We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The African Tulip

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The African Tulip
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

We were very impressed with this hotel. We were upgraded to a suite for the 3 of us. We entered a large living room with entry way to 2 rooms - 1 with large king side bed and other with 2 twins, both with large bathrooms. It was nice that the hotel had travel size shampoo/conditioner/soap especially after our airline lost our luggage! We had a very nice buffet breakfast before departing on our safari. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. It was a nice place to start our adventure to have a de-briefing at by our safari company. Everything was very clean, and the decor was very nice. Our safari company had recommended that we stay here before our departure from Tanzania but we requested somewhere closer to the airport. We were not pleased at all with the hotel near the airport and wish we had booked another night at the African Tulip. It really isn't that far from the airport at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhuey85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    214
    20
    4
    0
See reviews for
197
312
46
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Level Contributor
64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed here at both ends of a safari trip as many people do and were very happy with the hotel. Comfortable, spacious room combined with friendly, helpful and efficient service. Everything went very smoothly. If there is a weak link it was the reception which was outshone by the friendliness elsewhere. We can completely recommend. If we return to Arusha, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tagesthemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

This hotel had some problems whilst we were staying, which may mean that my review doesn't reflect the general experience. The staff in general were polite and friendly, although one person at reception seemed abrupt in her dealings with us. We had no water in our room for several hours one evening and encountered a small waterfall in the stairwell on our way down to dinner. The manager did make sure to personally apologise for the inconvenience of our room's water shortage. The dinner menu was limited, unless you partook of the buffet. The A/C was noisy but essential, since there were no mosquito nets to allow for opening windows. Our crockery (for coffee) still had coffee stains on it, presumably from the previous room occupants. On the whole, based on my experience not keen to recommend this one - maybe put it down to a bad day?

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Belinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharmaAnuj, General Manager at The African Tulip, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear Belina C

Thank you for sharing the experience . First of all, I sincerely apologize that we were unable to meet your expectations. We do, however, ensure you it was indeed a bad day.

Unfortunately, during your stay, there was a sudden plumbing technical failure where one of the Non Return gate valves of the pressurized water pump broke. Immediate action was taken by our maintenance crew to resolve this problem, however, this took more than two hours in the evening. During the repair process, there was some leakage for a few minutes from the overhead tank pump which resulted in some water spilling near the guest stairs. The water system had to be be turned off for some time so as to replace the valve/pump. Most clients were briefed about this- we are sorry if you were not.

We sincerely apologize for this, and assure you that since the hotel opened, this is the first time such a major technical failure occurred.

Regarding our limited selection Food menu- we are working on it and very soon a new menu with new exotic dishes will be out.

The Air conditioning in all rooms has been checked and we noticed that there is noise if the AC-fan is used at high speed. I wish to assure you that we do have mosquito netting in all our room windows, so windows can be opened.

We sincerely appologise for our Housekeeping shortfall & Reception attitude - corrective measures & briefing has been strictly done with the concerned staff.

I wish to thank you for comments as it helps us work on our shortfalls & improve on our services.

Sincerely,
Anuj Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

We stayed here our first day and night in Tanzania at the beginning of a 16 day safari organized by Roy's Safaris. It is a lovely hotel with spacious rooms, excellent service and a very good restaurant. The staff are helpful and friendly. There is no elevator so we were glad that we had excellent help carrying our luggage. There is a nice pool but it was too cool to swim when we visited.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor overlooking the pool...12A if I remember correctly. The room had great ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ccromerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copenhagen
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Friendly staff and spacious rooms. The hotel makes a perfect setting for the stopover before and after safari. It has a good restaurant and very friendly staff, that are very helpful. When going on safari, do go around Arusha and experience the friendly atmosphere. The African Tulip provides for the perfect setting.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sorensenCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

My husband and I booked a safari with Roy Safaris and stayed at the African Tulip for two days before starting our safari to rest up after our long flight from Alaska. We also stayed at the African Tulip after completing our two week safari. The African Tulip was the very best, most beautiful and comfortable hotel we have ever stayed in and we have traveled to many places around the world. The staff were always very welcoming and helpful even when we checked in at 1:00 am. The hotel is so beautifully decorated in a simple but elegant African theme and the beautiful decor is found in each room down to the last detail. The rooms are spacious and extremely comfortable with a large screen TV, internet, air conditioning, spacious bathrooms with large walk-in showers, jacuzzi and the softest towels and robes. The patio overlooked beautiful flowering trees and had comfortable reclining patio chairs. The dining room was spacious and beautifully decorated. The food was always excellent with a huge breakfast buffet including a variety of fresh fruits, homemade breads, breakfast meats and a chef preparing made to order omlets. The dinner menu included a variety of choices and was also excellent. I would encourage anyone staying at the African Tulip to check out the gift shop. There was a large selection of Tanzanian made items that were fairly priced. The African Tulip is in a quiet part of town so the hotel was very quiet and truely relaxing. We would highly recommend staying at the African Tulip whenever your travel plans take you to Arusha. Our safari with Roy Safaris was the trip of a lifetime and the African Tulip is the very best place to begin and end a safari.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlaskaTravelers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

I am currently on my 4th night of a 5 night stay at the African Tulip and feel fortunate to be in this lovely establishment. The hotel is fabulous and well-maintained, my room is comfortable and stylish, and the staff here are amazingly gracious and helpful. When I needed another night stay (at the last minute) following a short trip to Zanzibar, I was sad to learn that the hotel was full. The manager double-checked the bookings and, when unable to accommodate me for the following week, suggested two nearby hotels guaranteeing me the same price or less, and then went in person to the hotel I selected to make the booking for me, provide me with a printed confirmation for the room, and then checked again to ensure I was satisfied with this option. When, at breakfast (tasty!) following my first night, I mentioned that the bathtub drained slowly, this was fixed later that morning. As I needed a SIM card, the front desk staff offered to make a copy of my passport for me to bring to the kiosk (as this is required when purchasing a card), making my purchase much easier. The list goes on! These folks are wonderful! And with a lovely hotel, great amenities (window seat in room, bars, restaurant, pool, flat screen tv, in-room refrigerator, safe, etc.) and excellent location close to the clocktower but at enough of a distance to be relaxed, this is my new favorite in Arusha.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadologista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.9 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
3.2 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Arusha Hotel
The Arusha Hotel
#10 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The African Tulip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Tulip

Property: The African Tulip
Address: 44/1 Serengeti Road, Arusha 1517, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arusha
#4 Best Value Hotel in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The African Tulip 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African Tulip is Arusha's premier boutique hotel providing first-class western luxury with outstanding facilities, personalized service and warm hospitality in a convenient location. The 'Zanzibar lounge & bar' is an ideal meeting place; The Baobab restaurant serves an excellent range of cuisine; 'The Serengeti' Pool & Bar is a fantastic place to relax. Additional facilities include a business centre, conference room & gift shops. It truly is Chic. Unique. and Authentically African. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia and Jovago.com so you can book your The African Tulip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The African Tulip Hotel Arusha
African Tulip Arusha
African Tulip Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing