We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to unwind”
Review of The African Tulip

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The African Tulip
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to unwind”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The African Tulip was a fantastic place to come and unwind in after spending a week climbing Mount Kilimanjaro. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by the very welcoming manager and his accommodating staff.Very friendly and helpful all around.Great restaurant providing excellent dinner and a very satisfying breakfast. No issues with leaving excess gear there to be collected on the return from week long safari . Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoddy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    235
    22
    4
    0
See reviews for
223
336
56
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St David's
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed for one night on either side of a safari to Ngorongoro. , and the place is magnificent , very near the centre of Arusha , yet quiet and cut off from the bustle of the town outside . Luxurious , comfortable , and with excellent staff and a really good restaurant (pastries a speciality ). Next door is Roy safarisqq , ready to organise whatever safari you want . They did it for us and it was unforgettable .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanYorkStDavids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The room was spacious and well appointed. Everything was spotless. The bed was comfortable. Our room was as nice as you would find in any high-end western boutique hotel. The staff was friendly and attentive. The Manager went out of his way to welcome us and to make sure we had everything we needed. The service was much more personal than what you would find in a large chain hotel.

We stayed one night before our Safari (with Roy Safaris,) and after our safari we stopped on our way from the Arusha airport to the Kilimanjaro airport for showers and lunch. We were able to leave our larger bags at the hotel during our safari, which was nice as we had been doing some other traveling and our bags were too big to meet the airline requirements on our return flight from the safari.

The restaurant was great. The curry was fabulous! We enjoyed two lunches, one dinner, and one breakfast during our stay and return stopover.

We also used the business center briefly to print some flight info and that was great and free of charge. We were able to get Wi-Fi in our room for a nominal charge.

We highly recommend The African Tulip and will definitely stay again the next time our travels take us to Tanzania!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristchurchKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just returned from Tanzania (June 2014) inc 3 nights in The African Tulip. What a wonderfull experience. Friendly helpfull staff, great food and lovely rooms. How pleasant is a nice hot bath after a safari? Answer: its just heavenly.

Room Tip: Speak to the excellent manager who is always on site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Whenever I'm visiting Arusha I can't imagine staying anywhere else. Superb small hotel with great rooms and lovely staff, always very friendly. Restaurant is good and everything very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonPortico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed in the African Tulip before and after our safari. It was a clean, comfortable, safe place to stay. While it was not one of the high-end "colonial experience" hotels, it was beautiful and had a good restaurant. And the price was great. The staff were really friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: After Safari, we stayed in a suite with two bedrooms and a sitting room. It was really nice for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here before a safari with Roy Safari's, which owns the hotel and is next door. The service simply could not have been more friendly and responsive. They were even more so when we were camping for a few hours after a very long drive and before our trip to the airport -- offering a room to shower, etc.

The rooms are big, comfortable and quiet. The grounds are small but private, and the pool & bar in the back is especially relaxing -- and diverting, as the weavers fly back and forth building their pendulous nests.

The food is good and quite varied. The breakfast in particular has a huge selection.

We'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
572 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
433 reviews
1.1 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 42 in Arusha
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#9 of 42 in Arusha
137 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Arusha Hotel
The Arusha Hotel
#10 of 42 in Arusha
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 42 in Arusha
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The African Tulip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Tulip

Property: The African Tulip
Address: 4 Serengeti Road, Arusha 1517, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The African Tulip 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African Tulip is Arusha's premier boutique hotel providing first-class western luxury with outstanding facilities, personalized service and warm hospitality in a convenient location. The 'Zanzibar lounge & bar' is an ideal meeting place; The Baobab restaurant serves an excellent range of cuisine; 'The Serengeti' Pool & Bar is a fantastic place to relax. Additional facilities include a business centre, conference room & gift shops. It truly is Chic. Unique. and Authentically African. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The African Tulip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The African Tulip Hotel Arusha
African Tulip Arusha
African Tulip Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing