusha
#4 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once an old coffee estate, Rivertrees is now a charming country inn nestled in abundant foliage with the Usa River flowing by. Set in the foothills of Mt Meru, conveniently close to Kilimanjaro International Airport and a short drive to Arusha, its location proffers a wealth of natural wonders to explore. Comprising the original Farm House, an elegant River House, luxurious River Cottages and several beautifully appointed Garden Rooms, it also serves delicious garden-fresh cuisine in its stunningly set restaurant. The swimming pool and spa are tailored for relaxation, and friendly personalised service ensures a memorable stay, whether for a one-night stopover or much longer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rivertrees Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivertrees Country Hotel Arusha
Arusha Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing