We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Begin and End a Safari”
Review of The African Tulip

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The African Tulip
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My brother and I stayed at The African Tulip for our layover day at the beginning and end of our 2 week safari in February. The hotel is lovely with a delicious full breakfast as well as wonderful Indian food for lunch and dinner. The staff was very helpful and flexible when we needed a late checkout on our last day. We would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone spending time in Arusha.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,058)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

608 - 614 of 1,058 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

We arrived at the African Tulip from the airport and needed to stay one night before starting our Kilimanjaro Trek. The staff was very welcoming and the room was comfortable with very hot water. We enjoyed a great dinner and breakfast. After our trek we stayed at the African Tulip again and were so surprised at the friendly return and congratulations at reaching the summit. We were so thankful for the hot shower and bed after our trek and were well-rested to start our safari the next day. I wish we could of had a longer stay, but hopefully we can return one day. - The Peppers

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The African Tulip is a great hotel to start and finish your safari trip. It has a very friendly team of employees, beautiful spaceous rooms and a nice swimming pool to chill out when you get back. Good food and wifi ($10/day per room). It is owned (and located next to) Roy Safaris and as a result you also get some nice discounts on your stays here making it very affordable as well.
Only bad point was our bed, which was quite noisy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandyK85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

I had a very wonderful stay at the hotel with my family during the easter holidays.

Me and my family were very impressed with the hotel services and the ground staff.

Keep up the the same team work.

Thanks

Ajay Sidpara & Family

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank ajaysid78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Quiet location yet close to the hustle and bustle of Arusha's city centre. Staff and, in particular, General Manager, were very attentive, ensuring our short stay was enjoyable. Rooms are spacious, decor is lovely and the pool and bar area provided welcome relief from the afternoon heat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The African Tulip was booked for us by our trip coordinator. Having no knowledge of it's amenities or facilities, we went in quite blind. As it turns out, we couldn't have booked a better hotel had we done any sort of research ourselves. It is a first class boutique hotel with outstanding service. After the long grueling plane trips from NYC to Amsterdam to Kilimanjaro, the African Tulip was a welcome sight. We arrived around 10 pm tired and haggard, but were greeted warmly with a glass of fresh fruit juice. The staff couldn't have been more pleasant and accommodating. They took our bags directly to our suite, which was right next to our friends and fellow travelers, then held the dining room staff for us while we freshened up. I must say, we felt terribly guilty for making the kitchen and waitstaff serve us dinner at almost midnight, but they seemed happy to do so and never made us feel as though they were "put out" or rushed.
The rooms themselves were just beautiful. The way the suite was set up was you entered through a doorway into a lounge area, then there were two separate doors each leading to individual rooms. They were spacious and furnished simply but comfortably. The bathrooms are extremely large and even the towels were thick and luxurious. We enjoyed a wonderfully restful nights sleep and were ready to begin our safari the next day.
I don't know what the cost of the rooms are because they were included in the total cost of the safari, but I would have paid just about any price for a room in this authentically african hotel.
The staff is friendly, professional and truly strive to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
I also checked out the prices in the gift shop knowing we would be returning for a day room before leaving back to the states. The prices, quality and selection were BETTER in most cases than I could have found at most of the vendors or tourist shops anywhere in the Serengeti.
My only complaint is that we were only there for one night. I wish we could have stayed longer....much longer!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patsjag28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed here 2 nights at the start of our safari. The room was very large for 3 of us and very nice. My nieces compared it to every other lodge and kept saying, "They're not like the Tulip." They did end up finding one tented camp they liked better, but the Tulip is warmly remembered by us all. The service was outstanding, the breakfast was good with plenty of choices, and the pool was a nice way to relax after touring Arusha National Park.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adventurer43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#6 of 45 in Arusha
632 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 45 in Arusha
510 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 45 in Arusha
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel
0.2 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#8 of 45 in Arusha
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The African Tulip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Tulip

Address: 4 Serengeti Road, Arusha 1517, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range: £165 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The African Tulip 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African Tulip is Arusha's premier boutique hotel providing first-class western luxury with outstanding facilities, personalized service and warm hospitality in a convenient location. The 'Zanzibar lounge & bar' is an ideal meeting place; The Baobab restaurant serves an excellent range of cuisine; 'The Serengeti' Pool & Bar is a fantastic place to relax. Additional facilities include a business centre, conference room & gift shops. It truly is Chic. Unique. and Authentically African. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The African Tulip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The African Tulip Hotel Arusha
African Tulip Arusha
African Tulip Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing