We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service”
Review of The African Tulip

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The African Tulip
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful service”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Thanks so much for excellent service and thoughtfulness. The staff and management could not have done a better job of making us feel welcome and at home. I am sure to return.
David Jordan Auckland New Zealand

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jafadave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    235
    22
    4
    0
See reviews for
222
335
56
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Howard City, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The African Tulip was a wonderful place for us to stay when in Arusha. It was clean, beautifully decorated, with great beds. The baobab tree in the dining room sets the atmosphere for the stay there. Also, its location is very good for day trips to Arusha and Lake Manyara National Parks, as well as for shopping. We found the food to be delightful, with a good selection. Finally, the staff
was very friendly, helpful and professional. It will always be our choice when we stay in Arusha.

Room Tip: Make reservations early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The African Tulip is a nice reasonably priced hotel in Arusha. My family spent 2 nights there and had a day stay there before our flight back to the US.

The service is pretty good, the food is reasonable, and the hotel is small but nice. The only thing I did not like was that they charged $10 per day for wireless. All the other hotels we stayed at in Tanzania provided it at no charge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FHsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

i stayed here for 4 nights in May 2014 and really enjoyed myself . Great team that made every aspect of my stay a great and enjoyable experience. I love the decor and the rooms are very generous with big bathrooms . However i would request them to check on having more variety for breakfast . Keep up the good job . I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eunice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at the African Tulip in May 2014 for one night following a one-week safari with Roy Safaris Ltd. The African Tulip shares the same owner as Roy Safaris Ltd., so we were able to add the room (and final airport transfer) to the safari payment. We were also given a good price (at $75pp/night) relative to other comparable hotels in the area, such as the Arusha Hotel, and the breakfast buffet was exceptional. While not as centrally located as the Arusha Hotel, the African Tulip is near several nice restaurants and only a 20-minute walk from the center of town (the Clocktower Roundabout). We were also given an excellent hand-drawn map of the major shopping markets in town by the manager, Anuj, which helped us enjoy a morning of shopping for gifts before our departure back to the US. Wi-fi access in the rooms costs $10/night, but there is a nice business center with several computers in the lobby with free internet access.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3mint27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Business/Regular Have class discussions regularly on Saturdays and Sundays with my class mates before exams...what I would say is the service has not changed despite being a regular you would think they would assume since we are locals and regulars on the contrary the staff are very friendly always ..the Manager Anuj goes out of his way to ensure that the customer is satisfied. Keep it up Anuj and the whole African Tulip Team

Saida Joy Kessy
Arusha

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saida k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I spent several nights there, left for business in another country and returned to find everything exactly as I had requested.

The friendliness at hotel is exceptional and they soon know you by name. They brought a large chair from another room at my request and were always attentive to small requests.

The food was good but not exceptional. They could use a little more variety on the menu. There is no elevator which might be an issue for room.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank siberiavol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
571 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
433 reviews
1.1 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 42 in Arusha
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#9 of 42 in Arusha
137 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Arusha Hotel
The Arusha Hotel
#10 of 42 in Arusha
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 42 in Arusha
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The African Tulip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Tulip

Property: The African Tulip
Address: 4 Serengeti Road, Arusha 1517, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The African Tulip 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African Tulip is Arusha's premier boutique hotel providing first-class western luxury with outstanding facilities, personalized service and warm hospitality in a convenient location. The 'Zanzibar lounge & bar' is an ideal meeting place; The Baobab restaurant serves an excellent range of cuisine; 'The Serengeti' Pool & Bar is a fantastic place to relax. Additional facilities include a business centre, conference room & gift shops. It truly is Chic. Unique. and Authentically African. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The African Tulip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The African Tulip Hotel Arusha
African Tulip Arusha
African Tulip Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing