We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly staff”
Review of The African Tulip

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The African Tulip
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Very friendly staff who go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. Nice spacious rooms and the pool is very nice, especially if you have kids. Great hotel to start of your safari! Nice indian food.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (985)
There are newer reviews for The African Tulip
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

553 - 559 of 985 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had 3 nights in the African Tulip at the start and end of climbing Kilimanjaro.
The hotel is very well presented, elegant restaurant and bar, good sized air conditioned rooms, with a swimming pool and pool bar. The real strength of the place is the enthusiasm and helpfulness of the staff. We had numerous examples of the assistance the manager and his staff gave to us, from accommodating us with food and drinks when we arrived very late on the first day, to allowing us to keep out rooms late to check out, running breakfast late for us the day we came off the mountain, and even offering to walk us to a local restaurant when we were unsure of directions. The hotel breakfast and evening menu was good, and the business centre gave us wifi connection. The hotel was around 15 minutes walk to the centre of Arusha

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoyDivOvenGloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We recently stayed at the African Tulip for our first night as we arrived in Tanzania for a safari and again for a day room as we left on the night flight. This is a charming hotel, and the staff is truly helpful. The dining room is open no matter how late you arrive. The rooms are comfortable and quiet. It makes an ideal transition at both ends of the trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jud H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here before and after our safari. We had a very positive experience, the staff was friendly, the room was spacious and clean, and the food was very good, especially the Indian fare. I was particualrly impressed with the service and attention from the managers, who periodically checked in on us at dinner, asking if everything was OK. My only criticism was that the wireless didn't work very well in my room both times we stayed there. It worked fine in the lobby and dining room though, so it was a minor inconvenience. If I ever travel to Arusha again, I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank consulardeude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed at The African Tulip for three nights, two before and one after an 11-day Northern Circuit safari with Roy Safaris. The hotel is lovely and welcoming. The rooms we had were large, comfortable and very beautifully decorated with local art. The hotel and restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful. We had breakfasts and dinners at the Baobab restaurant, and found the food delicious and varied. From our breakfast table we enjoyed seeing a variety of birds feasting on berries in the surrounding trees. The swimming pool is lovely and refreshing after a day in the bush.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolandphilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed here for one night before leaving on safari. We were pleased with all aspects of our stay. The rooms are large, well appointed, bright and clean. Staff were pleasant and friendly and attentive to our needs. All meals are buffet style and we thought the food was good. We were particularly pleased with the variety and quality of the breakfast buffet. Would definitely stay here again if we returned to Arusha.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights prior to our Kilimanjaro trek and one night afterwards. Great location. Large, spacious, comfortable room and the perfect place to return to for a long, hot shower after 7 nights of camping on the mountain. Breakfast and dinner buffets had plenty of choices for everyone. The service was incredibly attentive and accommodating. Special thanks to Mr. Sharma for arranging a birthday cake and champagne toast upon our return from the Kili climb. He went out of our way to make our stay special and I couldn't recommend it more highly for anyone staying in Arusha!

Room Tip: Rooms 17 and 18 on the 3rd floor near the front of the hotel were quiet and nice.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank to_there_and_back
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 44 in Arusha
594 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 44 in Arusha
462 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 44 in Arusha
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 44 in Arusha
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 44 in Arusha
266 reviews
11.2 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The African Tulip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Tulip

Address: 4 Serengeti Road, Arusha 1517, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range: £169 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The African Tulip 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African Tulip is Arusha's premier boutique hotel providing first-class western luxury with outstanding facilities, personalized service and warm hospitality in a convenient location. The 'Zanzibar lounge & bar' is an ideal meeting place; The Baobab restaurant serves an excellent range of cuisine; 'The Serengeti' Pool & Bar is a fantastic place to relax. Additional facilities include a business centre, conference room & gift shops. It truly is Chic. Unique. and Authentically African. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The African Tulip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The African Tulip Hotel Arusha
African Tulip Arusha
African Tulip Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing