We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for one day but would not stay longer.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rivertrees Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Good place for one day but would not stay longer.”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We arrived at this inn late one evening after 20 hour flight from US. The check inn process took way too long but once we got to our room, we found it clean and comfortable. The bed has netting so insects were not a problem and the bathroom and shower were certainly adequate for a relaxing night and morning before heading out on safari. The inn is in a beautiful setting and the rooms and bathroom are kind of cool in a rustic way. There is just not much to do and the service is not superior so this is not a place I would stay for very long but it was a very good place to crash for one night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank world_citizen61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    145
    26
    10
    0
See reviews for
106
194
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Our room was so dark you could rarely see where everything was. We were never properly shown the facilities, such as they were. On the first day we had a power cut, just our lodge, and no hot water at all.

The food was very poor although the staff did try and be helpful.

By far the worst was the Saturday when they had some sort of market where the locals turned up to buy home made produce from the food stalls and use the guests swimming pool. This along with the bouncy castle and the blaring music was bad enough, but in the evening the owner celebrated her birthday by inviting 60 or so guests, and giving up any effort at looking after the paying guests. Dinner was leftovers from the lunchtime market and the disco went on at top volume until 1.00am. Our room hadn't been turned down and we had no fresh towels. The next morning the management had disappeared leaving one poor soul to fend off the criticism.

We were glad to leave.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markettraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivertreesGM, General Manager at Rivertrees Country Inn, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Markettraveller

Thank you for your candid commentary. We are continually striving to improve on standards and services at Rivertrees Country Inn as our aim is to always exceed our guest’s expectations and ensure a memorable stay in Tanzania. Obviously we fell well short of the mark on this occasion and for this we must truly apologise. We now realize that hosting the “River Fair” and Birthday Party was perhaps ill advised given that we had guests in-house. Prior to the events, we honestly did not anticipate that our guests would be inconvenienced and we now realise that hosting events of this nature are not compatible with the lodge at a time when there are guests in house. We will certainly ensure that there is not a re-occurrence of the same in the future.

Once again, I would like to say that we appreciate your feedback and trust that you will be able to visit us and Tanzania again at some stage in the future to truly experience the tranquil and relaxing environment that Rivertrees normally affords.

Yours sincerely
Michelle Audie-Cowan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

On our stopover for one night from Kenya before heading out to Tarangire we were welcomed and shown properly to our room. After an unsuccessful attempt to log on to wifi (way too slow and kept logging out) which we were told was available in the restaurant area we went back to our room to find out we had no water. The staff did not attend to moving us until we pushed the restaurant staff. Second room...... Still no water. My husband had to get dressed and walk up to try and find someone. Seems they had just forgotten to turn on their end of the tap. No gratis drink or anything. Also they say they spray the rooms but there were at least a dozen live mozzies in the bathroom so it didn't work too well. Went for a walk along the river which was nice if you can avoid the angry monkeys throwing seeds at you from the treetops and all the mozzies. Pizza was really nice. Breakfast needed more than one cook during the busy time. Great granola. I'm guessing this is one of the better places in the area as it seemed to be a one nighter for everyone heading off on safari after arriving from Kilimanjaro airport. It was just ok. Don't expect 5 stars.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights while going from one safari to another. Nice staff good but not great food (I'd go for the pizza's). The room is a little bit bare but overall nice, safe and clean. Good place to relax before or after a safari. Grounds are very nice but not a whole lot to do around here mainly a good stopover spot.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaK_travels7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

After flying from Australia we were very tired when we arrived for our 2 night stay on Oct 3rd&4th.
Our room was very clean, lots of hot water and a comfy bed.
Food was excellent, loved our oven cooked pizzas.
Staff were very friendly, however their understanding of english was not great (maybe it was our aussie accents ?).
We spent a day at Arusha National park which was excellent.
We would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidCarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

What a gorgeous place, but one that is going through some serious employee problems. We spent two nights and most of 3 days here trying to adjust to the time change before heading out to safaris. The grounds and the rooms are very nice, well maintained and clean. The staff, however, are very problematic. They were nice and polite and ... well, not into service. If you needed things like salt or butter or even utensils or coffee, you could ask 3 or 4 times and whatever it was that was needed, could be obtained by getting up and going to the kitchen and getting it yourself. Our last morning there, no one had bothered to clean off the tables. When it came time to leave, no one told us our ride was there or helped us out with our bags. The food and breads were very pretty, but flavorless. The pizzas that others had raved about prior to our visit were, likewise flavorless. Someone had recommended asking for a cabin by the river, which we did, but our requests were, thankfully, ignored. When we walked by the river there were tons of mosquitoes. I'm so glad our cabin was back from the river. So, in conclusion, of the 7 places we stayed in Tanzania, this was among the most beautiful, but the service left so much to desire. I hope their management figures out how to remedy this very serious problem. At any rate, I won't be coming back.

Room Tip: Avoid the cabins on the river - and don't believe the staff when they tell you they don't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NursefromPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivertreesGM, Manager at Rivertrees Country Inn, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Nurse from Pittsburgh
Thank you for your candid comments, we at Rivertrees always strive to exceed our guest expectations, however on this occasion we have fallen short of your service expectation levels and for this I must apologise. However, please note that various training programs have been put in place to address the issues that you have raised.
I really am sorry that you were troubled by mosquitoes on your river walk – we do aim to take care of our beautiful natural environment and thus we refrain from utilizing harmful chemicals along the river.
Our rooms however do have mosquito screens on all the windows, coupled with huge mosquito nets that elegantly drape our beds. As an added measure all our rooms have insect repellent for your personal use.
Aside from the service issues you experienced I trust you had a rewarding African experience during your time in Tanzania.
Happy future travels and should you return to Tanzania we would be happy to welcome you back!
Best regards
Michelle Audie-Cowan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed here after flying overnight from London to Kilimanjaro via Zurich. It is very peaceful, clean, comfortable and well appointed. The massages were excellent. The food was also very good. There is a local village nearby that makes for an interesting guided walk.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
11.3 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
942 reviews
11.1 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
560 reviews
8.8 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
6.3 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 42 in Arusha
135 reviews
12.4 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 42 in Arusha
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivertrees Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivertrees Country Inn

Property: Rivertrees Country Inn
Address: Near USA-River Village, Arusha, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Arusha
#4 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once an old coffee estate, Rivertrees is now a charming country inn nestled in abundant foliage with the Usa River flowing by. Set in the foothills of Mt Meru, conveniently close to Kilimanjaro International Airport and a short drive to Arusha, its location proffers a wealth of natural wonders to explore. Comprising the original Farm House, an elegant River House, luxurious River Cottages and several beautifully appointed Garden Rooms, it also serves delicious garden-fresh cuisine in its stunningly set restaurant. The swimming pool and spa are tailored for relaxation, and friendly personalised service ensures a memorable stay, whether for a one-night stopover or much longer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rivertrees Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivertrees Country Hotel Arusha
Arusha Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing