We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arusha Safari Lodge
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Arusha Safari Lodge for a Kilimanjaro trip, and what a wonderful place. Rebecca and Alex have made this into a wonderful place that you would never expect to find at the end of a bumpy dirt road. Our cottage was beautiful, right down to the flower petals on the beds to greet us. Everything was clean and the bathroom was very well done. The food was wonderful, especially the four course dinners. Of note, my significant other proposed to me on the summit of Kili and when we returned Rebecca went above and beyond to make our first night in civilization as a new couple something very, very special. We will never forget such a romantic dinner and evening. Thank you to all the staff who were kind, generous with their time and did there best everyday to make this a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krista N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Turn left at Momma's Grocery, enter an unpaved but highly passable road, past a school and rose greenhouses - and eventually you make it to the blissfully tranquil Arusha Safari Lodge and a warm greeting from the delightful Rebecca and Alex. Stayed July 12-13 and would have stayed longer had I not planned the abrupt journey onward. You do feel a bit transformed to a lush movie-like setting, but the reality this is a warm, comfortable and accommodating resting spot whether post Kili climb or pre-safari preparation site, or just plain relaxing. The cottage style rooms are comfortably appointed and very well maintained. Each is unique and scattered around a large green with pool, bar and many trees. The food served throughout the day is excellent and no request is too big or small for the gracious innkeepers to help with. You won't regret choosing this wonderful place whatever the reason for your travels.

Room Tip: Internet is available in the common areas and central lodge, not in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rbwinston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Spent 3 wonderful days at Arusha Safari Lodge after a 10 day safari to celebrate our twenty fifth anniversary. Originally built in the thirties as a polo club, it really retains it's old world charm. Greeted by Richard, a gem, who took us on a brisk extensive hike through the village on day 2. Innkeepers Rebecca and Alex so warm and friendly and with great recommendations (Richard's hike, Shanga). The food... oh my. I live in San Francisco, world famous for dining options. The four course dinners we had at ASL ($30) rivaled any food I've eaten in my city. Delicately balanced flavors, creative combinations, every bite a delight!. Not sure if you can eat here if you're not staying here but if you are looking for a fantastic dining experience in Arusha it is worth the trip.
A great place to have a romantic time together. I understand it is a work in progress and HOPE I have the opportunity to return. So far the innkeepers have done a great job. We didn't have hot water one night (warm, sort of ok) and when I told Rebecca she apologized profusely, had it fixed, and let us pick a bottle of wine for dinner as compensation. Unexpected as the problem wasn't that bad, and really appreciated. The staff are all bright and kind, the hotel kitty a nice little addition. Really loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LisaDH98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here the night before and after our safari. We were welcomed warmly. Our first night Mt Kilimanjaro even popped its head out from behind the clouds for us.
The grounds are lovely and the rooms spacious and nicely decorated. The pool was lovely although cool when we were there, but good for a brisk swim after spending many days in a safari vehicle.
The food was wonderful and they had a good selection of wines, which can be hard to find in Tanzania.
There was an issue with the toilet , but we reported it to reception at 10 pm and the owner came and fixed it immediately!
Can recommend as a quiet retreat from the bundle of Arusha.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Highlnddncr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here in June 2014: Warm welcome with helpful staff, big spacious rooms, tasty food with decent variety, nice pool but it was too cold to swim, tranquil and green environment making it a good place to unwind. The only thing that needs an upgrade are the chairs in the rooms/verandah. Otherwise great option away from the hustle and bustle of the Arusha city centre

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ButterflyTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stumbled onto this gem in Arusha during a business trip as everything in town was sold out. It's a little way out of town but the short journey is most definitely worth it. Fantastic rooms, service and food. Great verandha to dine under the stars and excellent breakfast. Very friendly owners who were happy to help with other arrangements such as airport transfers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank safarized
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A great place for the final moment of luxury before climbing Kilimanjaro, and a great incentive to know this is what we were coming back to after 6 days of climbing with no facilities! Our group of 14 had the place to ourselves and marvelous dinners in the dining hall in the main house. Be prepared the electricity is intermittent and there are geckos in the cottages, but this is not an air conditioned, 5 star hotel rather it is a colonial property full of character providing a memorable setting for such an intrepid visit. Only a shame we couldn't have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLM17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
4.5 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
614 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#10 of 42 in Arusha
138 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
496 reviews
7.4 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
4.3 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arusha Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arusha Safari Lodge

Address: Old Moshi Rd, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range: £142 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arusha Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Arusha Safari Lodge, a grand private residence set in lush expansive grounds complete with an " Out of Africa" style gazebo summerhouse for afternoon tea and sun downers.Arusha Safari Lodge is a small-secluded luxury haven equipped to cater for discerning travelers and consists of 9 rooms in total, 7 luxurious and spacious guest cottages plus 2 spacious rooms in the main building. The lodge is trucked away on volcanic hills with spectacular views of Mt. Kilimanjaro and Mt. Meru, located only four kilometers out of Arusha.The lodge goes to great lengths to ensure all guests are personally taken care of. all cottages are privately set with views of the swimming pool and lush gardens and furnished with Zanzibar beds. Facilities include a tennis court, a swimming pool, a spa with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, providing pampering at its very best. Massage is available and especially appreciated by guests arriving back from climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Jovago.com, Expedia, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Arusha Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing