We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”
Review of The African Tulip

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The African Tulip
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Our tour companies, Africa 2000 Tours and Infinite Horizon, were the ones that suggested this hotel for our stay before and after our Meru hike and we were totally pleased. The service was outstanding and the rooms were extremely clean. We were pleasantly surprised on the large size of the rooms, including the upgraded mini-suite that we were given after our hike. The staff in all parts of the hotel were friendly and willing to help us with anything. The dining room offers some wonderful breakfast and dinner options. Internet is available in the business center near the lobby. We were able to have laundry done very quickly before we headed out to our safari. Would certainly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 1adklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,058)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 568 of 1,058 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed at the African Tulip Hotel with a group of eleven people. The hotel accommodations were wonderful. We felt like we were in colonial Africa with staff ready to meet our every need. Hotel management was visible and ready to help when needed. Check-in was easy, rooms comfortable, bathrooms large and well equipped. We didn't use the pool but it was lovely. Laundry was quickly done and returned to our rooms. The dining room food was great with a emphasis on Indian cuisine. Dining room staff were professional and pleasant to be around. Overall, a great hotel. I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Both rooms were fine. The neighborhood can get noisy with construction during the day but overall t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kathyadamsclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at the African Tulip for 2 nights on either side of our safari. The hotel was recommended and booked for us by Roy Safaris (I have written a review on this company too).

On arrival, we were greeted by friendly welcoming staff, headed by the General Manager, Mr Anuj Sharma. As we registered, Mr Sharma told us we had been upgraded to the family suite, which turned out to be really spacious with a lounge area which had coffee/tea making facilities and 2 bedrooms, which were immaculately clean.

We used the hotel restaurant that evening and the food was really excellent - we mostly chose Indian from the menu. The restaurant manager, Anil was always at hand to ask for anything, or make any requests for special dietary requirements. The staff in the Bar were fantastic,

On our return from safari, we received the same hospitality, were given the same family suite and the staff were pleased to see us back!

As we had been away for almost a week, we were all craving for a really spicy curry. This was not a problem said Anil, and got the chef to come and talk to us about our requirement. I described the type of curry we wanted and which ingredients he should use. A couple of hours later, our wish was completed. The chef even paid us a visit at the table to ensure we were happy with the food.

A couple of examples of the exceptional service they provide. On two seperate occasions, we had forgotten to pick up some valuables as we left the dining/pool area. On both occasions, the staff rushed to us and handed over the forgotten items.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone, but if your are starting/ending your safari in Arusha - consider the African Tulip and I am confident you will not be disappointed. The service and the staff are exceptional. The only negative is they charge $10 for WiFI per day, but on a positive side, there is a computer room, which has free access to the internet.

Room Tip: For a family of 4, ask for the family suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DineshLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in July 2014. Room assigned was clean, large & bright. Bathroom also clean & large. Very pleasant & helpful staff. Indian dishes in dining room excellent & service very good. Staff seemed to be interested in one being happy. Wifi is free if one uses the internet room next to the desk. I had some difficulties with wifi but staff did everything to assist me. It worked very well. Would certainly recommend the hotel. Friends who have been there also loved it.

Room Tip: I have no knowledge about best room. Mine looked out into garden & swimming pool and was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gabi131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We landed at KJO in Arusha on a Wednesday evening. Our safari company arranged for transportation from the airport to the African Tulip Hotel. It was dark at 8pm, so it was nice to have the prior arrangement. Upon arrival to the hotel, the front desk staff and owner Mr. Sharma were there to greet us and ensure we had a good stay.
The dining room is super, the breakfast buffet was great with many options! The outdoor patio area also has a pool and snack bar. The staff was so accommodating on our second night by arranging fire pits for us. Dinner is not a buffet, but self selected, and still preferred over eating out in the city.
The Heritage Cultural Center was a 20 minute drive away and a nice sight. The hotel has 4 computers in the lobby with 24 hr internet service. Staying at The African Tulip Hotel was a good layover before embarking on the safari.

Room Tip: Corner suites are spacious, good for families traveling. For couples, a room on the side is nice too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsalehbhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel was perfect for the night we stayed before the safari and after for timing purposes. They were so attentive and welcoming. Hotel towels and welcome beverages were a lovely way to arrive. The beds were hard (as they are almost everywhere), but the hotel was very nice. The staff was incredibly helpful. The managers were so attentive to making sure we were happy. The night after the safari, we were actually upgraded from two double rooms to a suite with a common area where we could sit on couches private to our rooms. That was a nice touch! There was an ATM down the road which was convenient, and the manager had a security guard accompany us (which they assured us it was safe, it was just a precaution and we appreciated that). The restaurant was really nice and the food was very good. Christopher in the restaurant was especially wonderful! The only thing that would have been better was if there was wifi in the rooms for free. We weren't staying more than a couple of hours and then to sleep, basically, so we didn't want to spend the $10 on a 24 hour block of wifi. They did have a little computer room, but it would have been easier after traveling 24 hours from New York to just have wifi. Other than that, it was great!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sloane15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hi,

The manager is excelent, the employees are always here for you, the food is lovely. I recommand this place 1h30 up to 2 hours from the airport.

The hotel is really close to the town center close to the massaï market.

The hotel is clean and beautiful, the room are huge and well equiped...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haafed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#6 of 45 in Arusha
630 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 45 in Arusha
510 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 45 in Arusha
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel
11.2 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
0.2 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#8 of 45 in Arusha
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The African Tulip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Tulip

Address: 4 Serengeti Road, Arusha 1517, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range: £166 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The African Tulip 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African Tulip is Arusha's premier boutique hotel providing first-class western luxury with outstanding facilities, personalized service and warm hospitality in a convenient location. The 'Zanzibar lounge & bar' is an ideal meeting place; The Baobab restaurant serves an excellent range of cuisine; 'The Serengeti' Pool & Bar is a fantastic place to relax. Additional facilities include a business centre, conference room & gift shops. It truly is Chic. Unique. and Authentically African. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The African Tulip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The African Tulip Hotel Arusha
African Tulip Arusha
African Tulip Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing