We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The African Tulip
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Impala Hotel(Arusha)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,108)
Filter reviews
1,108 results
Traveller rating
824
258
22
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
824
258
22
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroy safarisbaobab restaurantanuj sharmawindow seatthe general managerboutique hotelno elevatorindian dishesbeautiful hotelpool barbaobab treethe hotel managerwould highly recommend this hoteltwo nightsspacious roomsafari tripbreakfast buffet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
611 - 616 of 1,108 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in July 2014. Room assigned was clean, large & bright. Bathroom also clean & large. Very pleasant & helpful staff. Indian dishes in dining room excellent & service very good. Staff seemed to be interested in one being happy. Wifi is free if one uses the internet room next to the desk. I had some difficulties with wifi but staff did everything to assist me. It worked very well. Would certainly recommend the hotel. Friends who have been there also loved it.

Room Tip: I have no knowledge about best room. Mine looked out into garden & swimming pool and was quiet & pleasant although I spent no daytime there.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gabi131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We landed at KJO in Arusha on a Wednesday evening. Our safari company arranged for transportation from the airport to the African Tulip Hotel. It was dark at 8pm, so it was nice to have the prior arrangement. Upon arrival to the hotel, the front desk staff and owner Mr. Sharma were there to greet us and ensure we had a good stay.
The dining room is super, the breakfast buffet was great with many options! The outdoor patio area also has a pool and snack bar. The staff was so accommodating on our second night by arranging fire pits for us. Dinner is not a buffet, but self selected, and still preferred over eating out in the city.
The Heritage Cultural Center was a 20 minute drive away and a nice sight. The hotel has 4 computers in the lobby with 24 hr internet service. Staying at The African Tulip Hotel was a good layover before embarking on the safari.

Room Tip: Corner suites are spacious, good for families traveling. For couples, a room on the side is nice too. Twin Beds were comfortable. Shower was nice, as were soaps and shampoos provided.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsalehbhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel was perfect for the night we stayed before the safari and after for timing purposes. They were so attentive and welcoming. Hotel towels and welcome beverages were a lovely way to arrive. The beds were hard (as they are almost everywhere), but the hotel was very nice. The staff was incredibly helpful. The managers were so attentive to making sure we were happy. The night after the safari, we were actually upgraded from two double rooms to a suite with a common area where we could sit on couches private to our rooms. That was a nice touch! There was an ATM down the road which was convenient, and the manager had a security guard accompany us (which they assured us it was safe, it was just a precaution and we appreciated that). The restaurant was really nice and the food was very good. Christopher in the restaurant was especially wonderful! The only thing that would have been better was if there was wifi in the rooms for free. We weren't staying more than a couple of hours and then to sleep, basically, so we didn't want to spend the $10 on a 24 hour block of wifi. They did have a little computer room, but it would have been easier after traveling 24 hours from New York to just have wifi. Other than that, it was great!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sloane15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hi,

The manager is excelent, the employees are always here for you, the food is lovely. I recommand this place 1h30 up to 2 hours from the airport.

The hotel is really close to the town center close to the massaï market.

The hotel is clean and beautiful, the room are huge and well equiped...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haafed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our family volunteer trip to Arusha wasn't easy, but staying at the African Tulip was a complete delight in every way! In fact, it was one of the best decisions we made. We were always welcomed with the sweetest, and most genuine staff. Their service was the best I have ever experienced at any hotel in all my travels. The hotel and rooms are beautiful, clean and very comfortable. The food was delicious and the restaurant staff were so helpful in getting box lunches ready for day's adventures. If you want to be sure that you have a positive experience in Arusha, stay at the African Tulip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Teresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews