We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of The African Tulip

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The African Tulip
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed here on my last overnight before leaving Africa. Lovely African decore hotel with a very large room and big bathroom (tub and shower) and a/c. Management is constantly looking at the details with staff. Fountain water was turned lower in the dining room with an apology that it was too loud near my table. I called from my room for a wakeup time for the next morning, and a few moments later my phone rang, and it was the front desk asking if I would like a boxed breakfast as they just received my request for an early morning wakeup call and because the restaurant would not be open, would I like a breakfast box so I would not miss breakfast. Very, very thoughtful. Would not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: It has stairs only to upstairs rooms. If mobility a problem, should ask for first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wakeham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,009)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

619 - 625 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

It is a nice small, sort of a boutique hotel. The staff is very nice, and very well trained. The management go out of their way to assure your stay is pleasant. The rooms are nice and air conditioned. The hotel is very secure as well and gated.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShayN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Great little hotel. Not too many rooms. All the staff are well trained. We arrived late into our hotel due to a 19 hour plane delay in Ethipopia and got their at 600am. The staff was ready to great us and make sure they didn't bother early in the morning so we could get some needed sleep.

We went to Kilimanjaro and the hotel let us keep our extra bags in a locked storage area for free. We got back a week later and everything was how we left it.

Restaurant was quite good. The proprietor came by each evening during dinner to make sure everything was good and see if we needed anything.

Would stay again in an instance the next time I found myself in Arusha.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TyrelH_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here for a few nights before our safari and one night after. We were greeted with great service when we arrived. The hotel has a front gate and guards. We felt very safe. The buffet was really good and the staff was excellent. We hope to come back someday.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Brown0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night before Kilimanjaro hike and one night after the hike.
The rooms are light and airy. The second night of our stay, Anuj the Manager, kindly upgraded us, perhaps to celebrate my birthday or perhaps to celebrate our success of Kilimanjaro climb, to the best suite in the hotel. This went some way towards helping us relax after a really hard hike up the mountain.
All the staff are polite and friendly without behind intrusive.
No hesitation in recommending The African Tulip for a stay I'm Arusha. I regret not having more time to spend here to enjoy the great hospitality on offer.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank S-K_Woking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed there in October, on our way back from a Safari. Since we had missed our flight and didn't manage to stay there before the Safari, they upgraded us to a better room.
Everybody was more than polite and welcoming. The room was really nice and clean, and the service beyond our expectations, impeccable!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabitaRoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed as part of an aircrew, arriving in Kilimanjaro after a long night. A 40 minute minibus ride took us to this welcoming hotel in Arusha. Despite arriving late the manager had kept the breakfast laid out for the 12 of us, a welcome thought. The room was spacious, spotless and nicely decorated as the photos on here will show. Not overdone like some African hotels, but with a nice balance of comfort, practicality and a big bed.

Dinner in the evening was excellent, as was the service from the friendly, attentive waiting staff. The rest of the hotel looked equally inviting and I am just sorry that we did not have more time to spend there.

Overall, a really pleasant stay with a warm welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dontwanttoflybywire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
603 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
474 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 43 in Arusha
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 43 in Arusha
267 reviews
11.2 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The African Tulip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Tulip

Address: 4 Serengeti Road, Arusha 1517, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range: £172 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The African Tulip 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African Tulip is Arusha's premier boutique hotel providing first-class western luxury with outstanding facilities, personalized service and warm hospitality in a convenient location. The 'Zanzibar lounge & bar' is an ideal meeting place; The Baobab restaurant serves an excellent range of cuisine; 'The Serengeti' Pool & Bar is a fantastic place to relax. Additional facilities include a business centre, conference room & gift shops. It truly is Chic. Unique. and Authentically African. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The African Tulip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The African Tulip Hotel Arusha
African Tulip Arusha
African Tulip Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing