We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable and friendly place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The African Tulip

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The African Tulip
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and friendly place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Generous sized rooms, fantastic service and delicious food. The African Tulip is well located and is quiet. Very comfortable rooms, that are well serviced daily, sometimes several times a day! The pool, while small, is a good place to relax, and eating around the pool is great. The customer service is really friendly and knowledgeable. I loved it here, and would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inkychunks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    218
    20
    4
    0
See reviews for
199
315
48
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was a fantastic choice for a place to stay while in Arusha. We were there for 3 nights and it was well worth it. The decor is well done, the rooms tastefully furnished and staff are friendly and helpful. The major downside is the food.. We had made the booking on half board basis but upon having the dinner on our first night, we quickly changed our mind! The fish was rather bland, not adequately seasoned and no amount of lemon could rid it of the 'fish smell'. The steak was as tough and chewy as a donkey's tail so you can imagine.. The breakfast buffet can also do with some improvement..
The other downside was that the beds they have in the rooms are all twin beds pushed together to make a 'double bed'. This is rather uncomfortable and I am pretty sure they can simply get double beds/mattresses.
All in all, I would recommend it especially if they fire that chef they have!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VillaMachakos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharmaAnuj, General Manager at The African Tulip, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam

Thank you for sharing your feedback on this forum.

I really appreciate your comments on hotel décor and staff attitude And I sincerely apologize for the lapse of our service to you during your recent stay with us in April,2014.

Having investigated this with our Executive Chef, his team & Meat Suppliers;we have taken corrective measures to improve on the quality of food.

Type of Beds- we do have double rooms(with double mattresses - king size beds) but unfortunately our reception staff allocated you a twin bedded room (Which has 2 single beds).

Once again thank you for your feedback ... This will help us to improve on our services to our valued guests.

I would like to welcome you once again to our hotel with assurances ofimproved services and attention.

Best Regards

ANUJ SHARMA
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at African Tulip at the start and end of our Tanzanian Northern Circuit Safari, and what a welcome break it was. Staff are courteous and couldn't be more welcoming, greeting you with a warm towel and fresh juice upon arrival. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the facilities excellent, including a decent-size lounge/bar which is beautifully decorated in African style, has a great ambience if you want to relax, have a coffee, have a meeting, use wifi, outside of your room.

The restaurant is also very high standard, with a decent menu mixing Tanzanian traditional cuisine with international foods. It is called the Baobab Restaurant and has a large kind of sculpture of a baobab in the middle of the room - it sounds cheesy but it's actually really nicely done - and baobab authentic metal place mats etc.

Like the rest of the hotel, the rooms are beautifully decorated and well-appointed. I couldn't fault it. The TV has a few channels, Star Movies, CNN, Aljazeera etc, and you have to pay $10 for a 24-hour code for wifi, which can be used on as many devices as you like, throughout the hotel.

The hotel is in a good location, off the main drag so not noisy, but very close to Arusha town, so it's easy to get about. The hotel will organise anything extra for you, like taxis, tours etc., so they make life very easy.

Room Tip: As it was our honeymoon, we stayed in a suite, which was amazing - they left petals in the bath, flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Africanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

My brother and I stayed at The African Tulip for our layover day at the beginning and end of our 2 week safari in February. The hotel is lovely with a delicious full breakfast as well as wonderful Indian food for lunch and dinner. The staff was very helpful and flexible when we needed a late checkout on our last day. We would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone spending time in Arusha.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We arrived at the African Tulip from the airport and needed to stay one night before starting our Kilimanjaro Trek. The staff was very welcoming and the room was comfortable with very hot water. We enjoyed a great dinner and breakfast. After our trek we stayed at the African Tulip again and were so surprised at the friendly return and congratulations at reaching the summit. We were so thankful for the hot shower and bed after our trek and were well-rested to start our safari the next day. I wish we could of had a longer stay, but hopefully we can return one day. - The Peppers

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The African Tulip is a great hotel to start and finish your safari trip. It has a very friendly team of employees, beautiful spaceous rooms and a nice swimming pool to chill out when you get back. Good food and wifi ($10/day per room). It is owned (and located next to) Roy Safaris and as a result you also get some nice discounts on your stays here making it very affordable as well.
Only bad point was our bed, which was quite noisy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandyK85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar Es Salaam Region, Tanzania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

I had a very wonderful stay at the hotel with my family during the easter holidays.

Me and my family were very impressed with the hotel services and the ground staff.

Keep up the the same team work.

Thanks

Ajay Sidpara & Family

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ajaysid78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
3.2 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#6 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.1 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#7 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#8 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The African Tulip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Tulip

Property: The African Tulip
Address: 4 Serengeti Road, Arusha 1517, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The African Tulip 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African Tulip is Arusha's premier boutique hotel providing first-class western luxury with outstanding facilities, personalized service and warm hospitality in a convenient location. The 'Zanzibar lounge & bar' is an ideal meeting place; The Baobab restaurant serves an excellent range of cuisine; 'The Serengeti' Pool & Bar is a fantastic place to relax. Additional facilities include a business centre, conference room & gift shops. It truly is Chic. Unique. and Authentically African. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The African Tulip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The African Tulip Hotel Arusha
African Tulip Arusha
African Tulip Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing