We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The African Tulip
Nearby Hotels
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$330
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$320
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,118)
Filter reviews
1,118 results
Traveller rating
829
262
22
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
829
262
22
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroy safarisbaobab restaurantanuj sharmawindow seatthe general managerboutique hotelno elevatorindian dishesbeautiful hotelpool barbaobab treethe hotel managerwould highly recommend this hoteltwo nightsspacious roomsafari tripbreakfast buffet
Filter
Updating list...
678 - 683 of 1,118 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We recently stayed at the African Tulip for our first night as we arrived in Tanzania for a safari and again for a day room as we left on the night flight. This is a charming hotel, and the staff is truly helpful. The dining room is open no matter how late you arrive. The rooms are comfortable and quiet. It makes an ideal transition at both ends of the trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jud H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here before and after our safari. We had a very positive experience, the staff was friendly, the room was spacious and clean, and the food was very good, especially the Indian fare. I was particualrly impressed with the service and attention from the managers, who periodically checked in on us at dinner, asking if everything was OK. My only criticism was that the wireless didn't work very well in my room both times we stayed there. It worked fine in the lobby and dining room though, so it was a minor inconvenience. If I ever travel to Arusha again, I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank consulardeude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed at The African Tulip for three nights, two before and one after an 11-day Northern Circuit safari with Roy Safaris. The hotel is lovely and welcoming. The rooms we had were large, comfortable and very beautifully decorated with local art. The hotel and restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful. We had breakfasts and dinners at the Baobab restaurant, and found the food delicious and varied. From our breakfast table we enjoyed seeing a variety of birds feasting on berries in the surrounding trees. The swimming pool is lovely and refreshing after a day in the bush.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolandphilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed here for one night before leaving on safari. We were pleased with all aspects of our stay. The rooms are large, well appointed, bright and clean. Staff were pleasant and friendly and attentive to our needs. All meals are buffet style and we thought the food was good. We were particularly pleased with the variety and quality of the breakfast buffet. Would definitely stay here again if we returned to Arusha.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights prior to our Kilimanjaro trek and one night afterwards. Great location. Large, spacious, comfortable room and the perfect place to return to for a long, hot shower after 7 nights of camping on the mountain. Breakfast and dinner buffets had plenty of choices for everyone. The service was incredibly attentive and accommodating. Special thanks to Mr. Sharma for arranging a birthday cake and champagne toast upon our return from the Kili climb. He went out of our way to make our stay special and I couldn't recommend it more highly for anyone staying in Arusha!

Room Tip: Rooms 17 and 18 on the 3rd floor near the front of the hotel were quiet and nice.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank to_there_and_back
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews