We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a little short of perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arusha Safari Lodge
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just a little short of perfect”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We came here in early June after a 7 day Kili trip. Two of our guests stayed, the others live locally. We had arranged a day room, massages/spa and dinner before going with a really helpful 'fill-in' manager. When we arrived the managers were back and everything got complicated, no more day room available (it was made available after all after some 'discussion'), the pool was freezing (good in combination with the sauna though!), the jacuzzi not working at all and the massage just ok. The setting and grounds are absolutely perfect, we really loved that part of it and the rooms really nice! Dinner was really good, but sadly that too turned into unpleasant discussions as (small) kids pay less (as usual) but then it was made loud and clear that they wouldn't get dessert and then they brought a plate of pasta (we didn't ask for a 'special meal') for two of them to share. Well, if pasta is so expensive then maybe splitting it onto two smaller plates in the kitchen would have been more elegant. When I wrote them with feedback afterwards they weren't prepared to listen, shame as I'd have gone back regularly both myself for the spa or dinner and with guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeccaArusha, Owner at Arusha Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Andrea

Thanks for your review of Arusha Safari Lodge, we appreciate the kind words about the gardens and rooms, thanks. We are very sorry however that you had some negative experiences here, this is never our intention for guests and as you can see from our other reviews we make a great deal of effort to make our guests feel happy and welcome.

In response to your issues mentioned, firstly with regards to the day room: the one member of the party that did not climb Kilimanjaro came to the lodge prior to your booking to pay a deposit, I asked him about the day room, he was not aware of this and once I explained the time that day rooms are available until, he decided it would not be worth paying for one due to the later time the guests would now be returning from Kilimanjaro (late afternoon), so he cancelled it. On arrival the group were unaware of this so after some discussions as you say, we made a day room available for showers free of charge for the group.

We appreciate the feedback about the spa, we had reserved it exclusively for the day for your group and had let all member of the group who were not staying here also use the facilities free of charge (only paying for massage). Unfortunately the morning you arrived we had an electrical problem with the Jacuzzi, but it was fixed the following day and is now working, we apologise for that. Also we are sorry that you were disappointed with the massage and would like to offer you a complimentary massage if you do decide to return here.

With regards to the meal, again when the member of the group came to the lodge prior to the booking, we explained that we can provide a free (not for them to pay less) meal for the younger children but this would not be the full set dinner menu, we pre agreed that they would have something more suitable for children. On the evening this caused some confusion between the waiter and the kitchen which led to only one meal being sent out for the young children, we apologise for this, it certainly was not our intention to make your children share their food.

I am also sorry that you feel that we did not listen to your feedback following your day here, again that was not our intention, in response to your email in which you detailed the same issues as you have in your review, we gave a very detailed and similar response to which we have given here hoping to resolve the issue .

In conclusion, we are disappointed that you did not fully enjoy your day here and we apologise for some mix ups in communication which led to the issues raised, although it should be noted that the 2 members of your group that had booked to stay here actually extended their stay as they liked it so much .

Kind regards
Rebecca and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    33
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
15
54
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
422 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Peak Planet booked this location for us, through the African Walking Company, for one night before our hike up Mt. Kilimanjaro and for one night after our hike. My husband and I arrived late in the evening the night before our hike started. We were greeted with delicious glasses of juice and were escorted to our adorable little bungalow. Our first room was cute, spacious, and clean. The beds and pillows were comfortable. The bathroom was clean. Our second room (the room we had after our hike) was far superior to the first. The lodge had been fully booked when we arrived the first night and my husband and I were put in a room with two double beds. It was easy enough to slide the two beds together. The lodge felt bad about giving us two double beds so they put us in what they described as the nicest room at the lodge. The nicer room was completely unnecessary, but absolutely appreciated. It was massive. It had a fire place, a sitting area, a bathtub, and double headed shower. We were so excited to walk into the gorgeous room after 7 days of hiking up Mt. Kilimanjaro.

The lodge is located on a beautiful piece of property. It feels isolated and has a nice big swimming pool and sitting area.

All of the meals we ate there were delicious. The dining area was beautiful. The staff was professional, friendly and personable. We truly had a wonderful time and would recommend this lodge to others and would be happy to stay again if the opportunity were to present itself.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenore R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The lodge is set outside of the city, so not convenient if you do not have a car or a driver, but well worth the trip! You enter down a long dirt drive into a beautiful setting with several cottages. We stayed in cottage #2 and the setting was perfect. We were close to dining and pool. We had a king size bed, a separate sitting room with a natural fire place, large shower room with two shower heads and lots of hot water and a separate toilet room. We also had a large terrace for sitting and enjoying coffee in the morning. All of the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to accommodate everything we requested. A special note of thanks to Alex, the owner/manager. Alex was exceptional and even opened for dining an hour early on our last day to ensure we had a hot breakfast before we left.

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be very nice, but we stayed in cottage #2. I believe this is their largest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martinj911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

After my stay in Lake Natron Tented Camp and Tindiga Tented Camp, I headed back to Arusha. Arusha Safari Lodge is a gorgeous place to stay when in Arusha. The rooms are set in this tropical garden around quite a big swimming pool. The environment of the lodge is very clean, and the gardens are really beautiful. You get to see plenty of birds all around. The pool is clean and well set for a good sun bask (ask for some fresh bites during sunset!). The staffs are friendly, quick with the delivery of orders.
I stayed here for three days, just relaxing and walking around and it was lovely. The owners Alex and Becca were very helpful and friendly, and the food was out of this world. Alex makes everything himself, with fresh ingredients and I must say: this guy knows how to cook! If I ever visit Arusha again, I will for sure return here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Peak Planet booked this location for us, through the African Walking Company, as our stay prior to our Mt. Kilimanjaro trek. All of the members of our group stayed for different amounts of time, depending on arrivals, but my wife and I stayed 2 nights prior to the hike. After a very bumpy and just a little un-nerving (it was the middle of the evening) arrival, we were greeted by Rebecca, and eventually Alex, her husband. The meals were way beyond what we expected to get in Tanzania, the owners being European and Alex being a chef. The accommodations were also spacious--our only complications were that power is significantly less than reliable in Tanzania, and hot water in our particular bungalow was not sufficient for showers of any duration. The grounds and staff were amazing and scenic. We spent an afternoon in the library in the main building, and were quite content with the fire the staff made for us, and the great choices of wine.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank speargat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Maitland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2013

A group of 6 set to climb Mt Kilimanjaro, we arrived a day late down a dirt road to Arusha Safari lodge. Rebecca welcomed us. Her husband Alex is the Chef, that evening we had a meal which should satisfy the hardest food critic, one of our party was a former Head chef, who was unstinting in his praise for the meal. The staff were really nice warm with full African smiles.
The rooms were very clean and comfortable in little self contained bungalows set in a beautiful garden. On our return dirty and smelly after 9 days trekking, Rebecca again welcomed us despite our dishevelled appearance, we spent 2 more nights, each night fed to the same standard by Alex. The breakfasts were also excellent .
Rebecca arranged anything we needed, reliable taxi drivers, so we didn't have any problems.
Totally recommendable

Room Tip: All rooms were quiet we used 5 different rooms over 2 stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChasOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in July 2013 and were delighted with our choice. This place is excellent and is not only the best hotel we stayed in on our trip in Tanzania but one of the best I have ever stayed in. The location outside Arusha is beautiful, just at the foot of Mt Meru and with views to Kilimanjaro. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very spacious. The facilities are grounds are a delight whilst Rebecca/Alex and the rest of staff are extremely helpful. The food (some of which is grown in the own garden) is also some of the best we had in Tanzania. Alex used to be a head chef in a previous life so you can rest assured you're going to eat not just tasty food but also very healthy food which can prove very difficult in Tanzania. Of all the positive aspects of this hotel the most redeeming is Alex and Rebecca. They literally bend over backwards to help guests and it is many of the simple things they did that really left a great impression in our minds. For instance they allowed us to rearrange our booking free of charge at short notice as our flight from Dar was cancelled. Additionally, when we did arrive early the next morning they served us a delicious breakfast free of charge whilst they prepared our room for early check in. There many other small things that we really appreciated that they did not have to do, but which added to our overall experience. A great hotel with great management.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
4.3 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
942 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
560 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 42 in Arusha
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
1.4 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
428 reviews
5.5 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 42 in Arusha
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arusha Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arusha Safari Lodge

Property: Arusha Safari Lodge
Address: Old Moshi Rd, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arusha Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Arusha Safari Lodge, a grand private residence set in lush expansive grounds complete with an " Out of Africa" style gazebo summerhouse for afternoon tea and sun downers.Arusha Safari Lodge is a small-secluded luxury haven equipped to cater for discerning travelers and consists of 9 rooms in total, 7 luxurious and spacious guest cottages plus 2 spacious rooms in the main building. The lodge is trucked away on volcanic hills with spectacular views of Mt. Kilimanjaro and Mt. Meru, located only four kilometers out of Arusha.The lodge goes to great lengths to ensure all guests are personally taken care of. all cottages are privately set with views of the swimming pool and lush gardens and furnished with Zanzibar beds. Facilities include a tennis court, a swimming pool, a spa with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, providing pampering at its very best. Massage is available and especially appreciated by guests arriving back from climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Jovago.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Arusha Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing