We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roy Safaris”
Review of The African Tulip

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The African Tulip
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We landed at KJO in Arusha on a Wednesday evening. Our safari company arranged for transportation from the airport to the African Tulip Hotel. It was dark at 8pm, so it was nice to have the prior arrangement. Upon arrival to the hotel, the front desk staff and owner Mr. Sharma were there to greet us and ensure we had a good stay.
The dining room is super, the breakfast buffet was great with many options! The outdoor patio area also has a pool and snack bar. The staff was so accommodating on our second night by arranging fire pits for us. Dinner is not a buffet, but self selected, and still preferred over eating out in the city.
The Heritage Cultural Center was a 20 minute drive away and a nice sight. The hotel has 4 computers in the lobby with 24 hr internet service. Staying at The African Tulip Hotel was a good layover before embarking on the safari.

Room Tip: Corner suites are spacious, good for families traveling. For couples, a room on the side is nice too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsalehbhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,032)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel was perfect for the night we stayed before the safari and after for timing purposes. They were so attentive and welcoming. Hotel towels and welcome beverages were a lovely way to arrive. The beds were hard (as they are almost everywhere), but the hotel was very nice. The staff was incredibly helpful. The managers were so attentive to making sure we were happy. The night after the safari, we were actually upgraded from two double rooms to a suite with a common area where we could sit on couches private to our rooms. That was a nice touch! There was an ATM down the road which was convenient, and the manager had a security guard accompany us (which they assured us it was safe, it was just a precaution and we appreciated that). The restaurant was really nice and the food was very good. Christopher in the restaurant was especially wonderful! The only thing that would have been better was if there was wifi in the rooms for free. We weren't staying more than a couple of hours and then to sleep, basically, so we didn't want to spend the $10 on a 24 hour block of wifi. They did have a little computer room, but it would have been easier after traveling 24 hours from New York to just have wifi. Other than that, it was great!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sloane15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hi,

The manager is excelent, the employees are always here for you, the food is lovely. I recommand this place 1h30 up to 2 hours from the airport.

The hotel is really close to the town center close to the massaï market.

The hotel is clean and beautiful, the room are huge and well equiped...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haafed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our family volunteer trip to Arusha wasn't easy, but staying at the African Tulip was a complete delight in every way! In fact, it was one of the best decisions we made. We were always welcomed with the sweetest, and most genuine staff. Their service was the best I have ever experienced at any hotel in all my travels. The hotel and rooms are beautiful, clean and very comfortable. The food was delicious and the restaurant staff were so helpful in getting box lunches ready for day's adventures. If you want to be sure that you have a positive experience in Arusha, stay at the African Tulip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Teresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed twice either side of our Safari. Why stay here: Attentive Management team which filters to all staff. Very warm welcome and customer focused. High standard of cleanliness & comfort surrounded by plants in quiet, calm location. Excellent selection of food for breakfast and evening meal. Upgraded when the manager discovered it was our honeymoon with petals in the bath!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cloudsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed here for a couple of night at the start of the safari, very comfortable rooms with very yummy food. The pool was lovely to just relax in on any spare time you might have. Thank you very much

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank nemo3tri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed at the African Tulip prior to climbing Kilimanjaro and going on safari. The staff were amazing, extremely friendly and always willing to assist. They cleaned our boots after returning from our climb late in the afternoon and washed our clothes ready for our safari the following morning. We were even upgraded to a mini suite after spending 7 nights on the mountain in a tent! The meals were fabulous, the rooms spotless and very comfortable. We used the hotel's driver to take us into Arusha town. He waited for us until we had finished shopping and drove us back to the hotel for a very reasonable price. Everything I read on TripAdvisor prior to booking the African Tulip was accurate. We cannot thank them enough for such a memorable stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 292PamD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
613 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
485 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
0.2 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 42 in Arusha
273 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#10 of 42 in Arusha
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The African Tulip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Tulip

Address: 4 Serengeti Road, Arusha 1517, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range: £172 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The African Tulip 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African Tulip is Arusha's premier boutique hotel providing first-class western luxury with outstanding facilities, personalized service and warm hospitality in a convenient location. The 'Zanzibar lounge & bar' is an ideal meeting place; The Baobab restaurant serves an excellent range of cuisine; 'The Serengeti' Pool & Bar is a fantastic place to relax. Additional facilities include a business centre, conference room & gift shops. It truly is Chic. Unique. and Authentically African. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The African Tulip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The African Tulip Hotel Arusha
African Tulip Arusha
African Tulip Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing