We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest hotels in Arusha...at good value if you book with Roy Safaris Ltd.”
Review of The African Tulip

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The African Tulip
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at the African Tulip in May 2014 for one night following a one-week safari with Roy Safaris Ltd. The African Tulip shares the same owner as Roy Safaris Ltd., so we were able to add the room (and final airport transfer) to the safari payment. We were also given a good price (at $75pp/night) relative to other comparable hotels in the area, such as the Arusha Hotel, and the breakfast buffet was exceptional. While not as centrally located as the Arusha Hotel, the African Tulip is near several nice restaurants and only a 20-minute walk from the center of town (the Clocktower Roundabout). We were also given an excellent hand-drawn map of the major shopping markets in town by the manager, Anuj, which helped us enjoy a morning of shopping for gifts before our departure back to the US. Wi-fi access in the rooms costs $10/night, but there is a nice business center with several computers in the lobby with free internet access.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3mint27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,079)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

619 - 625 of 1,079 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

Business/Regular Have class discussions regularly on Saturdays and Sundays with my class mates before exams...what I would say is the service has not changed despite being a regular you would think they would assume since we are locals and regulars on the contrary the staff are very friendly always ..the Manager Anuj goes out of his way to ensure that the customer is satisfied. Keep it up Anuj and the whole African Tulip Team

Saida Joy Kessy
Arusha

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saida k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I spent several nights there, left for business in another country and returned to find everything exactly as I had requested.

The friendliness at hotel is exceptional and they soon know you by name. They brought a large chair from another room at my request and were always attentive to small requests.

The food was good but not exceptional. They could use a little more variety on the menu. There is no elevator which might be an issue for room.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank siberiavol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I have just returned from a conference in Arusha and spent 6 wonderful nights at the African Tulip. It more than lived up to expectations! It is an absolutely charming boutique hotel which captures the essence of the area. The staff are courteous and friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable. Nothing was too much for them. There were a number of us attending the same conference and we were welcomed back to the hotel at the end of every day with an aperitif and some nibbles on the house. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The breakfast comprised a wide ranging buffet which catered for all tastes - you were spoilt for choice. We also ate at the hotel a couple of evenings and the dinner buffet was delicious with a wide selection of local meat and vegetarian dishes.

We had the opportunity to compare the hotel with others in the area and I have to say, the African Tulip is the best by a long mile.

I must give a special mention to the General Manager, Anuj Sharma, who was absolutely charming and delightful. Keep up the good work!!

Ms Adenike Balogun

Room Tip: I had a single suite which was very spacious with an enormous bed that could sleep 4 and a bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdenikeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Generous sized rooms, fantastic service and delicious food. The African Tulip is well located and is quiet. Very comfortable rooms, that are well serviced daily, sometimes several times a day! The pool, while small, is a good place to relax, and eating around the pool is great. The customer service is really friendly and knowledgeable. I loved it here, and would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inkychunks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was a fantastic choice for a place to stay while in Arusha. We were there for 3 nights and it was well worth it. The decor is well done, the rooms tastefully furnished and staff are friendly and helpful. The major downside is the food.. We had made the booking on half board basis but upon having the dinner on our first night, we quickly changed our mind! The fish was rather bland, not adequately seasoned and no amount of lemon could rid it of the 'fish smell'. The steak was as tough and chewy as a donkey's tail so you can imagine.. The breakfast buffet can also do with some improvement..
The other downside was that the beds they have in the rooms are all twin beds pushed together to make a 'double bed'. This is rather uncomfortable and I am pretty sure they can simply get double beds/mattresses.
All in all, I would recommend it especially if they fire that chef they have!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VillaMachakos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharmaAnuj, General Manager at The African Tulip, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Sir/ Madam

Thank you for sharing your feedback on this forum.

I really appreciate your comments on hotel décor and staff attitude And I sincerely apologize for the lapse of our service to you during your recent stay with us in April,2014.

Having investigated this with our Executive Chef, his team & Meat Suppliers;we have taken corrective measures to improve on the quality of food.

Type of Beds- we do have double rooms(with double mattresses - king size beds) but unfortunately our reception staff allocated you a twin bedded room (Which has 2 single beds).

Once again thank you for your feedback ... This will help us to improve on our services to our valued guests.

I would like to welcome you once again to our hotel with assurances ofimproved services and attention.

Best Regards

ANUJ SHARMA
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at African Tulip at the start and end of our Tanzanian Northern Circuit Safari, and what a welcome break it was. Staff are courteous and couldn't be more welcoming, greeting you with a warm towel and fresh juice upon arrival. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the facilities excellent, including a decent-size lounge/bar which is beautifully decorated in African style, has a great ambience if you want to relax, have a coffee, have a meeting, use wifi, outside of your room.

The restaurant is also very high standard, with a decent menu mixing Tanzanian traditional cuisine with international foods. It is called the Baobab Restaurant and has a large kind of sculpture of a baobab in the middle of the room - it sounds cheesy but it's actually really nicely done - and baobab authentic metal place mats etc.

Like the rest of the hotel, the rooms are beautifully decorated and well-appointed. I couldn't fault it. The TV has a few channels, Star Movies, CNN, Aljazeera etc, and you have to pay $10 for a 24-hour code for wifi, which can be used on as many devices as you like, throughout the hotel.

The hotel is in a good location, off the main drag so not noisy, but very close to Arusha town, so it's easy to get about. The hotel will organise anything extra for you, like taxis, tours etc., so they make life very easy.

Room Tip: As it was our honeymoon, we stayed in a suite, which was amazing - they left petals in the bath, flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Africanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 45 in Arusha
646 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 45 in Arusha
487 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 45 in Arusha
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel
1.1 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 45 in Arusha
111 reviews
11.2 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The African Tulip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Tulip

Address: 4 Serengeti Road, Arusha 1517, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range: £165 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The African Tulip 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African Tulip is Arusha's premier boutique hotel providing first-class western luxury with outstanding facilities, personalized service and warm hospitality in a convenient location. The 'Zanzibar lounge & bar' is an ideal meeting place; The Baobab restaurant serves an excellent range of cuisine; 'The Serengeti' Pool & Bar is a fantastic place to relax. Additional facilities include a business centre, conference room & gift shops. It truly is Chic. Unique. and Authentically African. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The African Tulip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The African Tulip Hotel Arusha
African Tulip Arusha
African Tulip Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing