We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved the African Tulip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The African Tulip

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The African Tulip
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We loved the African Tulip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel the night we arrived into Tanzania. I was traveling with my husband and 3 kids (14, 17 and 20 years). After a very long travel day, staying here was a dream. The rooms were very large, the staff attentive, fantastic food, nice hot showers; we loved it all! I would highly recommend the African Tulip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gillyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    214
    20
    4
    0
See reviews for
197
312
46
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
202 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night last month en route to the Serengeti. We flew in from Dar es Salam into Kilimanjaro (as we did not get our preferred flight to Arusha). Right from the car which was sent to pick us up at KIA to the room to the food to the local sight seeing arrangement, this hotel was nothing short of perfect. The African Tulip is a boutique hotel in Arusha, very centrally located, lush green ambience, large spacious rooms, spanking clean bathrooms and wonderful food. Loved the African Tulip trees outside their gate, which were in full bloom with their pretty orange flowers. Spotted loads of colourful birds that came and sat on the branches outside which are at touching distance from the balcony of the room.

Good WiFi. Not free, but superfast and priced at USD 10 for 24 hours (any number of devices on one single login). The reason I am stating this is that it's in sharp contrast to the WiFi which is offered at the Serengeti Seronera hotel in the Serengeti, where it costs USD10 per hour for any one device!!

Food here is awesome. Try their seafood platter sitting by the pool. I loved it. Since they have abundant flora surrounding the hotel, I had a field day clicking the flowers, butterflies, birds, insects.

Their buffet breakfast spread is sumptuous. The GM Anuj personally greeted every guest at their breakfast table, and this level of customer care does not come often. Impressed!

Their reception staff is very very courteous, and they have a very soft spoken cheerful receptionist called Angel who assisted us with the wifi, the local sightseeing car and other helping local information. Thank u Angel! I remember you fondly!

My parents (senior citizens) and I were very happy with our stay here, and I would strongly recommend this hotel for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zenobia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

For the first week of May 2014 I stayed at The African Tulip in Arusha Tanzania .
The room was spacious and very comfortable. All request were attended to immediately
The restaurant and bar/patio offered good food and refreshments.
But what made my stay superb was the courteous staff.....from the attentive General Manager
Mr. Sharma to the front desk staff to the great chef......all added great pleasure to my stay
Thank you African Tulip for a great week
I hope to see you again
Judge Marilyn Whitei

Room Tip: I stayed in room 5 a deluxe room with a balcony .....delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarilynW206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

My family and I were on a short visit to Tanzania to see Lake Manyara and Ngorongoro. Our gateway was Kilimanjaro airport.

A friend of mine who works in Kilimanjaro recommended African Tulip. The property also great ratings on TripAdvisor. Mr. Anuj, the GM of the hotel was very understanding and helpful in arranging for stay and for safari packages. We stayed for two nights. They even upgraded us to a bigger room than the one we booked for.

--------------------------------

What We liked the Most

The GM, especially his focus on customer satisfaction.

The Chef, Ajay. He is from India. The North Indian cuisine was to our delight. His friendly nature encouraged us to ask for suggestions and customization and he was more than happy to do so. Our favorite was a Paneer dish, Shabnam Paneer or something of that sort.

The little lives up to its tagline. I'd add Authentic Indian Cuisine.
The little details in the property, wildlife and cultural paintings on the walls, baobab tree in the restaurant, to name a few.

Things to Improve

I can't say much. May be front desk staff could be more guest focused. When we arrived to check in, we had to wait for quite a while.
-----------------------------

All in all a great place to stay and to seek for Safari packages.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balaji A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice boutique hotel just outside of Arusha central. It's clean, has a wonderful bar and patio, large rooms, and top notch staff. There's also a shallow pool (maybe four feet) but we didn't swim because it was a little too cold. The food was really, really good and the management made a point of checking in with us daily to make sure things were ok. I was really happy with the stay there and it was refreshing to see the attention to detail that this hotel was able to provide. A great start to our safari!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank witchdoc007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We had a great time here. Prior to our arrival, the email correspondence was prompt and friendly. Anuj really did everything he could for us to make our stay perfect. Just wish we could have stayed a bit longer!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed in The African Tulip last month for a weekend and could not have been more pleased. The hotel is a beautiful boutique-style hotel and the staff we amazingly hospitable. My room had a window seat and a balcony and was very spacious. Loved the individuality of the hotel - if you are looking for a chain hotel - this is not the hotel for you. If you are looking for a small, interesting quiet hotel filled with charm, this is the place to be. Thank you so much for the warm welcome.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.9 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
3.2 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Arusha Hotel
The Arusha Hotel
#10 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The African Tulip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Tulip

Property: The African Tulip
Address: 44/1 Serengeti Road, Arusha 1517, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arusha
#4 Best Value Hotel in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The African Tulip 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African Tulip is Arusha's premier boutique hotel providing first-class western luxury with outstanding facilities, personalized service and warm hospitality in a convenient location. The 'Zanzibar lounge & bar' is an ideal meeting place; The Baobab restaurant serves an excellent range of cuisine; 'The Serengeti' Pool & Bar is a fantastic place to relax. Additional facilities include a business centre, conference room & gift shops. It truly is Chic. Unique. and Authentically African. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The African Tulip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The African Tulip Hotel Arusha
African Tulip Arusha
African Tulip Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing