We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value in Arusha”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rivertrees Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Loved this place and would have stayed longer if our intention wasn't to move on into the serengeti. It's perfect if your doing just a day long safari in either Arusha NP, Tangire or Lake manyara and don't want to move around for your accomodations. The grounds were beautiful and we loved watching the playful Vervet monkeys, who were still shy enough to stay away from the dining areas. The rooms were very nice with comfortable beds. They have a pool, but I didn't try it. The food was very tasty too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Koalatastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed here for just one night before safari in November 2013 and loved it. The rooms are simply, yet beautifully decorated with one of the most comfortable beds I've slept on while traveling. The bathroom is modern and spacious with a great, long cement tub. Dinner was very tasty, breakfast offered a broad, filling variety with great omelettes. The lounge area is rustic, while cushy and comfortable and a cold drink is never far away. The service was responsive and very friendly. Rivertrees is in between the airport and the busier center of Arusha so if you want to shop and eat in Arusha, it's a ways away and taxis are expensive. However, if you want stay put and relax, sleep well, and be in a quiet, lush setting with good food, Rivertrees is the place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JBNYC2DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights prior to starting an eight day safari to the Serengeti. Tucked away off the main road to Arusha, we were in a secluded little paradise. Our room was part of a triplex building with three adjoining rooms. It was huge, with a large bed, enormous bathroom, and plenty of space to spread out. I just wish there had been two chairs comfortable for lounging. Our room was not far from the main dining and lounge area. Each evening the turndown staff sprayed our room for mosquitos and spread the mosquito netting around our bed. Neither of us was bit by mosquitos at night. The first time one of us took a shower, the drain didn't work well and we had water everywhere, but when we told the staff, the manager was there on the spot taking care of it. The shower drain worked perfectly after that.
We could eat outside in the shade of some trees or under the enormous thatched roof. Each evening while we were there, they had a fire in a pit outside. The smoke helped chase the mosquitos away. The food was good, very fresh and had good flavor. Breakfasts were buffet style and they were more than adequate. I won't say the breads did anything for me, but of course, that didn't stop me from eating them. We each had a pizza for lunch one day and learned that sharing would have been a better idea. They were good pizzas, not great, but certainly more that I was expecting so far away.
I'd definitely recommend this resort to anyone going on safari as a perfect place to relax after a long journey.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelerewl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed in River Trees before and after going to Serengeti. Both stays were pleasant. We enjoyed the "Colonial" feel of the place particularly the beautiful gardens and huge trees. Accommodation was fine with individual chalets giving a feeling of isolation and privacy in the forest. Brilliant kitchen facility although the quality of the food could have been better. A nice touch to have an "outside" pizza oven and breakfast cooking area. Visible management and friendly staff added to an all-round pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeSnoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This was a good rest stop after a long flight. It took about thirty minutes to get there from the Kilimanjaro airport. The grounds were beautiful and my husband and I ran loops around the trails in the morning to get our legs moving before going on a safari. (about 3/4 mile per loop). The staff was friendly and the breakfast was very good. The rooms (individual huts) were nice, however, the shower is not one that you step down in and the slow drain caused our room to flood. Perhaps it was just our room?

On our return, we stayed at a place called Ngare Sero (only 5 mins away, but off the main road) and I much prefer this place over Rivertrees. I am not sure the price differential since it was booked through our tour operator. Anyway, Rivertrees is still a great option.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anonymous8182014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed in Rivertrees for 2 nights before we embarked on our 2 week Safari. The staff were very helpful and conscientious. The food was good - it was a nice touch to have fresh wood fired pizzas with the outside pizza oven. The rooms were nice - could do with a face lift shortly but everything worked and the rooms were clean. The setting was lovely, lots of green trees, a beautiful river running through the grounds and you could hear lots of birds in the mornings. It was great to sit by the wood fire of an evening after dinner. You had a very nice feeling of being in the middle of a forest, but while still having good food, good drinks and great staff around you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valipali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Sorry to say but since the last time we were here it all seemed rather run down. The food in the restaurant was the worst I have tasted in a long time. Actually really tasteless! The staff are one of the nicest things left, the rooms a but tired although we did appreciate the roses and rose petals. Don't think that we will be coming back any time soon. It is cold and dark and nobody could be bothered to light the fire. The worst thing was the food...even the bread was tasteless, how hard is it to make good bread!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Boomjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
11.3 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
1,034 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
11.1 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
464 reviews
6.3 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#10 of 42 in Arusha
138 reviews
12.4 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 42 in Arusha
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivertrees Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivertrees Country Inn

Address: Near USA-River Village, Arusha, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Arusha
#4 Business Hotel in Arusha
#4 Best Value Hotel in Arusha
Price Range: £118 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once an old coffee estate, Rivertrees is now a charming country inn nestled in abundant foliage with the Usa River flowing by. Set in the foothills of Mt Meru, conveniently close to Kilimanjaro International Airport and a short drive to Arusha, its location proffers a wealth of natural wonders to explore. Comprising the original Farm House, an elegant River House, luxurious River Cottages and several beautifully appointed Garden Rooms, it also serves delicious garden-fresh cuisine in its stunningly set restaurant. The swimming pool and spa are tailored for relaxation, and friendly personalised service ensures a memorable stay, whether for a one-night stopover or much longer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rivertrees Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivertrees Country Hotel Arusha
Arusha Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing